Review & Swatches: NYX Duo Chromatic Illuminating Powder

Hey guys! How’s it going?

Today I have a review for you guys on the Duo Chromatic Illuminating Powders from NYX.

Get’s get started, shall we?

NYX has really been stepping their game up lately. I’ve already been a big fan of theirs for years. They have some really great products that are super affordable (their slim lip pencils I feel are right on par or even a little better than the MAC ones, and their Slide On eye pencils are right up there with the ones from Urban Decay & Make Up For Ever… and I won’t even start on how much I love their Prismatic eyeshadow singles). So when they come out with something fun and funky, they automatically have my attention.

If you’ve been reading my blog for awhile, you’ll know I’m a duochrome junkie. I’d do my makeup in nothing but duochrome if I could. There’s something about those color shifts that just suck me in. So when I saw NYX came out with some duochrome highlighters, you know I had to get my hands on some of them. But sadly my local Ulta was always sold out (and if they got more, they’d sell out before I could get there). And even though you can get NYX products at CVS & Target, neither carry the full line like Ulta pretty much does.

But then last month I went to The Makeup Show Orlando and NYX was going to be there! I made getting my hands on some of these highlighters a priority. The NYX booth was super crowded, but I got my hands on the two shades I wanted the most, plus everything at the NYX booth was 30% off! But even full price, these babies retail for just $7.99, which is easy on the wallet.

So… these highlighters, how about a little product info?

Light up your features with our new Duo Chromatic Illuminating Powder. Available in five glowing shades, this silky Powder blends like a dream for a fresh-faced look. This breathtaking formula’s light-catching pearls deliver a luminous finish that looks different from every angle. Brush this illuminating wonder along the highest points of the face—such as the cheekbones, bridge of the nose and Cupid’s bow.

I got the shades Twilight Tint and Lavender Steel. There also 3 other shades (Snow Rose, Crushed Bloom & Synthetica), but these are the two that caught my eye and I wanted the most.

Twilight Tint

I tried looking up shade descriptions on both the NYX and Ulta sites, but no luck. I guess you could say Twilight Tint is a white or silver base with blue shift and Lavender Steel is a lavender base with pink/lavender shift. Some might shy away from funky highlight shades like this, but not me! I’m a weirdo and I’m not afraid to flaunt it. Plus you can pull double or even triple duty with these and use them as eyeshadows or even a lipstick topper for something fun and funky.

Lavender Steel

Ok so the texture of these highlighters are nice and soft. They don’t kick up a lot when you put a brush in them either (but stuff like that doesn’t bother me). They have good pigmentation but not crazy. I like that you can build them up to get the payoff you want instead of having to use a light hand so you don’t go overboard with one swipe. Staying power is good – they last all day on me.

And now… Swatches!

Left: Twilight Tint, Right: Lavender Steel

I really like these highlighters and am somewhat tempted to get the other shades (even though I don’t need them). And I obviously recommend checking them out if you can find them.

Ok that should do it for today! Have you tried any of these highlighters? Are they are on your wishlist?

As always, thank you so much for reading and your support. You guys are the best! I’ll see you again soon in my next post!

7 thoughts on “Review & Swatches: NYX Duo Chromatic Illuminating Powder

  1. These are so pretty! I especially like the Twilight one. I just tried out the new Nude Rose Highlighter Palette from BH Cosmetics and it is so good!!!! I don’t think I have ever tried a HL from Nyx. But their one of my fave brands so I can’t believe i have never bought one from them. LOL

    Like

    • The only other NYX highlighters I’ve tried are the Liquid Illuminator in Gleam (a kind of rose gold) and the pressed powder Illuminator in Ritualistic (a pretty close dupe for Moonstone by Becca).

      Like

Leave a Comment

