Review: Tarte Tarteist Clay Paint Liner

Hey guys! How’s it going?

I got a review today for you on the Tarteist Clay Paint Liner from Tarte.

img_3523

You ready? Let’s get started!

Ok so I picked this liner up last month as I decided I wanted to take a break from my usual Essence gel liner and try something new. This one had piqued my interest for awhile, so I finally bit the bullet and got it. I’d heard mixed reviews and I wanted to see for myself if it’s as good/bad as others have said.

So let’s start with some product info like usual:

What it is:
An innovative, waterproof cream eyeliner with a unique blending tip that is inspired by an artist’s palette.

What it does:
Think outside the lines when you define eyes like a pro with Tarte’s clay paint liner. Inspired by the ease of an artist’s palette, this one-of-a-kind, squeezable cream liner offers a seamless, no-budge application—simply squeeze, line, and define. The unique formula features fewer waxes, cushioned pigments, and a special development process that allows for the creamiest texture and smoothest application. The tube was created with an innovative artistic delivery system, a tapered tip, and a flat blending stage so you can simply pick up the ideal amount of product and blend for foolproof perfection. The sketcher-angled bamboo liner brush easily glides the plush, triple-black, formula along the contours of the eyelid. Featuring the same waterproof, 12-hour wear as Tarte’s signature clay pot liners, this next-generation liner has cushion slide technology that lets you custom create your own signature lines without ever pulling or transferring.

This liner retail for $24 for 0.21 oz/6 g of product. It comes in 3 shades – Black, Gold, and Silver. I got just plain old Black. The little tube the product comes in is nice. It comes with a brush, but I don’t care for that particular style of brush, so I just use one of my trusty angled liner brushes instead.

img_3516

When you squeeze the product out the first time, it can take awhile for it to come to the top of the tube. You also need to be careful, because if you squeeze too hard, you can make a mess as when the liner does come out, a lot can come out at once. So yeah there’s a small learning curve with this one.

I like the little “blending stage” at the top of the tube. It makes getting product on the brush easy and doesn’t make a mess.

img_3519

So… how does this liner apply? Not to bad at all. It’s best to start with a little product then build up because you can go overboard easy if you get too much on your brush. It’s a lot like liquid liner – gotta be cool around it because it can sense your fear. But it applies smooth with no tugging. Pigmentation is good. It dries to a matte finish.

img_3524

Now, how does it wear? Just fine. On me, it lasts all day. It doesn’t flake, smudge/smear or fade. At the end of the day, it comes off easy enough with a makeup wipe, micellar water, eye makeup remover or cleanser.

Overall, I’m impressed with this liner. Will I repurchase when I run out? I just might. I saw Tarte has a gel liner that comes in a pot, so I might want to try that one first.

If you’ve been thinking about giving this liner a try, I say go for it. You might end up liking it. Or not. Only one way to find out, right?

Ok that should do it for today! What’s your current favorite eyeliner? tell me about it below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading and your support. I’ll see you again soon in my next post!

6 thoughts on “Review: Tarte Tarteist Clay Paint Liner

Leave a Comment

