Review & Swatches: Kat Von D Shade & Light Refillable Contour Palette

Hey guys! Happy Friday! Got anything fun planned this weekend?

Tomorrow, I’m going to Busch Gardens Tampa with one of my best friends to see this year’s version of their Christmas Town event. Should be a LOT of fun. Then Sunday, my boyfriend and I are going to Orlando to see the holiday decorations at Disney Springs and some of the Disney resorts. Looking forward to that a lot too.

For today’s post, I got a review and swatches for you guys of the new refillable version of the Kat Von D Shade & Light contour palette.

img_2070

Got that gingerbread latte in hand? Let’s get started!

Last year when I was looking for a contour palette, I had my eye on the Kat Von D one as a lot of people have raved about it. But in the end, I got the one from Lorac (because it came with a brush and I had a bunch of rewards points to redeem at Ulta). And I do love that contour palette a lot (I’ve hit pan on the two matte highlight shades).

But I think it was earlier this year, Kat Von D announced they were going to come out with a refillable version of her Shade & Light contour palette. Color me intrigued! I knew Anastasia Beverly Hills already did this, but I’ve heard a lot of stories of those palettes causing breakouts, which made me avoid them. And I just didn’t care for the shades in the ABH palettes (too warm for my liking – contour powders need to be on the neutral/cool side to create the illusion of shadows).

Well, the refillable version of the KVD one came out and I decided to get it during the VIB sale at Sephora last month. It retails for $49 ($3 more than the original Shade & Light contour palette, which KVD still sells) and it comes with refillable versions of the same 6 shades that are in the original version of the palette, which are all matte finishes (3 highlight & 3 contour shades). The refill pans retail for $16 each. As you probably know, Kat Von D’s makeup line is cruelty-free and a lot of her products are also vegan friendly (if you happen to live the vegan lifestyle – I don’t but I have friends who do).

img_2461

Let’s talk about the packaging. It’s gorgeous. The palette comes in a hard plastic case that has some weight to it. The Shade & Light logo is raised, so you can’t really stack any other palettes on top of it. Inside is a mirror and of course the 6 highlight and contour powders.

img_2462

The shades in this palette are:

  • Lucid (pinkish nude)
  • Lyric (yellow beige)
  • Levitation (soft peach)
  • Sombre (true taupe)
  • Shadowplay (soft brown)
  • Subconscious (deep brown)

The powders. They are incredibly soft and smooth. Pigmentation of the contour shades are good. Not too pigmented. Just right. The highlight shades have just the right amount of color as well to set under eye concealer without looking ridiculous. They blend in seamlessly. The contour shades apply nice and smooth, and blend out like a freaking dream. I like using Sombre for my actual contour and Shadowplay as a bronzer as that one pulls more on the warm side. Subconscious is way too dark to use on my face, but it makes a great eyeshadow (so do Sombre & Shadowplay). I love multi-tasking palettes! I’ve actually used all three of the highlight shades to set my under eye concealer and all three work. I use Lyric (the yellow shade) the most, but sometimes I like to mix 2 or all 3 shades together for a custom shade.

img_2463

TOP ROW: Lucid, Lyric, Levitation; BOTTOM ROW: Sombre, Shadowplay, Subconscious

So…. how ’bout them swatches, huh?

Left to Right: Lucid, Lyric, Levitation, Sombre, Shadowplay, Sunconscious

Left to Right: Lucid, Lyric, Levitation, Sombre, Shadowplay, Sunconscious

Overall, I’m really enjoying this palette a lot and I’m glad I finally got it. I definitely recommend checking it out if you’re on the hunt for a new contour palette and/or are looking for a refillable contour palette.

Ok that should do it! Have you tried this palette or the original Shade & Light palette? Tell me you thoughts below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading! I hope you have a wonderful weekend and I’ll see you again soon in my next post! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Review & Swatches: Kat Von D Shade & Light Refillable Contour Palette

  1. Do you still have the box for your kat von d contour refillable palette? I got one for a gift but I’m very unsure if it’s the real thing. It looks exactly like the one you have.

    Like

    • I have to see if I still have the box. My makeup room is a mess right now because I’m in the process of putting together a new vanity but I still need to get my old one out. Can you email me (my address is under the “contact” tab) a photo of your box?

      Like

Leave a Comment

