Review: Anastasia Beverly Hills Stick Foundation

Hey guys! How’s it going?

Wait… posts two days in a row from me? Isn’t that one of the signs of the apocalypse? No, just trying to be better about keeping up with the blog here and not get too backlogged!

What do I have for you guys today? A review of the Anastasia Beverly Hills Stick Foundation!

Want to know my thoughts about this product? Keep on reading…

So as you probably know, Anastasia Beverly Hills came out with this foundation last year. I believe it’s actually the first foundation they’ve come out with. I’m not a huge fan of stick foundations, but I had heard good things about it and it’s actually quite reasonably priced at $25 (actually “cheap” for a higher end brand like ABH), so after several months of hemming and hawing over whether to try it out, I finally pulled the trigger and ordered it from Ulta right before my no-buy for the month of April kicked in.

As I said, I’m usually not the biggest fan of stick foundations. Last summer, I was sent the Hourglass stick foundation via Influenster and I liked it, but the shade they sent me was a bit too dark, so I don’t use it much even though I liked the coverage and how easy it is to blend out. I like the idea of stick foundations though as they’re compact and perfect for travel and less messy than normal liquid foundation. But most usually work best if you have dry or normal skin.

So how about a little product info?

What it is:
A multitasking, light-to-full-coverage cream stick foundation with a natural-looking, demi-matte finish.

What it does:
This highly pigmented, buildable cream stick foundation creates a flawless, natural looking demi-matte finish. The Stick Foundation is ideal for combination and oily skin, and the lightweight, easy-to-layer foundation delivers light-to-full-coverage, depending on the method of application. Itโ€™s designed to quickly and precisely apply all-over coverage, daily touch ups, or highlight and contour with ease.

I like that it promises buildable to full coverage and that it’s ideal for oily/combo skin (which I have). You don’t see many stick foundations formulated toward that skin type.

I swatched this foundation a bazillion times in-store but couldn’t figure which of two shades would be the best match for me, Beige or Natural, so I ended ordering them both and figured I’d just return the one that wasn’t the better match. Beige is described as “light with neutral undertone” and Natural is described as “medium with neutral undertone”. Well, Beige ended up being a little too light and Natural was a little too dark. But mixed/blended together? A pretty good match!

Top: Beige; Bottom: Natural

The packaging is simple but elegant. The tube is sturdy and has a bit of weight to it. It looks nice sitting on my vanity.

Simple, but pretty packaging

Logo on top of the cap is a nice touch.

I’ve tried applying this with a brush and I didn’t like how it applies that way at all. It’s too hard to blend out with that method. I found the best way to apply this is with a Beauty Blender or other blending sponge that’s a a little bit more damp than normal (a few spritzes of Fix+ or another face spray helps with that). I’ll apply the foundation all over my face, then give my face a couple spritzes of face spray before blending it out with my sponge, and it this method works really well and blends out much easier.

Left: Natural, Right: Beige (heavy swatch)

The coverage is definitely buildable from light to full without looking cakey (but it can look a little cakey if you apply too much – a little extra blending with your sponge can take care of that though). It sets to a natural matte finish, which is nice.

Left: Natural; Right: Beige (blended out a bit)

So how’s the wear time? Pretty decent. I’ve worn this to just work and I’ve also worn it on the weekend while out running errands, out a one of my boyfriend’s band’s gigs and date days with my boyfriend where we’re outside most of the time in the heat/humidity. And it holds up pretty well. It fades a little off the very tip of my nose and chin after maybe 5 or 6 hours (but that’s why I always carry touch-up powder with me), but on the rest of my face it stays put.

Overall, I do like this foundation more than I was anticipating. If you have oily or combo skin you might like this too, so I do recommend checking it out.

Ok that should do it for today! Have you tried this foundation out? Do you know of any other stick foundations that play well with oily or combo skin?

As always, thank you all so much for reading and I’ll see you again soon in my next post!

5 thoughts on “Review: Anastasia Beverly Hills Stick Foundation

    • You’re not kidding! Hate it’s already reaching temps in the 90s and it’s just now May. At least wait another month, Mother Nature! June starts our rainy season (and hurricane season). It’ll rain almost every day sometime between 3-6pm. You can set your watch to it. ๐Ÿ˜‚

      Like

  1. I’ve been on a hunt for a good stick foundation for travelling – this is quite well-priced! Bummer that you’re in between shades… having to mix 2 means you’re paying double the price! Hopefully I can find a match with one shade. Maybe Natural will match me.

    Like

Leave a Comment

