Review & Swatches: Viseart Petit Pro Palette

Hey guys! Happy Friday! Any of you have a long weekend for Easter? I don’t, but that’s ok.

For today’s post, I have a review for you guys on the Viseart Petit Pro palette. This was an item that was in my press goodie bag I got at The Makeup Show Orlando last month. I’m under no obligation to talk about it and as always, all opinions are my own.

You ready? Let’s do this!

So as you probably know, last year, Viseart (I found out the correct pronunciation is “veez-art”, it’s French) started making a splash in the beauty community with their eye palettes. YouTubers have been claiming left and right they’re they some of the most amazing shadows ever. The colors in the palettes are gorgeous but $80 for an eye palette? Yikes. I can buy a month of groceries with that! You could imagine my glee when I saw this little palette in my goodie bag. I actually squealed a little (and got a few looks). LOL!

A little product description (taken from Sephora’s site):

Flaunt day-to-evening shadow looks that look gorgeous, even when photographed. EyeShadow Palette Petit PRO features unique shades from 2017 fashion-forward trends in satin, shimmer, and matte shades—directly from the fashion houses of Paris.

This palette retails for $30, and is quite a bit smaller than the normal Viseart palettes (12 shadows). This one contains 8 shadows that have matte, satin and shimmer finishes, and is super compact, which makes it perfect for travel. When all folded up, it’s not much bigger than a credit card.

Next to a MAC lipstick for size comparison.

There’s a little mirror inside, which again makes it convenient for on the go. Each shadow contains 0.026 oz worth of product. This IS a travel palette, so the pan sizes are expected to be smaller. But they’re not super tiny and my brushes/fingers fit in them with no issues.

The texture of the shadows are soft, but not super buttery to the touch say like, Lorac shadows are. When you swatch them on your arm, the mattes & satins have decent pigmentation (the light cream shade initially lacks a little but can be built up). Matte shades always swatch differently compared to how they apply to the eyes, regardless if it’s high end or drugstore. The shimmer shades, on the other hand…. SUPER pigmented and absolutely gorgeous when swatched and applied on the eyes. I’ve found using my finger gives the best payoff.

I’ve read some have had trouble with the staying power of these shadows, but I haven’t. I always wear an eye primer/base (I have several I rotate through, including ones from Too Faced, Lorac, Milani, Essence and my MAC paint pot in Soft Ochre) and these shadows last on me all day without creasing or fading.

My only real complaint about this palette? There should be one matte shade that’s lighter than the 2nd lightest shade (the kind of olive-khaki shade that’s 2nd from the left on the top row) for a better transition color. You could use a lighter hand on either of the two center shades in the top row for a transition color but… those are more crease shades to me. It’s all personal preference.

You want swatches? We got swatches! These were all done with no primer or base underneath. The mattes/satins took a couple passes to build up but the shimmers are all one swipe each.

Top Row

Bottom Row

Overall, I do like this palette a lot. The colors are really pretty and I do like how compact it is for travel and how you can do multiple full looks using just this palette. Is it worth the $30 price tag? Yes and no. The quality of the shadows are good, but not ZOMG THESE ARE THE BEST EYESHADOWS EVAR ELEVENTY!!!!!!!11!!!!11!!!! That little aspect of Viseart might be blown a bit out of proportion. They ARE good shadows though, but not the greatest ever.

Do I recommend checking this palette out? If you’re curious about Viseart shadows but don’t want to plunk down $80 for a palette, this might be a good option to give them a try without breaking the bank too badly.

Ok that should do it for today! Do you own any Viseart palettes? Are they on your wishlist? Sound off below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading! I hope you have a wonderful weekend and I’ll see you again soon in my next post!

 

FTC: This product was provided complimentary, but I am under no obligation to review or mention it. All opinions are my own.
4 thoughts on “Review & Swatches: Viseart Petit Pro Palette

  1. Interesting point of view… I’ve been dying to try these shadows because of all the hype… would you say they compare to Lorac? Or any other popular formula out there?
    Also, I would love to know which eyeshadows would you say are the best you’ve tried so far… I’ve been reading your blog non stop and we seem to have very similar skin tone and type, and also very similar tastes!

    Like

    • Lorac is probably my favorite when it comes to eyeshadow. Amazing formula. I own 5 of their palettes. Makeup Geek is another favorite. Viseart has a different formula in comparison though. Soft, but they don’t kick up as much as say, Lorac does.

      Like

Leave a Comment

