Anti-Haul #2 – More Products I Won’t Be Purchasing

Hey guys! Happy Friday!

Back in January, I did my first Anti-Haul post (which you can read here if you missed it). It was a little weird at first because I don’t like being negative here, but sometimes you just have to be a little catty/bitchy and just rant and speak your mind. It can’t always be rainbows and unicorns, right? Well, I had so much fun with it, I’ve decided to do another!

Now if you’re unaware (or have been living under a rock), an “anti-haul” is pretty much talking about over-hyped products you will NOT be buying, for whatever reason. It started on YouTube and has made its way into blogs like my little slice of the interwebs.

You ready? Ok let’s get the party started!

Natasha Denona Palettes

There are some YouTubers that RAVE about these palettes. I mean totally rave about how good they are and how they’re worth the money. I swatched some at my local Sephora not too long ago and was not impressed. Not in the least. The shadows are NOT “Oh so buttery soft and super duper pigmented, like ZOMG ELEVENTY!!!!!11!!” They felt dry and gritty and most did not swatch very well either. For palettes that retail for $129 to $239 (you read that right… TWO HUNDRED AND THIRTY NINE DOLLARS… for 28 eyeshadows – what are they made of? Unicorn tears & blood of a virgin?), I expect the quality to be literally out of this world. And it’s not. And I know I’m not alone because some of my friends have expressed my exact same feelings about these palettes. Not. Worth. It. If you’re going to spend a big hunk of coin on a palette, get one from Viseart. They’re still expensive, but not as crazy expensive as one from Natasha Denona. And the quality is a lot better.

Face Palettes from Urban Decay, Tarte, Becca, Huda Beauty, etc.

I feel like everyone and their grandmother is coming out with face palettes now. Seriously… how many do we need? I have my Lorac & Kat Von D contour palettes. And that’s it. I don’t need another. I may never even finish that I do have. Some might like the convenience of having their bronzer, blush, highlighter options all in one palette. And that’s fine. But it’s just not for me.

Tarte Clay Stick Foundation

Now when I saw some YouTubers get this as PR from Tarte recently, I was initially intrigued. I’ve been quite pleased with my stick foundation from Anastasia Beverly Hills and it’s nice to see stick foundations making the rounds again with improved formulas than in the past. Plus I like my Rainforest of the Sea and Amazonian Clay foundations from Tarte. I like Tarte. But then the reviews of this stick foundation started coming in. Even though it claims to “adjust” to your skin type, this foundation apparently does not play well with oily skin. At all. A handful of YouTubers who have oily skin (Nicole Guerriero and Nicole from Young, Wild & Polished to name a couple) weren’t liking it. It made them look like greaseballs. So I’ll be passing on this one.

Dyson Hair Dryer

I’m sorry but…. $400 for a HAIR DRYER? No. Just… no. That’s just ridiculous. For that amount of money, my hair better look damn perfect every single time I use it. But I bet it would look the same as when I use my $35 Conair hair dryer. It looks really cool but. Yeah no.

Lorac Beauty & the Beast Collection

So Lorac just announced they’re coming out with a collection of products themed to the live-action Beauty & the Beast film. Ummm… that movie came out back in March. But this is to go with the DVD/Blu-Ray launch later this month. Weird. I haven’t even seen the movie yet. Not because I don’t want to. I’ve heard it’s quite good. It’s just I absolutely LOVED the animated version that came out 26 years ago (which is weird because I normally don’t care for any of the Disney princesses, except for Ariel… ok I’m getting off track here). I love Lorac. They’re one of my very favorite brands. But this feels like a gimmick to capitalize on a movie that was an unexpected hit. Oh and for the record, I wasn’t too impressed with their Pirates of the Caribbean collection either (though I did get one of the lip duos… mainly for one particular shade of lipgloss).

Elizabeth & James Nirvana Dry Shampoo

Now don’t get me wrong. I love my Elizabeth & James Nirvana White perfume. And I want to get a travel size of the Nirvana Bourbon. But all these fragrances as a dry shampoo? Ummm… no. And $28 for said dry shampoo? NO! I’ll stick with my $7.99 Batiste, which probably does a better job, thankyaverramuch.

And that’s it! Wow it felt good getting all that out.

So what products are you not planning on buying? Any of these? Something different? Tell me about them below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading and your support. Love you guys! I hope you have a wonderful weekend and I’ll see you again soon in my next post!

6 thoughts on “Anti-Haul #2 – More Products I Won’t Be Purchasing

Leave a Comment

