Anti-Haul: Over-hyped Beauty Products I Won’t Be Purchasing

Hey guys! How’s it going?

Today I thought I’d do something a little different and do an anti-haul post. What’s an anti-haul, you might be wondering? Well, it’s basically beauty products I feel are over-hyped and I won’t be purchasing.

anti-haul

Are you ready?

Now, some of these products you may agree with me on and some you may not. And that’s ok. This post is all my personal opinion and if you disagree with me, that’s fine. If we all liked the same things, this world would be a very boring place. You have your opinions and I have mine. It’s all good.

Ok so let’s get started!

Too Faced Sweet Peach Palettesweet-peach

When this palette first came out last year, I wanted it. And badly. But it sold out so quickly it was insane. I did get to swatch it a couple times in stores even though it was sold out and I liked what I swatched and I loved how it smelled like gummy peach candy. Then Too Faced announced they were going to re-release it due to the demand. At first I was super excited. But then I just lost interest in it for some reason.

Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance Palette

abh-mr

This is another I wanted at first, but the desire for it wore off after awhile from being sold out for a long time. And after awhile I realized the colors also just don’t really appeal to me that much (too much red) and I know I have some similar shades in other palettes and single shadows.

Laura Mercier Loose Setting Powder

laura-mercier-powder

It seems like almost everyone on YouTube uses this powder to set their foundation and/or under eye area. I’ve heard mixed reviews of this powder. When I’ve played with it in Sephora, I just wasn’t all that impressed with it. But on the flipside, I do love their pressed translucent matte setting powder. I like setting both my undereye and my entire face with it.

Tarte Shape Tape Concealer

tarte-shape-tape

I might get lynched for this one. Everyone goes on and on about how good it is. I just can’t justify the price for high end concealers. I mean, when a concealer costs almost as much as a foundation… or even more than a foundation, that’s just crazy to me. I can find drugstore concealers that do what I need them to do. Other than that, if you’ve been reading my blog for awhile, you’ll know I’m a fan of Tarte otherwise and own several pf their products (hell, their Rainforest of the Sea foundation made my January favorites, so there’s that).

Lancome Rose Highlighter

lancome

This is the latest product to be getting a lot of hype. Does it look gorgeous? Of course it does! To me it just seems really gimmicky and something I just wouldn’t want to use to ruin it. I’d just want it to sit on my vanity and look pretty. And that would be kind of a waste.

Kylie Cosmetics

kylie1

I’m just going to say this now even though I’ll probably get some flack for it. I can’t stand the Jenner/Kardashian family. Seriously can not stand them at all. I just don’t understand why and how these girls are as “famous” as they are. They all seem so completely fake to me. So that being said, I will never purchase anything that is associated with anyone in that family. Kylie’s lip kits are grossly overpriced to me and her eye palettes are just too basic and don’t look like anything special.

And that should do it! Again, these are just my opinions and if you love any of these products, then more power to you.

What current beauty products do you think are over-hyped? Tell me your thoughts below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading and your support. I’ll see you guys again soon in my next post! ๐Ÿ™‚

17 thoughts on “Anti-Haul: Over-hyped Beauty Products I Won’t Be Purchasing

  1. I actually really love my sweet peach palette! All the shades really work with my skin tone, normally nude shades are too light for me. I definitely feel you on the rose highlighter, it’s so gimmicky and overpriced. Reminds me of the rose petal blush from last year.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I got my eyes on the first two that you’ve mentioned above but I will never purchase anything from the Kylie collection. Not a hater here but I just don’t feel the need to support her. Do you think she even uses her collection?? I doubt it. There’s more amazing products out there way better and even more affordable than her line. (Just my opinion anyway) โœŒ๐Ÿป

    Like

  3. I love the anti-haul movement! I might do one of these myself. But I just might end up listing all the items you’ve listed like the Too Faced Sweet Peach Palette, Tarte Shape Tape Concealer, and YES on that Lancome Rose Highlighter!!! I saw a DIY of that highlighter online – such a damn gimmick. It’s fabric flower petals coated with highlighter powder. Also, I read that the Tarte conceal is super heavy and looks dry and accentuates lines – nope, not for me!
    No flack from me on this post!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Apart from the Lancรดme blush and the tarte concealer (which to be honest I wasn’t aware of) everything else have been products that I personally thought were over hyped. The hype around the peach palette is something I just can’t understand. Also the modern Renaissance I’m still contemplating about since the tone is perfect for my skintone. I use the loose setting powder from Laura mercier and love it( yes I gave into the hype).
    Toodles Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I have the peach palette and I love it but I agree it was waaayyy overhyped! Also I did try the Kylie lip kits and I definitely love them, buutt the new wet n wild catsuit lips are even better and a WHOLE lot cheaper!

    Like

  6. I pretty much agree on everything! I was drooling over the ABH palette for the longest time! but now I’m glad I never got it, the colors are gorgeous but I know I have shades like that, I’m all about warm tones, but I hardly ever use red(ish) eyeshadows. I also will never support the Kardashian/Jenner hype, and don’t think anything they come up is good quality, so nope.
    I have to admit that Lancome highlighter caught my eye, but my thoughts were pretty similar to yours… I would feel “bad” using it, so I might as well get a pretty flower to display on my vanity for much less that $60-something!
    I’m still undecided about the sweet peach palette and that Tarte concealer. I have very oily skin so I think the Shape tape might work well for me, and that palette just keeps calling my name! But since I don’t have access to any of them, I guess it’s a mute point! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  7. I know that Sweet Peach palette is so damned overhyped and I already have a million neutrals and peach shadows…but I still want it. Ugh, I get sucked into the whole gimmicky peach smell thing. However, I am reasonably assured that although I want it, I will probably just admire it from afar.

    That Lancome rose highlighter – WTF! When I first heard about it, I thought the entire rose was made out of highlighter and thought that was kind of cool. But a fake rose with highlighter sprinkled on top? No thanks. It IS pretty to look at, though.

    Like

Leave a Comment

