August 2017 Favorites

Hey guys! How’s it going!

Can you believe it’s the end of August already? School has started back up in a lot of areas, Halloween stuff is already in the stores… and Pumpkin Spice Lattes will be back at Starbucks soon. I say this all the time but man the months just fly by!

Anyhow, today I got my favorites for the month of August for you! Want to see what I’ve been loving this past month? Keep on reading…

Cane + Austin Prime & Protect Mattifying Primer with Broad Spectrum SPF 50

I got a sample of this at Sephora in July. Actually, I had to go all the way to the Sephora at Disney Springs to get the sample because it’s the closest Sephora to me that carries Cane + Austin in store. I wanted to try this because Casey Holmes loves this primer and I’m always looking for a new mattifying primer to try on my oily areas. The girl at Sephora filled the little sample container to the rim, so I’ve been able to get a lot of uses out of it, since I only use it in my T-Zone and a little goes a long way. I love this primer has SPF in it. I like seeing things like this and I’d love to see this in more primers. It’s a tinted primer, but when you apply it, it’s basically colorless. It does a good job mattifying my oily areas and it also helps smooth things out a little to help foundation go on easier. Only thing… this primer costs $56! OUCH. You do get 1.5 oz. of product in the tube, but I’d never be able to use it all before it goes bad. As much as I like it, there is NO WAY I’m paying $56 for that, unless I had a gift card to use toward it. I’d love to see Cane + Austin come out with a travel size of this, as I’d be more apt to purchase that.

Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance Palette

I picked this up earlier this month (used a gift card my dad sent for my birthday toward it). I hemmed and hawed over getting this palette for like a YEAR. Not even kidding. Every time I decided I was going to get it though, it was sold out at both Sephora and Ulta. So after passing on Subculture (just wasn’t feeling it after swatching it), I decided to finally pull the trigger and get it. I love warn tones (most cool tones make me look washed out/sick/dead) and I love the orange and red tones of this palette. I’ll have a full review of it up on the blog soon, so keep an eye out for it.

MAC x Selena Lipstick in Amor Prohibido

I loved Selena back in the 90s (her murder was such a tragedy as she was really set for stardom with her crossover album) and was excited when this collab was announced (for those who don’t know, it was done in collab with Selena’s older sister, Suzette Quintanilla). The thing I wanted most from the collection was this particular lipstick. But it sold out so fast in-store and online and I missed the restocks. So I was so surprised to see this along with some other items from the collection at the CCO at the outlet mall in Tampa this summer! And the CCO was having a sale 50% the outlet price too! This lipstick originally retailed for $17, the outlet price was $12-something… so 50% off that, I got this lipstick for just $6 and change! Amor Prohibido is described as a “warm plum with a natural finish”. It’s a really gorgeous shade that’s very wearable for everyday. On me it’s kind of a “my lips but better” type shade. I love it.

Estee Lauder Double Wear

I know… I know. I actually hadn’t worn this in awhile as I was saving what I had left for special occasions. But then I scored a fresh bottle at the CCO in Orlando for under $14. So I’ve got plenty to use again. I just love this foundation so freaking much. It holds up so unbelievably well in humid Florida weather. Nothing beats it for me. Nothing.

Tarte Blush in Paaarty

This is part of this year’s birthday set from Sephora (it also includes a matte lip paint in the shade Birthday Suit). This is a really pretty blush that’s a dusty pink shade. I wasn’t sure at first if I’d like it or not because it looked like it would maybe be too light for me. But once applied I realized it does work on my skintone! It gives a nice little flush that looks very natural. This shade is exclusive to this birthday set though (as is the lip paint).

And that’s it! Not a huge list this time around.

What were some of your favorites from this past month? Tell me about them below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading! I’ll see you again soon in my next post!

12 thoughts on “August 2017 Favorites

Leave a Comment

