I’m Going to The Makeup Show Orlando!

Hey guys! Happy Friday! Got anything fun planned this weekend?

I do. And if you haven’t guessed from the title of this post, well…

I’m going to The Makeup Show Orlando this weekend!

Want to learn a bit more about this makeup trade show? Keep on reading…

The Makeup Show is the largest pro-only makeup event in the United States. That’s right, unlike IMATS, where beauty enthusiasts can attend, in order to attend The Makeup Show, you have to be a professional in the beauty or fashion industry or be attending beauty school. And you have to show your credentials at the door to be allowed in (they do check). However, they do let some bloggers in as press/media, and that’s how I’m able to attend since I’m not a professional makeup artist or any of that.

This is my first ever beauty-related event and I’m really excited to be able to attend. Events like IMATS, BeautyCon and Generation Beauty are never held in Florida (I think there’s an IMATS in Miami, but that’s too far away for me). But Orlando is a 90 minute drive away and I go there regularly for the theme parks and whatnot, so that’ll be easy-peasy lemon squeezy! Even though I’m not a professional in the beauty industry, I’m still interested in learning about upcoming trends and techniques in regards to makeup. Just because I don’t have a license doesn’t mean I don’t want to know how to do this stuff. I want my own makeup to look like it was done by a pro.

So what am I looking forward to while I’m attending The Makeup Show?

Well, I definitely plan on checking out some of the workshops they’ll have planned that will talk about makeup not just for beauty but for special FX and fantasy, like for movies, TV and theatre. That has always fascinated me and the process of putting together stuff like that is really fun to watch and understand how complex it can be.

Photo: The Makeup Show

Photo: The Makeup Show

I’m also looking forward to networking with those in the beauty industry. I have a pipe dream of doing this beauty blogging thing as a full time job or get the opportunity to collab with a beauty brand (why not do something you love and get paid to do it?), and what better way to try expanding my reader base? I have business cards all printed up at the ready. Never hurts to try, right?

And of course I’m looking forward to…. discount makeup shopping! Some of my favorite beauty brands as well as brands that have been on my wishlist of wanting to try will be at The Makeup Show, and will have their products on sale anywhere from 30% to 50% off! Hoping I can get my hands on some items that sell out quickly at Ulta and Sephora. What brands will be there? To name a few: Kat Von D, NYX, Smashbox, Kevyn Aucoin, Crown Brushes, Bdellium Tools, Make Up For Ever, LA Splash, Mehron… and lots more! I’m excited to check it all out!

Photo: The Makeup Show

I’ll be posting updates of my day on  my Instagram and Twitter, so be sure to be following along if you’d like to get a look at a first-hand experience attending an event like this. And if you’re attending as well and you happen to see me, don’t be afraid to come over and say hello! I love meeting my subscribers/followers! 🙂

6 thoughts on “I’m Going to The Makeup Show Orlando!

  1. I’m so excited for you! 😀
    Yes, just because you don’t have a license, doesn’t mean you don’t know your stuff!
    The workshops look incredible. And that’s awesome you have your business card ready – of course it doesn’t hurt to network!
    Enjoy your time there! Can’t wait to hear… and see what you haul!

    Like

Leave a Comment

