Confessions of a Beauty Blogger

Hey guys! How was your weekend? Do anything fun?

For today’s post, I thought I’d share some beauty confessions with you guys. I did this once before but it’s time to do an updated version.

You ready? Let’s get going!

Confession #1 – I don’t use an eyelash curler.

I don’t. I’ve tried. They either do nothing for my lashes or I’ll flinch and rip a bunch of lashes out. Those contraptions and I just do not get along and I’ve pretty much just given up on them.

Confession #2 – Up until a couple years ago, I never lined my upper lash line.

I just could never get the hang of it and just didn’t want to bother. But then I discovered gel liner and the right angled brush and once I finally got it down, I haven’t looked back. I pretty much just stick with black or dark brown though.

Confession #3 – I’ve never worn false lashes.

Part of me wants to give them a try, but I have kind of sensitive eyes sometimes and wear contacts. And I’m scared something is going to go wrong with the glue or the lashes themselves. Maybe one day I’ll get over my fear… maybe not.

Confession #4 – I don’t contour every day.

Who’s got time for that? Not me. I have a couple contouring palettes and I’ll use them when I got the time and I feel like it. Usually I’ll just slap on some bronzer and be done with it. But if I use my Benefit Hoola bronzer… I can kind of lightly contour with that because it’s a nice neutral bronzer.

Confession #5 – Up until a few years ago, I hated wearing mascara.

I never wanted to bother with it so I didn’t. But as I’ve gotten older, some of my lashes have actually lightened up and they’re hard to see on their own. So mascara is a necessity for me these days.

Confession #6 – On that same note, up until a few years ago, I hard ever wore anything on my lips except for lip balm.

I hated wearing lipstick or even lipgloss for the most part for a long time. But now I see how the right colors and combos can really make my lips stand out and look nice. These days, I’m always wearing at least a gloss.

Confession #7 – I’m over the matte liquid lipstick trend.

Most matte liquid lipsticks are just too drying and unconformable on me unless I slather on a bunch of lip balm underneath or apply a gloss on top. There are a few formulas I don’t mind, but if I’m going to wear liquid lipstick, I prefer the ones that have a satin finish, which are WAY more comfortable to wear. On the other hand, I’ve found several traditional bullet lipsticks that have matte formulas that are quite comfortable to wear.

Confession #8 – I used to think you had to use just the products of one brand to make them work the best.

Yeah, I was pretty naive. I don’t know why I used to think this way, but I did. It was my own bizarre logic. And I was like this until I started blogging a few years ago. Back then I was using pretty much Bare Minerals exclusively for about 10 years… from primer down to lips. Now I love to mix and match as much as I can.

Confession #9 – I don’t like liquid liner.

I really don’t. I prefer gel liner in a pot or a pencil. Liquid liner is a tricky little sumbitch. I’ll try every so often and make a horrible mess most the time. You really need a steady hand and the patience of Yoda to master it.

Confession #10- I’m into makeup more now in my 40s than I was in my 20s.

It’s true. When I was younger I just didn’t like dealing with makeup for the most part. But back then, YouTube and the Internet even were pretty much non-existent for the most part. Hell, half the makeup brands I use today didn’t exist yet! The choices I had back then regarding brands were either super high end ones that were marketed more toward older women, Avon/Mary Kay, or drugstore… and drugstore makeup in the 90s was not the quality it is today.

 

And that’s it! What are some of YOUR beauty confessions? Spill the beans below in the comments.

 

As always, thank you all so much for reading and your support. I love you all! And I’ll see you again soon in my next post!

6 thoughts on “Confessions of a Beauty Blogger

  1. You’re LUCKY that you don’t need a lash curler! I can’t live without mine.
    I don’t contour every day either – that’s waaaaay too much work, man!
    I’m still trying to break myself out of wearing only lip balms.
    Your #8 is something that the marketing companies try to make you believe! Soooo not true.
    I enjoyed reading these. I should do this tag!

    Like

Leave a Comment

