When Empties Attack!

Hey guys! How was your weekend? Do anything fun?

As you probably guessed, I have an empties post for you guys today. The empties basket was again overflowing and I finally got tired of looking at the mess. I have some of the usual suspects, plus some new things as well.

Want to go through my trash? Keep on reading…

Let’s start with hair care stuff.

Garnier Fructis Anti-Humidity Hairspray & Anti-Humidity Smoothing Milk – Yep, gone through more of these. You know I love them (because they work) and will always repurchase as long as I can get my grubby paws on them.

Redken Color Extend Magnetics Shampoo & Conditioner – I got these when Ulta had Redken products buy 2 get 1 free (the other product I got was the Color Extend Magnetics Hair Mask, which I haven’t used up yet). I liked these a lot. They made my hair feel clean and helped maintain my color. Plus they smell really good. I’ll probably repurchase next time Ulta has these on sale and I’m at the point I need shampoo & conditioner.

Batiste Dry Shampoo – You know this is my favorite (obviously, judging by the FOUR CANS pictured above). I’ll definitely repurchase again. Right now I got a couple other dry shampoos to get through. first.

Hask Kalahari Melon Oil Color Protection Shampoo – I had the conditioner for this too but I have no idea where the bottle went. I really like this shampoo. This was my 2nd bottle of it and I’m currently on my 3rd. I also really like the conditioner a lot. They smell amazing and do a good job cleaning and conditioning my hair and protecting my color.

Not Your Mother’s Way To Grow Leave-In Conditioner – Thus stuff isn’t bad. I mainly used this on my clip-in hair extensions to help keep them soft and nourished. I’d use this on my natural hair as well and it’s decent. Nothing super special, but it smells nice and does what it’s supposed to do. I might repurchase sometime.

Pureology Reviving Red Illuminating Caring Oil – I love this so much. It helped bring out the red in my hair and helped keep it from fading. Sadly, Pureology doesn’t make this anymore. UGH! WHYYYY? Not fair! *throws tantrum* 

Ok now onto skin care!

Neutrogena Pink Grapefruit Oil-Free Cleansing Wipes – I picked these up on a whim as I was looking for some new makeup wipes to try. These did a good job removing my makeup. But… the smell. I’m normally not sensitive to smells. But the scent of these was just overwhemling. And it would linger long after using them too. So no I will not be repurchasing these.

Garnier Skin Active Micellar Cleansing Water – This is the first micellar water I ever tried and I liked it a lot. It works great taking off makeup or just refreshing your skin. I’m currently using the one with the blue cap (formulated for waterproof makeup), which I also like. I would probably repurchase this.

OZ Naturals Hyaluronic Acid Serum – I love this stuff. This was my 2nd or 3rd bottle I’ve gone through. This is probably my favorite serum ever. I have another bottle I’m currently working on. It sinks into the skin quickly and I’ve seen visible results from using this every day. My skin looks more hydrated and smoother.

Mario Badescu Facial Spray – I love this stuff. I’ve gone through at least a few bottles of this now. I love to spray this on my Beauty Blender to help blend out foundation more smoothly. When I use my ABH stick foundation. I’ll spray this all over my face as well to help blend it out easier (stick foundations can be tricky to blend out sometimes because of the way they’re formulated). I also like using this after I set my face with powder to take away the powdery residue and help make my skin look more like skin. And I also like keeping a small bottle of this in my bag to use as a skin refresher (especially when I’m outside on a hot day).

And finally onto makeup!

Rimmel Super Speed 24 Hr Volume Mascara – This mascara isn’t bad. Nothing overly special. It’s a drier formula, which I like. Made my lashes stand out a bit more without clumping them together. Not sure if I’d repurchase this or not.

NYX HD Concealer – I’ve gone through countless tubes of this. It’s my favorite concealer. It’s so inexpensive and it gets the job done.

NYX The Skinny Mascara – I got this to use on my bottom lashes as it’s water resistant. I liked it. The wand/brush is super tiny, so it’s perfect for exactly that purpose. I’d probably repurchase this again.

Face Secrets Makeup Brush Cleaner – As you can probably tell, I love this stuff. It does an amazing job when you got a lot of brushes to clean and want to get it done quickly. I can clean 25-30 brushes in around maybe 10 minutes using this stuff.

Wet N Wild Photo Focus Foundation – I was surprised at how much I liked this. It has really good coverage, pretty good staying power and it plays well with my oily/combo skin. I’ve already repurchased this.

Revlon ColorStay Foundation for Combo/Oily Skin – I love this foundation so much. I’ve gone through a couple bottles of this since last…. November I think. Again, great coverage and staying power. I’m almost done with another bottle and I have a backup waiting in the wings to be cracked open once that one is finished.

Rimmel Lasting Finish Foundation – I’ve gone through many bottles of this. Once again, really great coverage and it lasts all day. I do plan on repurchasing this sometime, but I have a ton of other foundations to get through first.

Kat Von D Tattoo Liner in Trooper – This was a 100 point perk from Sephora. Took me forever to use it all up. I’m not a big fan of liquid liner (I prefer gel liner or a pencil), but this one I managed to get the hang of for the most part. I love how it’s so black, and when it dries, that sucker is not budging until you take it off. Not sure if I’d purchase a full size of this. Maybe. I keep going back and forth on it.

Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Wiz – I love this. LOVE. The shade I use (Medium Brown) is a perfect match for me. I love the fine point of the pencil to help me be nice and precise when filling in my brows. I love using this with my ABH Dip Brow. I have another I’ve already been using and will repurchase when I use that one up as well.

Milani EasyBrow Pencil – I liked this at first. The shade range of this sucks (only 2 shades). The point of the pencil is a little thicker than I normally like, but I learned to use a lighter hand to make it work and not go overboard. But for some reason, the pencil does not retract back into the… thing (for lack of a better term). That was just annoying. I probably would not repurchase this.

Cover FX Mattifying Primer with Anti-Acne Treatment – This was another Sephora 100 point perk. I’ve gone through 2 or 3 of these little ones. It’s a pretty decent primer. Does a good job mattifying the skin and the added acne treatment (1% salicylic acid) is nice to have if you have acne-prone skin. A full size is kind of spendy ($38). I probably wouldn’t purchase a full size.

Smashbox Pore Minimizing Primer – This is just a travel size and it lasted me over a year as I only use it where I need to fill on my pores (around/on my nose). I really like this. It has a thicker consistency compared to Benefit Porefessional. And I like that. It does a great job filling in your pores and mattifying the skin. I’ll probably repurchase this at some point (I got some other pore fillers that I like that I’m working my way through tight now though).

Smashbox Primer Water – This is another travel size. I like this too. I’ve gone through a couple of these. It smells really nice and I like how it feels when I spray it on my face. I like using it both as a primer before makeup and as a makeup/skin refresher throughout the day. If I ever repurchase this, I’ll probably just get a full size.

Makeup Revolution Pro Fix Oil Control Fixing Spray – This is probably my favorite setting spray right now. I think it works just as well as high end setting sprays. And it costs MUCH less. I’ve gone through many bottles of this and I’ll repurchase as long as I can get it.

And that is it! Phew! That was a long one!

What products have you recently used up?n Tell me about them below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading and I’ll see you again soon in my next post!

8 thoughts on “When Empties Attack!

  1. I finally got that Garnier hair spray that you love! Not sure which version I got, will have to check.
    Holy crap you finished a lot of dry shampoos! Which scent is your favourite?
    I still haven’t tried any OZ Naturals. I know lots of people were sent the stuff but the fact that you are buying this product makes me want to try it!
    I still haven’t seen that Wet n Wild Photo Focus foundation around here yet. Probably another year before they do…
    Ooh you found a NEW favourite setting spray – wow! You were quite devoted to the Wet n Wild one before, right?

    Like

    • For Batiste, I like the Fresh and Bare scents the best. I like the Wild one too. I only wash my hair like twice a week, so I use a lot of dry shampoo.

      I’ve liked that Makeup Revolution setting spray for a long time. I still like the WNW one but the MR does the same thing & you get a lot more product for just a few dollars more.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah I was really surprised how much I like the WNW foundation. I’m wearing it today actually. It was a “sleeper hit” for me.

      I agree the Garnier micellar water is good. I keep some in a little bottle on my vanity to use if I screw up on my eyeliner. Just get the end of a q-tip wet with it and it makes for easy clean up. I’ve also been using one from Bioderma that I really like.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: May 2017 No-Buy-Low-Buy Accountability | stash matters

Leave a Comment

