First Empties Post of 2017 + An Announcement

Hey guys! How was your weekend? Do anything fun?

Before I get started today, I wanted to share a bit of news with you guys…

I’m going to be at The Makeup Show Orlando next month!

The Makeup Show is different from other beauty cons. It’s strictly for professionals and students in the beauty industry. You have to have your license or prove you’re in beauty school. The general public is not allowed like at similar shows like IMATS. However, they do let some beauty bloggers and other media in as press, and that’s how I’m able to go. I’m really excited as they’ll have keynote speakers, hands-on workshops, seminars and more about the latest and upcoming beauty trends. And of course… discount makeup shopping! Brands such as Smashbox, NYX, Make Up For Ever, Kevyn Aucion, Kat Von D and more will be there. I’ll be posting updates of my day on social media, so be sure to follow along! And if you’re lucky enough to be attending the show as well and you happen to spot me… come on over and say hello!

Ok now onto today’s post. Got my first stash of empties for you for 2017. Got a little of everything again this time around. You ready? Let’s get going!

Garnier Fructis Anti-Humidity Hairspray

img_3601

You know this is my favorite hairspray. It really does work and holds up in humidity up to around 90%. I’ve gone through countless cans of this.

Repurchase? – You bet! As long as Garnier makes it, I’ll keep buying it.

Epielle Green Tea Makeup Wipes

Again, another favorite I’ve gone through countless packs of. They do a decent job removing makeup and don’t break me out. I also love how affordable they are (pack of 30 wipes for $1 or a big pack of 60 for $2).

Repurchase? – You know it! I’ll keep buying these as long as I can get my hands on them.

Skinfood Peach Sake Toner

I was on the hunt for a new toner to try when I saw this at Ulta. The packaging is so adorable since it looks like a bottle of sake. And even though it’s pricey ($15), it’s a good toner if you have oily or combo skin as it helps control the production of excess sebum and mattifies the skin. And it smells like peaches!

Repurchase? – Maybe. I have another bottle of toner I’m currently using, but once that’s done I might get a new bottle of the Skinfood.

img_3602

Garnier SkinActive Moisture Rescue Gel-Creme for Normal to Combo Skin

My favorite drugstore moisturizer. I love it’s a gel as it absorbs quickly into the skin (a must if you have oily or combo skin), but keeps my skin feeling hydrated.

Repurchase? – Again, yes. As long as I can get my hands on it, I will repurchase.

Cinema Secrets Makeup Brush Cleaner

I love this stuff. It makes brush cleaning day so much less of a chore! It cleans and disinfects my brushes so fast. When you can clean 20-30 brushes in around 10 minutes? Easy-peasy lemon squeezy! My only complaint is it’s expensive!

Repurchase? – Maybe

img_3603

Face Secrets Makeup Brush Cleaner

You can find this at Sally Beauty and I heard it works just as well as the Cinema Secrets brush cleaner… and it costs a lot less. You know what? It does work just as well as the former.

Repurchase? – For sure

Lancome Teint Idole Ultra 24 Hour Foundation

This is kind of similar to my holy grail Estee Lauder Double Wear. It provides full coverage, matte finish and is long-wearing. But the consistency is thicker than the Double Wear. It’s also about $10 more than the Double Wear too. But it is a nice foundation and I like it quite well.

Repurchase? – Maybe

Dermablend Loose Setting Powder

This is my new holy grail high end setting powder. I still can’t believe how I never see anyone talk about it because it is really good. It’s lightweight, does a great job setting any foundation and doesn’t give off backflash. It’s also the most affordable high end loose powder I’ve come across ($27 for 28 g/1 oz of product… the Laura Mercier is almost $10 more for the same amount of product).

Repurchase? – Absolutely

img_3604

Rimmel Stay Matte Primer

This is a decent drugstore primer if you have oily or combo skin. I’ve gone through a couple tubes of it. It does a fair job keeping the skin matte and helping makeup last longer. But sometimes it causes small breakouts on me, which is weird.

Repurchase? – Probably not

Makeup Revolution Pro Fix Oil Control Fixing Spray

I love this setting spray. I think it works just as well as the one from Urban Decay. I’ve gone through a few bottles of this already.

Repurchase? – Yes

NYX Butter Gloss in Angel Food Cake

This is the first shade in the Butter Gloss I ever got and it’s still my favorite. It’s a nice “my lips but better” shade. It’s not overly sticky like some glosses are.

Repurchase? – I have another I already bought awhile back. Once that one is used up I’ll probably get another.

ELF Instant Lift Brow Pencil in Neutral Brown

This is probably my favorite drugstore brow pencil. It only costs a few dollars, the color is an almost perfect match for my brows and does a good job filling in and my brows quickly. It’s surprisingly pigmented so you do need a light hand or you can easily go overboard. But other than that, it’s great. I also love it only costs a few dollars. I’ve gone through a couple of these now.

Repurchase? – Yes and I just recently got a new one too.

Sephora Bright Future Serum Concealer

This is a medium coverage concealer. It’s nice, but the packaging is not my favorite. When you pull the wand out, it somehow sucks off a lot of the product off the applicator, so it seems like it’s a very dry concealer (which it is not). You have to repeatedly go into the tube to get more product out.

Repurchase? – No

Lorac Behind the Scenes Eyeshadow Primer

This is a little deluxe mini that came with one of my Lorac palettes. I’ve gone through 2 or 3 of these little ones before. This is a good eye primer if you have normal to dry eyelids. Not sure how well it would work if you have oily lids.

Repurchase? – I’ve actually never purchased a full size yet, but, maybe.

MAC False Lashes Mascara

This is a little sample size I got with a MAC order. I actually kept it in my purse for those days when I didn’t have time in the morning to put on mascara (so I’d do it int he bathroom at work once I got there). It’s an ok mascara but it’s not anything special. Good enough for the purpose I was using it for.

Repurchase? – No

Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara

This is a really nice drugstore mascara. The formula is kind of wet though and I actually liked it better once it dried out a bit since I usually prefer drier mascaras (less mess potential in my experience). Several have said it’s basically a dupe for the Benefit Roller Lash. I haven’t tried that one myself so I can’t compare. But I do like it.

Repurchase? – Eventually. I have so many other mascaras I want to get through first though.

You still here? Congratulations! You made it to the end.

So there you have it! Have you tried any of these products? If so did you like any of them? Tell me your thoughts below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading! I’ll see you again soon in my next post!

7 thoughts on “First Empties Post of 2017 + An Announcement

  1. YAY! I’m so happy you’re going to the Makeup Show! I remember you saying you wanted to attend a makeup show – how awesome! I can’t wait to see what you pick up there.
    I’m going to try that Garnier Fructis Anti-Humidity Hairspray – I’ve been wanting to branch out from my usual Tresemme.
    May I ask how you apply loose setting powder? With a brush or a sponge / flocked applicator? I’ve been testing using a flat sponge and I quite like the effect. And less messy too.
    I love that Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara! I agree, it’s not as good fresh.
    Great job on all the empties!a

    Like

Leave a Comment

