Revisit: Tarte Amazonian Clay 12 Hour Full Coverage Foundation

Hey guys! Happy Friday! Got anything fun planned this weekend?

For today’s post, I’m going to be revisiting the Tarte Amazonian Clay 12 Hour Full Coverage Foundation. I originally did a first impressions of this back in 2014 (which you can read here if you’re interested). I purchased a full size of this awhile back and thought it would be fun to go back and see how much much I like (or dislike) this foundation compared to when I first tried it almost 3 years ago.

So keep on reading to find out what I think of it now…

Let’s review some product info, shall we?

What it is:
A long-lasting foundation powered by Amazonian clay.

What it does:
Get 12 hours of flawless coverage with this long-wearing, skin-perfecting formula with UVA/UVB SPF 15. It’s full-coverage and supremely blendable and buildable formula has a weightless texture and is available in a broad range of shades. Everyone can achieve skin that looks healthy and natural.

What it is formulated WITHOUT:
– Parabens
– Sulfates
– Phthalates

What else you need to know:
Whether skin is oily, dry, or combination, “skin-smart” Amazonian clay will intuitively adjust to meet and address your skin concerns for makeup that wears better, longer, and truer. This revolutionary foundation reduces the appearance of pores, discolorations, and imperfections and ensures a perfectly flawless complexion every time.

This product is vegan and hypoallergenic.

It retails for $39 for 1.7 fl. oz. (which is almost double the standard 1 fl. oz. you get with most other foundations) and comes in 24 shades (in my original review, it only came in 16 shades, so good job Tarte for adding more shades!).

Ok so looking back at my original post on this foundation, I got matched with the shade Light Sand, which I mentioned was too light, but I made it work with some bronzer. This time, I picked my own shade (I’ve gotten a lot better at this over the last few years) and went with Light-Medium Sand, which is a much better match. It’s described as “light to medium skin with yellow undertone”. Well, I’m actually more on the neutral side, so when first applied, it looks a bit yellow. But after concealer, powder and the rest of my makeup, it looks fine.

I remembered this foundation has a thicker consistency, and it does. A little can go a long way as it is full coverage. My preferred application method is to apply with a flat brush, then blend out with a damp Beauty Blender to sheer it out a little so it won’t look cakey. It sets quickly, so I have to apply it in sections on my face so I can blend it out before it does set, and it does have a matte finish. Tarte says the foundation will adjust to your skin type. Ummm… no. If you have dry skin, this foundation will cling to every dry patch you have. I’ve been dealing with hormonal breakouts this week (lucky me *sarcasm*) and I’ve had a few tiny dry areas from where I’ve been using the heavy duty acne meds to dry those pesky zits up. I happened to wear this foundation the other day and it totally clung to the dry spots. Yeah it was not cute. If you have oily or combo skin, this foundation could be a good one for you. But dry skin? Forget it. Unless you really slather on the hydrating primer underneath (and even then it’s no guarantee).

You can see it has a thick consistency.

It does wear all day, though I do get a little shiny on my nose and chin sometimes after maybe 6 or 7 hours, but it’s really minor and nothing blotting and a powder touch-up can’t fix (which is why I always keep blotting sheets and a pressed powder compact in my bag). Does it live up to its 12 hour claim? On my skin, it does. But your mileage might vary.

Blended out.

So yeah, I still like this foundation. Would I repurchase? Maybe. You get so much product though and since a little goes a long way, it’ll be awhile before I get through this one tube (plus the bazillion other foundations I own). Do I recommend checking it out? If you have oily or combo skin? Go for it. If you have normal skin? Get a sample at Sephora first. Dry skin? No. Do not pass Go, do not collect $200. If you have dry skin, this foundation would be your worst enemy.

And that should do it? Have you tried this foundation? Is it on your wishlist to try?

As always, thank you all so much for reading and your support. I love you guys! I hope you all have a fantabulous weekend and I’ll see you again soon in my next post!

9 thoughts on “Revisit: Tarte Amazonian Clay 12 Hour Full Coverage Foundation

  1. SO many people love this foundation but I am on the fence about it. But I appreciate your thoughts on it. I do love most Tarte products though. XO

    Like

  2. Great review. I have tried this foundation but I didn’t buy it. I still think about buying it but I always fear I will not blend it well enough to have it looks as good as it did when they applied it in the store.

    Like

Leave a Comment

