Review & Swatches: ColourPop Ultra Satin Liquid Lipstick

Hey guys! How’s it going?

I got a review for you today on the ColourPop Ultra Satin Liquid Lipsticks I recently ordered. So let’s just jump right into it, shall we?

I own a handful of liquid lipsticks but I hardly ever use them because even though the colors are gorgeous and have great staying power, most of them start feeling uncomfortable on my lips after a few hours, unless I wear a gloss on top or slather on the lip balm underneath.

But then it was last year that ColourPop came out with their Ultra Satin liquid lipsticks. Satin is actually my preferred lipstick finish. Good staying power but doesn’t dry your lips out. I was a little wary though because of the liquid lipstick formula, but I saw nothing but good reviews of them on YouTube and on other blogs. So when I finally placed another order with ColourPop last month, I decided to get a couple to try out and see for myself.

I got one of the Ultra Matte liquid lipsticks last year in Bumble, which is a really pretty terracotta shade. Loved the color… hated the formula. It was so drying on me I had to take it off after maybe 30 minutes. But I know some who love the Ultra Matte formula so to each their own, right?

Anyhow, the two shades I got in the Ultra Satin formula are Frick N Frack and Baracuda.

Top: Frick N Frack; Bottom: Baracuda

Frick N Frack is described on the ColourPop site as a “rosy terracotta”. I thought it was going to be basically the same shade as Bumble, but it’s not. Bumble is more of an orangey-toned terracotta shade. Frick N Frack is definitely a more pink/rose-hued terracotta. And that’s not a bad thing at all.

Frick N Frack

Baracuda (their spelling) is described on the ColourPop side as a “warm deepened rose” is pretty much spot on. It is a really pretty shade that’s a bit darker than I normally go, but I like changing it up every now and then.

Baracuda

The applicator is your pretty standard doe foot. Both of these shades have great pigmentation and are pretty much opaque with just one swipe across the lips. They do dry down to a true satin finish.

So how do they feel on the lips? Very comfortable. Feels the same as a regular bullet lipstick with a satin finish, which is impressive. I’m very happy about that.

And how about wear-time? OMG… extremely impressive! Now remember these don’t dry down fully matte so they’re not transfer-proof. But I’ve been able to go through light snacks/drinking through a straw without needing to touch up. I’ve even eaten an entire meal and still have my lip color be 75% intact afterward. And touching up is so much better with these satin ones compared to matte liquid lips because again, they don’t fully dry down so they don’t crumble/flake on you or get goopy/clumpy when you re-apply/touch up. So again… very impressive!

Swatches anyone? Excuse the kind of messiness. I was trying to be different/cute by drawing hearts for my swatches. But I honestly suck at drawing even something simple as a heart so… LOL!

Left: Frick N Frack; Right: Baracuda

So yeah, I really like these Ultra Satin liquid lipsticks and I might get more in the future. They retail for just $6 each, so they’re definitely easy on the wallet. ColourPop is also a cruelty-free brand, in case you were wondering. If you don’t like the feel of matte liquid lipsticks but still like the idea of a liquid lipstick, I definitely recommend checking these out.

Ok that should do it for today! Have you tried these satin finish liquid lippies from ColourPop? If so do you like them? What shades do you own? Are they on your wishlist? Sound off below in the comments!

As always, thank you all so much for reading. I’ll see you again soon in my next post!

11 thoughts on “Review & Swatches: ColourPop Ultra Satin Liquid Lipstick

  1. Hi! I love colourpop and i agree with the ultra matte formula its too drying on the lips! I love the ultra satin and lippie sticks of the ultra satin range i have lying king, dopey and panda

    Like

  2. Glad these turned out well! I hate matte lips – I just prefer having some slip to my lip products. Do you wear a lip balm before you apply these? You’re tempting me to try this formula – long wear AND comfortable? Count me in!
    Hey, your hearts look just fine! Very cute! ❀

    Like

  3. Very pretty shades! The hearts came out good. πŸ™‚ I think Echo Park is a satin formula and I really love the color (warm peachy nude). It’s a bit drying for me but not uncomfortable and lip balm always helps.

    Like

  4. I haven’t tried anything from Colorpop yet so just yesterday I was contemplating whether I should order some of their liquid lipsticks are shadows online. Satin is my fav finish too and now I’m really tempted to place that order especially since staying power is key for me when it comes to lip products.
    Great post and lovely choice of lip shades.
    Hajara | Chocolatefrosst Xx

    Like

Leave a Comment

