Review: 42 Dubonnet Fringe Mascara

Hey guys! Happy Friday! Got anything fun planned this weekend?

For today’s post, I have a review for you on the Fringe Mascara from 42 Dubonnet. I got this product in my press goodie bag at The Makeup Show Orlando, but I am under no obligation to talk about it (even though I am). All opinions are my own and as always, totally honest.

So you ready? Let’s get going!

I’m sure most of you probably have not heard of 42 Dubonnet. They’re a newer, indie brand that was founded by a mother-daughter team, Ann and Lauren, who are based in Miami Beach. I met them both at their booth at The Makeup Show; they were super nice and I enjoyed talking with them for a bit. The brand is inspired by 1920’s Art Deco (which I’m also a big fan of myself). They’re also a cruelty-free brand, which is always a bonus.

As I mentioned earlier, this mascara was in my goodie bag from The Makeup Show and is a product pro makeup artist James Vincent had good things to say about during the press preview (if a pro makeup artist talks up a product, you know it’s probably good).

So let’s talk about this mascara! It retails for $24. Here are some claims according to their website:

  • Highly-pigmented blackest-black
  • Smudge-proof
  • Rich formula
  • Long-lasting
  • Flake-free
  • Made with Keratin to nourish and thicken lashes

First up… the little box thing the mascara tube comes in… how gorgeous is that design? When they say they’re inspired by 20’s Art Deco they’re not fooling around! I’ve kept this little box because I love the design on it so much.

The mascara tube itself is pretty basic, but I saw on their Instagram they’re getting custom labels made up in that awesome Art Deco design, which I’m excited for.

The brush on the mascara wand doesn’t look like anything special. Looks like your everyday, unassuming, typical mascara wand. Don’t let it fool you. This brush is actually full of black magic and voodoo (ok not really but…). The formula of this mascara isn’t too wet and not too dry. it’s kind of in the middle. I normally prefer drier mascaras as they’re easier to work with and less potential for mess.

First time I used this mascara, I didn’t see anything too special after the initial coat. It didn’t clump my lashes together and the brush coated my lashes with product decently, which is always good. Then I went in for a second coat… that’s where the magic starts. My lashes looked fuller and stood out more. I love it when a mascara does that. I also love that it doesn’t make my lashes feel stiff/crunchy. Probably have the Keratin in the formula to thank for that.

So how does it wear? It lasts all day without smudging or flaking off. I have somewhat sensitive eyes and wear contact lenses and this mascara does not bother my eyes at all, which is a must for me. So big YAY for that!

I think it’s safe to say that I am really enjoying this mascara way more than I was expecting to. I definitely recommend checking it out if  you’re in the market for a new mascara. It’s a little spendy, but I’ve bought high end mascaras for the same price (or more) that have done less. I’d purchase this with my own money once I run out of the tube I have.

Ok that should do it for today! Have you heard of 42 Dubonnet? Does this mascara pique your interest? Tell me your thoughts below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading and your support. I hope you have a fantabulous weekend and I’ll see you again soon in my next post!

5 thoughts on “Review: 42 Dubonnet Fringe Mascara

Leave a Comment

