LipSense: Does It Really Work? Is the Hype Real? A Review from a Non-Distributor

Hey guys! How’s it going?

I got an interesting review for you guys today.

LipSense. Does it really work? Does it live up to the hype?

Want to find out? Keep on reading…

I’m sure you’ve probably heard of LipSense as it’s been making waves recently in the beauty community. There are a lot of reviews out there, but quite a few are done by distributors of the product, so of course they’d want to hype it up to try and get sales. But I’m not a distributor.

For those who don’t know about LipSense, it’s a liquid lip color that claims to last up to 18 hours and also claims to be waterproof, kiss-proof and smudge-proof. It used to come in a staggering 70 different shades, but they just discontinued a bunch of shades and now only offer 33, which is still a lot.

What? Sounds too good to be true, doesn’t it?

LipSense had a booth at The Makeup Show Orlando last month and I spent some time talking with one of the distributors about it and she swatched a shade on the back of my hand. That swatch lasted all dang day! I really had to scrub to get it off when I got home that evening.

Fast-forward a few weeks… I got the opportunity to try and review LipSense here on the blog. I got to choose the shade I wanted to try, which is nice (sometimes companies just send you whatever and you have to make do).

The set I received included:

LipSense lip color in Caramel Latte, Moisturizing Gloss, and their Ooops! Color Remover. These products retail for $25, $20 and $10, respectively. So that would be $55 for the set of 3. It seems a little spendy, but most high end liquid lip colors these days are in the $20-$30 range anyway.

LipSense is also cruelty-free, vegan friendly, gluten-free, and Kosher.

Here’s how you’re supposed to apply this product:

  • Apply 3 layers of color to clean, dry lips, waiting 5-10 seconds between each layer (you’re supposed to swipe on in one fluid motion, not go back and forth). You can also pre-line your lips with coordinating lipliner if you want.
  • Apply the Moisturizing Gloss to keep your lips from drying out

You’re supposed to reapply the gloss every now and then throughout the day to keep your lips hydrated and keep the color sealed. Other than that… that’s it!

Lip Color

The lip colors come in three different finishes: Matte, Shimmer & Frost. The shade I have, Caramel Latte, is a shimmer finish, but once you apply the gloss over it, it’s really kind of moot point as it has a glossy finish in the end.

Glossy Gloss

I was pretty impressed by that swatch on the back of my hand in Orlando, but how would this stuff perform on my actual lips?

The shade Caramel Latte is a warm kind of pinky brown shade. I’m still on that’s 90s brown lip revival train, so I’m still digging lip colors like that.

Caramel Latte swatch – This is 3 layers of color


When applying the lip color, it does actually tingle/sting slightly, but nothing super painful. The lip color contains SD40 alcohol, which is a cosmetic grade alcohol, which works to clean and exfoliate your lips. The sensation fades quickly and goes completely away once the gloss is applied.

Standard doe foot applicator


So I put this stuff to the test last weekend. My boyfriend’s band had a gig, so I knew I’d be out all night, eating, drinking and whatnot. We had dinner before the gig… the lip color didn’t budge after a full meal. At the bar where the gig was at, I had a couple drinks… the lip color didn’t budge. Kissed my boyfriend a few times… lip color didn’t budge. Snacks on the drive home? Yep… lip color didn’t budge. I had it on for around a total of 10 hours and it didn’t budge or fade at all. I did reapply the gloss a few times during the night, but that’s what your supposed to do anyway. I did no touch-ups to the lip color itself. When I got home, I used the Ooops! Color Remover to  take it off (it’s an oil that breaks down the color… just swipe it on your lips, then wipe away with a cotton pad).

Ooops! Color Remover

Does it really work? YES! Does it live up to the hype? Again… YES! LipSense totally blew my mind. And it takes a LOT to really wow me when it comes to makeup. This stuff totally blew my socks off, I was that impressed. And I do plan on purchasing at least a couple more shades.

If you’re interested in giving LipSense a try… the distributor, Kate,  who hooked me up with these products, is offering you guys a 10% discount if you place an order with her. To take advantage of this discount, you just need to send her a DM on Instagram (you can find her at lovely.lips.by.kate), tell her you found her through The Makeup Case, and she’ll help you get an order placed with that 10% discount.

Ok that should do it for today! Have you tried LipSense or have you been thinking about giving it a try? Tell me your thoughts below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading and I’ll see you guys again soon in my next post!

8 thoughts on “LipSense: Does It Really Work? Is the Hype Real? A Review from a Non-Distributor

  1. I’ve heard about LipSense but haven’t been that interested because I’m not a fan of hardcore lip products that don’t budge – they often feel like I put industrial strength paint on my lips! 😛 I much prefer sheer lip tints / balms.
    Glad this worked well for you!

    Like

  2. I’ve heard of LipSense but I always passed over it or didn’t look much into it. I figured it was just another product distributers were trying to push similar to the fit tea and wraps. I’m generally not into those types of products because I hate to feel pressured into buying something that I honestly know nothing about. Thanks for giving us your honest review, I would have never thought twice about LipSense.

    Like

    • I know, right? I know some distributors can be big on the hard sell and try to pressure you. Some will make up stories that when you use this product you can use ONLY that, every day. Or make up some BS about years of wax buildup on your lips. You do need to use their gloss to seal in the lip color though. Apparently they’re formulated to work together like that. If you put another gloss or balm over it, it would negate the long-wear.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve tried LipSense since my friend used to be a distributor. The product really burned my lips when I applied it but the color was nice. I got a light pink shade and it stayed on pretty well. I love the product they have to remove mistakes- works like a charm with other liquid lipsticks.

    Like

  4. Very interesting! I’ve heard a lot about Lipsense lately, especially because I’m getting married and a lot of distributors are pushing Lipsense products to brides on this local wedding Facebook group I joined. I didn’t think much of it because like you said, it was just distributors saying how great the product is, which is difficult to trust.
    It’s great to hear that Lipsense actually works! You didn’t find it drying at all?

    Like

Leave a Comment

