The Makeup Case Turns 3… and a mini CCO Haul

Hey guys! How’s it going?

Wow. It’s been three years now since I decided to start blogging and my first post here on The Makeup Case went live. And it’s all been downhill ever since. LOL! Just kidding. Three years. Where has the time gone? I honestly didn’t think I’d still be blogging this long but… here I (still) am! And I have no plans on stopping any time soon. So I just wanted to say thank you to all of you for reading and your support over the last three years. You guys are awesome.

Oh and before I get started today, I’m going to do a Q&A here on the blog. Got any questions for me? Comment down below with them (or ask on one of the recent Q&A posts on my Instagram – you can find me on there as themakeupcase17 if you’re not already following) and I’ll answer as many questions as I can in an upcoming blog post!

So anyhow, today I have a mini COO haul to share with you guys! Let’s get started, shall we?

You may be wondering, “What’s a CCO?” Well, CCO is short for Cosmetics Company Outlet (or Cosmetics Company Store). They’re found at various outlet malls and carry high end beauty products at a discount. They carry a mix of discontinued/limited edition products and products that are still available at your local Sephora/Ulta/beauty counter at the department store (overstock basically).

What brands do they carry? Clinique, Estee Lauder, MAC, Smashbox, Bobbi Brown, Tom Ford, Origins… maybe a few others (I can’t remember). Now besides the Cosmetics Company Store, there’s another CCO called the Luxury Beauty Store. Same concept, but they carry some different brands –  Urban Decay, YSL, Lancome, Armani, Ralph Lauren, Kiehl’s, Clairsonic and more.

I’ve been to the Cosmetics Company Store at the new(ish) outlet mall in Tampa and have purchased a few things at that one in the past. But this past weekend, I was nearby the outlet mall in Ellenton (south of the Tampa area), and this outlet mall has both a Cosmetics Company Store and a Luxury Beauty Store. And you know I had to visit both.

At the Cosmetics Company Store, I picked up my first ever Bobbi Brown product! I got one of the blushes in the shade Tawny, which is described as a  “pinky brown”. I thought I had another blush in a similar shade and to my surprise, not really! The ones that come close are lighter or darker. I used this yesterday and it’s really pretty. This shade is still available in regular stores. The Bobbi Brown blushes retail for $28, but I paid $19.75 (which is roughly 30% off).

Over at the Luxury Beauty Store, I saw they carried the Lancome Teint Idole foundation, which I really like a lot as it performs almost identical to my holy grail Estee Lauder Double Wear, but it retails for $47, which I refuse to pay (the previous bottle I had, I used my Ulta rewards points I had been hoarding toward it, so I didn’t pay full price then either). The outlet store was selling it for $39.50 (roughly an 18% discount), which is also the retail price of Double Wear. They happened to have my shade (Bisque 260 N), so I grabbed one.

Then in a bin they had a bunch of Lancome lipsticks and a couple signs (one said extra 25% off and another said extra 40% off). I swatched a few and ended up liking the L’Absolu Rouge one in shade 391, Exotic Orchid (which is actually more a rose shade than “orchid”). These lipsticks retail for $32.. this rang up at $12.20. What?! I thought it was a discontinued shade but nope, you can still get it at normal retail stores that sell Lancome. So I’m guessing it was just overstock they were trying to clear out.

And that’s it! Just like any outlet store, even the beauty ones can be hit and miss. Sometimes they have some really good stuff, and other times not so much. But that’s part of the fun of visiting outlet malls. You never know what kind of deals you might find.

Have you ever visited a CCO at an outlet mall? Did you find any good deals?

As always, thank you all so much for reading and I’ll see you again soon in my next post!

4 thoughts on “The Makeup Case Turns 3… and a mini CCO Haul

  1. Woohoo! Happy 3rd birthday to your blog! 😀
    Based on the brands, it seems CCO is by Estee Lauder and Luxury Beauty Store is by L’Oreal. If I lived anywhere near a CCO or LBS, I’d be in BIG trouble.
    Love that Bobbi Brown blush shade you got – looks super wearable. Nice score on all the goodies!

    Like

Leave a Comment

