Review: Japonesque Cleanser & Complexion Sponge Set – Beauty Blender Dupe?

Hey guys! Happy Friday! Got anything fun planned for the weekend?

Today I have a review for you on the Japonesque Cleanser & Complexion Sponge Set. Are we looking at a potential Beauty Blender dupe?

img_3659

Keep reading to find out!

Ok so if you’ve been reading my blog recently, you’ll know I picked this set up in my latest Ulta Haul. I had been keeping an eye out for it because I saw YouTuber Casey Holmes use it in some of her videos and she mentioned how much she liked it. Lots of brands are coming out with their own makeup sponges now. I’d never tried anything from Japonesque before but I’d heard good things about their makeup brushes (they feel really soft from the testers I’ve played with at Ulta). And the hunt is always on for a good dupe for the iconic Beauty Blender.

This set comes with 2 sponges – a big one and a smaller one, plus a mini size of their goat milk cleansing balm.

The bigger sponge, when dry, is much bigger than a fully dry Beauty Blender. It’s soft and squishy, but it does have some give to it. Once you get it wet, the sponge becomes a little bigger (bigger than a fully expanded/damp Beauty Blender) and it also becomes even softer and much more squishy. It feels a lot like a damp Beauty Blender.

Dry (and filthy) Beauty Blender on the left, dry Japonesque sponge on the right. You can see the Japonesque sponge is bigger.

Dry (and filthy) Beauty Blender on the left, dry Japonesque sponge on the right. You can see the Japonesque sponge is bigger.

Damp (and clean) Beauty Blender on the left, damp Japonesque sponge on the right. The Japonesque sponge is still bigger (more rounded on the bottom).

Damp (and clean) Beauty Blender on the left, damp Japonesque sponge on the right. The Japonesque sponge is still bigger (more rounded on the bottom).

The smaller size sponge in the set is MUCH bigger than a Beauty Blender Micro Mini. I think it might be more around the size of the Beauty Blender Blusher (which is designed to apply/blend cream/liquid blush/bronzer/highlight). I haven’t tried this sponge yet (I hardly use the Beauty Blender Micro Mini), but I’ll get to eventually.

Beauty Blender Micro Mini on the left, smaller Japonesque sponge on the right (both dry). As you can see, the smaller Japonesque sponge is MUCH bigger.

Beauty Blender Micro Mini on the left, smaller Japonesque sponge on the right (both dry). As you can see, the smaller Japonesque sponge is MUCH bigger.

Oh and both of these sponges are latex-free, just in case you were wondering.

I’ve used this bigger sponge a few times now. So how does it work when applying foundation? Really nicely. It doesn’t seem to absorb a lot of product and it blends things out really well without looking patchy, streaky or generally uneven. It gives pretty seamless application. It also does a great job blending out concealer. I like applying loose setting powder to set my foundation with a damp sponge as well and that worked nicely too. Overall, all products I’ve applied with this sponge has basically been identical to the Beauty Blender. Yep. I said identical to the Beauty Blender. Very impressive. It washes up pretty easy too.

Now how about that cleanser? It’s a solid balm and made with goat’s milk. Ok. I like it’s in a little plastic container. Makes for easy storage. It has a very pleasant scent that’s not overpowering. It can be used to clean your makeup brushes as well as your sponges. You just wet the balm, wet your brush/sponge and swirl it around the cleanser until it’s clean, then rinse with water. I tried the cleanser with both brushes and sponges and it works pretty well for both. But this mini size is a little too small for the sponges, so I’ll stick with my usual baby shampoo for cleaning those.

img_3707

This  set retails for $18, which is a pretty decent value considering you’re getting 2 sponges and a cleanser. Just a regular Beauty Blender by itself retails for $20. And if you find this set at Ulta, I found out you can use their $3.50 off $15 coupon on Japonesque products. I looked on Japonesque’s website and you can only get these sponges in this set, they’re not sold individually.

Do I recommend checking this set out if you can get your hands on it? Absolutely. I am very impressed with the big sponge and would totally call it a dupe for the Beauty Blender.

Ok that should do it for today! Have you tried this sponge? Is it on your wishlist?

As always, thank you all so much for reading. I hope you have a wonderful weekend and I’ll see you again soon in my next post!

8 thoughts on “Review: Japonesque Cleanser & Complexion Sponge Set – Beauty Blender Dupe?

  1. I think I’ve started to develop an allergy to latex (bra straps with those clear sticky strips leaving welts on my skin!) so it’s good to know that these are latex-free.
    The Japonesque sponges look really good and cheaper than the Beauty Blender – I also like the idea of a bigger / fatter sponge. 😀

    Like

Leave a Comment

