Unpopular Opinions (but I know I can’t be alone here!) – A Rant

Hey guys! How’s it going?

Well, it’s happened. I feel the need to go on a bit of a rant today. You know I try to keep my blog a positive place, but sometimes things start to bug you and you just need to vent and get it out or else it will eat you alive, you know?

So strap yourselves in and keep your arms and legs inside the ride vehicle at all times.

Here we go…

Rant #1 – Rapid Fire Makeup Launches

I’m sure you’ve noticed a lot of makeup companies are turning out product launches almost every month these days. And they really need to slow it down so people can catch up! So many palettes… Too Faced alone has at least 3 palettes coming out over the course of this summer (Glitter Bomb, Clover, Just Peachy Mattes) along with several other new products. Give us consumers a chance to breathe and save up our money! Plus with these rapid fire launches, sometimes I feel quality can suffer. Good, consistent quality is what keeps us coming back for more. I refuse to spend $50+ for a palette that has shoddy quality just because the packaging is cute. But come on makeup companies, slow things down a little and space the product launches out more. Quality over quantity.

Rant #2 – YouTube Drama

Watching YouTuber beauty videos is what inspired me to create this blog three years ago. I realized, “Hey! I can do this too!” But lately I’ve just been losing interest in several of the girls who inspired me. There’s just so much drama out there now. Rumors, channels that focus on gossip/drama surrounding these girls and whatnot. It’s ridiculous. I don’t know about any of you, but high school was a LONG time ago for me and that’s what this all reminds me of… catty high school drama. Between the Jaclyn Hill/Morphe thing, the Casey Holmes thing, the Jeffree Star/Laura Lee thing… I. DON’T. CARE. What these people do when the camera is off is their business, not ours. I’m not defending anyone as EVERYONE is guilty of drama at some point (even me). But I’m just over it, you know? We all need to grow up and just move on and not get wrapped up in the silliness.

Rant #3 – Crazy PR Packages

I’ve seen some YouTubers and influencers on Instagram actually talk about this. The ridiculous, gigantic PR packages beauty companies send to influencers. Gigantic boxes with just a few products in them or weird little DVD player things that play a promo video. I get things sent to me as PR from time to time, but nothing like this. Sure the packaging and the boxes can be really pretty, but it’s wasteful! Not everyone has a big house and has room to store all that stuff in. But the makeup companies want the influences to show the unboxings on camera and have them show it all off to their subscribers. They want to be mentioned and hopefully it will get consumers to go out and buy their products. Did you see the giganormous PR package MAC just sent out to a bunch of YouTubers and beauty influencers? Every. Single. MAC. Lip. Product. Ever (so far). WHAT? Yes that’s super generous of them but it’s also wasteful because these girls are probably never going to use even half of what was sent to them (unless they’re a professional makeup artist and some of them are not). These girls get sent to much free makeup they honestly never have to buy any ever again. Am I jealous? Yeah I am a little. I admit it. Who wouldn’t want to get boxes and boxes of free stuff sent to them every week/every day? I love getting mail (as long as it’s not bills, LOL). But us smaller bloggers/influencers/YouTubers get ignored in favor of the bigger “stars” which in a way is not fair. I get why they do it, but still don’t think it’s fair. Us “little guys” are important too and shouldn’t be overlooked.

Rant #4 – Content Requests

I know I can’t be the only one this happens to. From time to time, I get emails from companies or “community managers” asking me to create content for them. Usually for free (though they’ll promise blog/post promotion for the “top content providers”). Ummm… no. Yeah this is a hobby that I do for fun, but if I also have the opportunity to make a little money doing something I like doing for fun, then I’m going to jump at it. And a lot of times these places that email me don’t even read my blog or see what it’s about. They just see I have a blog and blindly email me asking to write about lingerie or swimwear… or indoor landscaping (yes that actually was an email I got). Topics I normally don’t write about. Yeah I’ve done a few fashion-related posts in the past (my Disney Bounding How-To one gets a lot of views), but it’s not something I write about regularly because I don’t really keep up with or even follow a lot of the “trends”. PLEASE…. if you’re looking for content creators, take the time to look through a blog to see if that blogger might be a good fit for your campaign. Otherwise you’re wasting both their time and your own. Same goes for bloggers who contact other bloggers about doing guest posts. I’ve gotten requests for guest posts that are completely unrelated to the theme of my blog. Or sometimes they do create contact that fits, I’ll respond asking them to send me something to look over and then I never hear back. That is very unprofessional.

 

Ok. I feel a lot better now that I’ve gotten all that out and off my chest. I’m sure I’m not the only one who feels this way about any (or all) of these topics. Fellow bloggers/beauty enthusiasts, what has been bugging YOU lately? Sound off below in the comments. Don’t be shy!

As always, thank you all so much for reading and your support and putting up with me and my crazy. Love you guys! I’ll see you again soon in my next post!

 

17 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions (but I know I can’t be alone here!) – A Rant

  1. I absolutely agree with you! Most of these constant releases I’m not even going to buy. What’s the point in picking up a new product as soon as it comes out when I know there is just going to be another down the road. Honestly, most of these new releases just don’t do it for me anyway. I don’t follow the YouTube drama and as soon as I hear it mentioned in a video, I immediately find a new video to watch. I’m just not interested. As far as the PR packages, I feel like we as consumers end up paying for these over the top productions. I don’t want to pay $5 or $10 extra for a product just so they can make up for the amount of money they spent on extravagant PR. However, I would love to get PR! Some of us smaller blogs can have just as much influence b/c we are more than likely already talking to friends, family, coworker, etc about products we love.

    Liked by 4 people

    • Yes I agree. Most of these new releases look just “meh” to me. I’m on a serious palette no buy until at least the end of the year. I need to use what I have! I will admit the Too Faced Hangover spray looks interesting as I love the regular Hangover primer. But I’m starting to show more restraint and not jump on every new things that comes out.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Tarte sent out a Roomba vacuum to people last night with the tagline “how to keep floors and pores clear!” or something like that…. such an eyeroll for me but I get a deep down jealous feeling I’ll admit lol. These over the top packages are almost a bribe to talk about their brand at this point!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I think early on in blogging it can feel like you don’t want to say no to opportunities because it’s exciting and you don’t know when you’ll get another offer, but now that I’ve been doing this for a few years I am definitely more selective about what products I’m willing to review or create content for. It has to fit my blog and be something I’m actually interested in or else it’s just not worth it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I completely agree, particularly with #4. I fell for a content request early on in my blogging days. A quite reputable company approached me to write a themed post that they promised to add to their Pinterest board that shared a similar theme. I spent a lot of time on the post, hoping to establish a relationship with the brand, and they approved it (though they had me add more links to their website). I followed up for months asking when it would be added to their Pinterest board and it just never happened. Finally I got annoyed and took the post down and despite many great reviews I see for their products, I absolutely refuse to buy from them. Pretty sure they still don’t ship to Canada anyways, haha!

    Like

Leave a Comment

