May 2017 Favorites

Hey guys! How’s it going?

Can you believe it’s the end of May? I know I always say it, but wow this year is flying by! Anyhow, today, I have my favorites from this past month for you guys. You ready? Let’s get going!

L’Oreal Infallible Blend Artist Foundation Blender

I had seen a few YouTubers talk about how much they liked it. I decided to see for myself how good it is and picked one up awhile back. To my surprise… I like it. A lot. It takes a lot to live up to my trusty Beauty Blender and up until this point, the only sponge that’s come close is the one from Japonesque. But this sponge from L’Oreal was a nice surprise. Even though the bottom is flat, it’s still rounded around the edges, so you still get that seamless look. The wide bottom also helps blend out foundation faster (especially helpful if you’re using a foundation that dries fast). It also does a good job blending out concealer (though you have to squish the pointed tip part a little to get it to fit in the very corner of the eyes). It washes up really nice and hasn’t torn yet even after repeated washings (I use baby shampoo and wear rubber dish gloves to prevent my nails form shredding it).

Anastasia Beverly Hills Dip Brow in Medium Brown

If you’ve been following my blog, you’ll know I love my ABH Brow Wiz. The hype that surrounds it is real. And so is the hype with the Dip Brow pomade. I use this with the ABH #12 brush and it’s the perfect combo to help draw and fill in my almost non-existent brows. The shade Medium Brown is a great match for me and this stuff lasts all day without smearing/smudging or fading. A little also goes a long way, so you get your money’s worth.

Wet N Wild ColorIcon Blush in Rose Champagne

I was grabbing for this one a lot this past month. It’s a gorgeous shade that’s buildable. It has shimmer, but it’s not crazy or chunky glitter. You can use this with a light hand as a blush topper or on its own. The shimmer in it is just enough you could even forego using highlighter when wearing this blush (which I usually do).

Ben Nye Neutral Set Colorless Powder

I picked this up back in March at The Makeup Show Orlando as I had been wanting to try it for ages. And I’m glad I finally got it. This stuff is good. Really good. It does a great job setting my foundation and locking it in place all day. And it’s surprisingly affordable too! You can get it for as cheap as $8 for 1.5 ounces/42 grams of product (compared to $38 for the super popular Laura Mercier loose translucent setting powder, which gives you 1 ounce/28 grams of product).

Embryolisse Cicalisse Restorative Skin Cream

I got this in my press goodie bag at The Makeup Show Orlando. It took me forever to figure out exactly what it is. It’s basically a moisturizer that can be used on face, body and even lips. It contains 3% acetoxamic acid (known for its accelerating epidermal restorative properties), hyaluronic acid, Vitamin E, Sweet Almond Oil, Cottonseed Oil and a bunch of other stuff that’s supposed to help revitalize damaged skin. A lot of professional makeup artists have Embryolisse products in their kits. I actually like using this as a primer. I have combo skin, so I use different primers on different parts of my face. Since I have an oily T-zone, I use a mattifying primer in that area. The rest of my face is pretty normal, but sometimes I’ll have small dry patches if I’m treating any random breakouts (due to the acne meds drying out the areas I apply it to). And I like using this especially underneath a more mattifying foundation so it doesn’t look too dry or cakey.

Benefit Watt’s Up Highlighter

This is an old favorite that’s found its way back. This was my very favorite highlighter for a long time, but other highlighters have grabbed my attention and this one sat in my vanity untouched for awhile. I decided to pull it out and use it again one day and I was reminded of how much I like it. It’s a gorgeous champagne highlight that can be subtle or built up. It has a gorgeous shimmer that’s not glittery, and I love how the cream to powder formula sinks into the skin.

Anastasia Beverly Hills Lipgloss in Caramel & Toffee

Caramel on top, Toffee on the bottom

These are mini sizes that came in last year’s summer gloss set. I loved them the most from that set last summer and I’m grabbing for them again now. Caramel is described as a “soft pinky brown” and Toffee is described as a “light warm brown”. Nude lips are in right now and both of these shades are perfect for that trend. I love the formula of these glosses. They’re super pigmented and have good staying power for a gloss. Plus they smell like toffee/butterscotch! And ABH just came out with these shades as permanent full size! I’ll probably get both so I can keep these mini size ones in my bag for touch-ups on the go.

And that does it! What were some of your favorites this month? Tell me about the below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading and I’ll see you again soon in my next post!

9 thoughts on “May 2017 Favorites

  1. What do you like about the Brow Wiz vs the Dip Brow Pomade? I’m currently using the Dip Brow but have been toying with the idea of getting the Brow Wiz.
    The Benefit Watt’s Up is one of my favourite highlighters too! It’s just the prettiest champagne shade.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I do like the shape of the L’Oreal sponge – it’s similar to the Quo one that I love. Like you said, the wider base means larger coverage & quicker application!
    Interesting about that Embryolisse Cicalisse Cream – always good to discover something from a goodie bag.

    Like

    • A lot of makeup artists swear by the Embryolisse Lait-Crème Concentrè moisturizer. I got a little sample packet of their Hydra-Mat Emulsion at their booth at the show. Funny thing is their US HQ is about 10 miles from me!

      Like

Leave a Comment

