2016 Beauty Favorites – The Skin Care & Hair Care Edit

Hey guys! Happy Friday! Got anything fun planned this weekend?

best-of-beauty-2016-skin-hair

Today we got the skin care and hair care part of my 2016 beauty faves! If you missed the makeup part, you can read it here.

So strap yourselves in and let’s get going!

Let’s start with the skin care stuff. I got to try a handful of new brands in 2016. Some I liked… some I didn’t. And of course there were the usual suspects I’ll never turn my back on. The ones that made the grade are:

Charlotte LaCroix Renewal Eye Cream

IMG_9527

I was sent some products from Charlotte LaCroix as PR, but they honestly impressed me, especially their Renewal Eye Cream. It’s made with argan stem cells and other natural ingredients and does a really nice job keeping my eye area hydrated, which helps reduce the appearance of wrinkles and lines, making them look less pronounced. A little goes a long way, which is good because you get a LOT of product (1 fl oz in the bottle, which comes with a pump!)… and good because this stuff is pricey ($99 – yikes). But as long as you actually see results, then the price can be worth it.

OZ Naturals Hyaluronic Acid & Vitamin C Serum

IMG_2889

This is my favorite facial serum ever. Actually, I’m currently on my 3rd bottle! I think that says it all. I love how this serum is lightweight, absorbs super fast into the skin and seems to really help draw my other face products in deeper to help them work more effectively.

Soap & Glory Sugar Crush Body Buttercream & Body Lotion

img_1827

IMG_9307

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again… This stuff smells AMAZING. Both the body butter and the body lotion do a fantastic job making my skin feel soft and hydrated. I just love slathering it on and smelling like a margarita. LOL!

Cocoa Brown Tan Tough Stuff Body Scrub

IMG_7817

This product was made to help prep your skin if you self-tan, but even if you don’t, this body scrub is really great! Instead of those little, plastic scrubbie beads (which are not good), this scrub is made with ground pumice stone. I love using this once a week in the shower. It makes my skin feel so soft.

Jack Black Lip Balm

img_1821

I consider lip balm to be part of skin care, and the Jack Black lip balms are probably one of the best I’ve used so far. I’ve tried the original squeezy tube one and the newer stick version and I like both a lot. They also work great under matte lipsticks to help keep your lips feeling hydrated.

Sephora Green Tea Sheet Mask

IMG_5338

I love these so much. The green tea ones are for mattifying and anti-blemish, so it’s perfect for my combo skin, which still deals with the occasional breakouts (I’m in my 40’s and I still get zits… what’s wrong with this picture?). And it works! I’ve used this at night when I’ve had blemishes and the next morning they’ve either shrunk in size or disappeared completely. I hope Sephora never stops making these.

Ok onto the hair care goodies!

Hask Kalahari Melon Oil Collection

IMG_9631

I got sent this collection as PR and I ended up absolutely loving it. This collection is formulated for color-treated hair and is sulfate-free. All the products in this line smell amazing and did a great job of cleaning and conditioning my hair without fading or stripping the color. I use the Color Protection Shine Oil on my clip-in hair extensions as well as my natural hair. And I love that Hask is an affordable brand!

Redken Color Extend Magnetics Collection

img_1831

I’ve used Redken products on and off over the years. I like them a lot, but they can be a little spendy. I picked this line up when Ulta had Redken products buy 2, get 1 free. I love that again, these products are sulfate-free and help protect my hair color. I use the hair mask once a week and it’s definitely helped my hair look less fried.

Batiste Dry Shampoo

IMG_0292

I tried a few different scents than my usual Wild one and I liked them all! They all work the exact same. I still like the Wild scent a lot, but came to like the Bare and Fresh scents quite a bit too. Batiste is really one of the best dry shampoos out there, bar none. It works just as well as the $20+ dry shampoos, if not better.

Garnier Fructis Anti-Humidity Hairspray & Anti-Humidity Smoothing Milk

IMG_0286

If you’ve been following my blog for awhile, you’ll know I have gone through many, many, MANY cans and bottles of this stuff. It works, plain and simple. I live where it’s humid almost year-round and these products live up to their claim of holding up in up to 90% humidity. Unfortunately the humidity here can easily go over 90% and my hair will frizz a little, but not as bad as it could if I didn’t use them.

Bumble & Bumble Hairdresser’s Invisible Oil

img_2068

This stuff is a little pricey ($40 for 3.4 fl oz), but a little goes a looooong way, so one bottle can probably last close to a year (if not longer). Just one pump is enough for all my hair. I like you can use it on damp hair or dry hair. It does a great job making my hair feel soft, smooth, and shiny while helping tame frizz & flyaways. And it contains lots of ingredients that are good for your hair (coconut oil, grape seed oil, macadamia, sweet almond oil).

And that does it! What were some of your favorite skin care and hair products of 2016? Tell me about them below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading and your support! I hope you have a fantabulous weekend and I’ll see you guys soon in my next post!

6 thoughts on “2016 Beauty Favorites – The Skin Care & Hair Care Edit

  1. I need to try that Garnier Fructis Anti-Humidity Hairspray – you’re not the first to say it’s amazing. I’m almost done my Tresemme so I’ll grab one of those next!
    And I forgot about that OZ Naturals serum… need to try that. I mean, you went through 2 bottles and STILL using it? That says a LOT.
    Wouldn’t it be amazing if Sephora sold the SERUM that is in that sheet mask? I always wonder why a company doesn’t offer that as a companion product to sheet masks.

    Have a great weekend! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad you said that Jack Black Lip Balm works well under mattes. I hate the feel/love the look of mattes. I really need to buy it.
    I’m a long time fan of Garnier Fructose and I agree, they live up to their claims & the price is reasonable.
    Yay! I just received some Sephora sheet masks for xmas I’m not sure if any are anti-blemish but now I’m excited to try them. Pimples over 30 should be against the rules.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

