April 2017 Favorites

Hey guys! How’s it going? Did you have a good weekend? Do anything fun?

Friday night, a friend and I went to see an 80’s tribute band called Electric Avenue. Had no idea what to expect (it was a free show) but it ended up being a LOT of fun. They played all the good 80s music (Duran Duran, The Fixx, Prince, David Bowie, Wham!/George Michael, Human League, OMD, Tears For Fears, Howard Jones, etc.) and they did it all properly. We danced and sang along with everything. I’d go see them again… they were that good.

Then Sunday my boyfriend and I went to the Clearwater Marine Aquarium to see Winter the dolphin (her story became the movie Dolphin Tale, which was filmed at the aquarium) and the other critters that call the aquarium home (Cooper the otter was especially adorable). Was nice to finally check the place out. Funny I’ve lived here all these years and had never been.

So anyhow, today I got my April favorites for you guys! Want to see what I’ve been loving this past month? Keep on reading…

42 Dubonnet Irresistible Kissable Lipstick in Sweet Vermouth & Illuminating Lipgloss in Xanthia

These were sent to me as PR from 42 Dubonnet (along with the gel liner also pictured), and I ended up using them a LOT during April. I’ll have a full review of them soon (later this week actually), but for now, I’m just going to say how I love the colors of both of these products. Perfect “my lips but better” shades and they pair together perfectly as well.

Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara

I had a coupon for a free travel size of this from Ulta that I cashed in on when I placed an online order right before my no-buy kicked in. I’d heard mixed reviews of this mascara. Everyone seems to either love it or hate it, no real in-between. I like how it makes my lashes look a bit fuller and stand out more. I heard stories of it smudging/flaking but I haven’t experienced that… and I even put it to the test by wearing it during a visit to Busch Gardens Tampa. it was hot, humid and even experienced a little light rain that day, but this mascara stayed put with no issues.

Benefit Watt’s Up

This is a rediscovered favorite. I got the urge to use this highlighter again and I remembered by I love it so much. It’s a gorgeous champagne shade that can be subtle or built up for more intensity. I love the cream to powder formula too.

Fiona Stiles Micro-Precision Brow Sculpting Pencil in Neutral Brown

I picked this up on clearance at Ulta. First I heard this brand was going to no longer be sold at Ulta, but then I heard everything is going to be repackaged and Ulta just has everything marked half off to sell the old packaging before the new one comes out. But my local Ulta removed the entire Fiona Stiles display and employees I talked to couldn’t give me a straight answer, so… I have no idea. Anyhow, I ended up liking this brow pencil a lot. It has a super fine point, like the ABH Brow Wiz, which I really like as you can get really precise. The shade Neutral Brown is a really good match for my brows (it’s just a hair warmer than my Brow Wiz in Medium Brown). Fills in my brows nicely and it lasts all day on me.

NYX Duo Chromatic Illuminating Powder in Lavender Steel

I just posted a review of this last week (along with the shade Twilight Tint, which I also like a lot). I love the pink/lavender color shift so much. And when you apply it lightly, it actually can work as an everyday highlight.

I have a couple non-beauty favorites this month as well…

Netflix

I’m probably one of the last people on the planet to give Netflix a try. Currently doing the 30 day free trial but I might keep it a little longer. I mainly signed up so I could watch the new season of Mystery Science Theater 3000 (I loved that show so much in the 90s) and finally check out Stranger Things (the hype about that show is legit… amazing), but I’ve been finding old favorites like Absolutely Fabulous (another show I adored in the 90s) and movies I’d been wanting to see but hadn’t gotten around to (like Finding Dory, which I watched last weekend and really enjoyed).

Sunglasses

I just got these this past weekend, so it’s a stretch, but I love these already. But my old sunglasses fell apart (a screw fell out and I can’t find one in my glasses repair kit that fits… and then one of the tiny screwdrivers in the kit broke… what a fiasco). I happened to be at Ulta and discovered they sell sunglasses! What? How did I never notice this? I’d been going back and forth for years about getting a pair of aviator style sunglasses, but could never find any I truly liked the style/color of. But these are perfect. I love the matte gold/rose gold (?) frames and the lens color is perfect too. I don’t know the brand (sorry), but they were on sale 25% off so… yay!

And that is it! What were some of your favorites from this past month? Tell me about them below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading and I’ll see you again soon in my next post!

3 thoughts on “April 2017 Favorites

  1. I can’t make up my mind about the Better than Sex mascara! I like how it makes my lashes look, but it flakes/smudges on me sometimes. So aggravating.
    The Watt’s Up highlighter is one of my favourites too! Such a pretty shade that can look quite natural if you only use a bit.
    That highlighter is gorgeous! :O I’m going to go read your review now!

    Like

  2. The tribute band evening sounds like a blast! And I love watching otters – they’re so full of character.
    I’m so glad to hear you like the Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara – I plan to try my sample soon.
    And those sunglasses are stylin! Whenever a screw comes out of a pair, I usually don’t bother fixing them – way too much trouble than what it’s worth.

    Like

Leave a Comment

