First Ulta Haul of 2017!

Hey guys! How was your weekend? Do anything fun?

For today’s post, I have my first Ulta haul of 2017! I’ve been trying to behave and not go overboard with makeup shopping. It’ll make the hauls a bit more special, you know?

img_3655

What to see what I got? Keep on reading…

Murad Acne Starter Kit 

I’ve been having some issues with random breakouts lately, which is weird because I take pretty good care of my skin (I  always take my makeup off at the end of the day and wash my face twice daily, etc.). I don’t have super sensitive skin and I’m not prone to breakouts. And… I’m in my 40s! I should’t be getting zits anymore. I mean… really?

img_3657

But I saw this kit and decided to get it to try. I have tried the Oil Control Mattifier (you can read my initial thoughts on it here), but I haven’t tried anything else from Murad. I’ve heard nothing but good things about this brand, so I’m hopeful this will help me out. The set comes with travel sizes of the Clarifying Cleanser, Acne Clearing Solution, Acne Spot Fast Fix, and the Oil Control Mattifier. I’ll be sure to do a follow up post to let you know if these products work for me or not.

Japonesque Complexion Sponge & Cleanser Set

img_3659

I’d actually been looking for this for awhile. YouTuber Casey Holmes has said in several of her videos how much she likes the Japonesque Sponge and that it works just as good as a real deal Beauty Blender. This set comes with a regular size and smaller size sponge as well as a solid brush/sponge cleanser. I’m super excited to try this out and see how it really compares to the Beauty Blender (because so far nothing really has for me) and report back to you on my findings.

Mario Badescu Facial Spray with Aloe, Herbs & Rosewater

img_3658

I actually got this to keep in my makeup bag in my purse. I’d been keeping the NYX Matte Finish setting spray in there to use as a skin/makeup refresher on the go. I picked up a bottle of this spray from Mario Badescu at Nordstrom Rack a couple months ago and ended up loving it. It smells like roses (makes sense since one of the ingredients is rosewater) and does a great job refreshing my makeup and making my skin feel hydrated when I’m out and about. I even take it with me when I’m out invading the theme parks (it’s a great pick me up on a hot, humid day – helps cool you down a little). You can also use it as a setting spray for makeup. It’s not expensive either. A small 2 oz. bottle costs $5, a 4 oz. bottle is $7, and an 8 oz. bottle is $12. I just saw they just came out with an aloe, cucumber & green tea version of this spray. I might check that out sometime.

NYX Gel Liner in Dark Brown

img_3661

Last year I got the Maybelline Eye Studio gel liner in brown, but for me it wasn’t dark enough. So I saw this dark brown one from NYX and it looks to be just what I’ve been after. Sometimes I get tired of black on my upper lashline and want something a little different (especially when doing a minimal eye look – black can be a little too harsh). I’ve been using my Urban Decay pencil liner in Stag for those days I want a brown liner, but I’m almost done with it.

Stila Magnificent Metals Glitter & Glow Liquid Eyeshadow in Diamond Dust

img_3660

Wow that’s a mouthful! Yeah you know about these. They’re all the rage in the beauty world right now and everyone it talking about them. Ulta had 3 of the 8 shades they carry in stock (there are 4 more that are exclusive to Stila’s website, making 12 total), but I ended up getting just Diamond Dust as it was the one of the 3 available I liked best (they also had Smodering Satin and Molten Midnight). I seriously can NOT wait to play with this baby. And of course I’ll let you guys know my thoughts on this sparkly shadow as well.

And that’s everything!

Have you tried any of these products or are any on your wishlist? Tell me below in the comments

As always, thank you all so much for reading! I’ll see you again soon in my next post!

13 thoughts on “First Ulta Haul of 2017!

  1. I have the Mario Badescu rosewater mist and really like it! Their Drying Lotion really does work on healing blemishes too, despite the ridiculousness of having these light pink dots on your face…

    I also have issues with oily t-zone and occasional acne around the nose and/or chin. One thing that I feel has really helped reduce the frequency of occurrence is daily application of the Paula’s Choice 2% Salicylic Acid Liquid Exfoliant. It also comes in a gel and a lotion formula, but the reviews say the liquid format is best so that’s what I chose. The pores on my nose look a little smaller too!

    Like

    • What’s weird is I usually use the Clean & Clear spot treatment with no issues aside from it drying out the small patches of skin where I apply it. But last week I put stuff on before bed (usually by morning the blemish is a lot smaller or totally gone) and in the morning some were gone and others were even worse! WTH? So weird.

      Like

  2. My skin has been acting up lately too. I think it’s a combination of stress and hormones. Who knows… ugh. I hope that Murad kit helps you! I’ve been slapping on the BHA but that dries the heck out of my skin so I put on something more hydrating, and it’s a vicious cycle.
    I always wear dark brown liners for day to day – I find black too harsh for me.
    That Stila liquid eye shadow is insane – I saw swatches and they look like molten metal! Can’t wait to see your thoughts on it. Awesome haul!

    Like

Leave a Comment

