The Christmas Tag – 2016 Edition

Christmas Tag

Hey guys! How was your weekend? Do anything fun?

I had a great weekend. Saturday, I saw one of my favorite bands from the 80s, The Fixx. They did a free concert downtown at a holiday street festival the city put on. I stepped it up and got a VIP package though, which gave me a seat in the first 3 rows of the VIP section (I got front row), access to the VIP tent that had free snacks and drinks and… a meet & greet with the band before the show! I had actually met the band a couple times previously, but it was cool to meet them again. They’re really nice guys. I got a photo with them but it’s not available for download yet (hoping I don’t look like a dork in it. LOL!).

If you don’t know who The Fixx are, they had some hits in the 80s with songs like “One Thing Leads to Another”, “Saved By Zero”, “Red Skies” and more.

Anyhow… For today’s post, I’m going to do The Christmas Tag!

Got that hot chocolate and a cookie ready? Let’s get going?

What’s your favorite Christmas film?

It has to be A Christmas Story. I watch it several times when TBS has their annual 24 hour marathon Christmas Eve/Christmas Day. It makes me laugh every time. I’m also a big fan of The Nightmare Before Christmas (which is also a favorite Halloween movie of mine).

a_christmas_story_film_poster nbc

Have you ever had a white Christmas?

I grew up in Michigan. We ALWAYS had a white Christmas. I think Christmas was the one day I would tolerate the snow, otherwise, I hate that cold, white crap with a fiery passion. Since I moved to Florida, I don’t miss it one bit.

What’s Your Favorite Christmas song?

Oh I have a few. And none of them are “traditional”:

Happy Xmas (War Is Over) by John Lennon

Wonderful Christmas Time by Paul McCartney & Wings (I have some friends who abhor this song but I love the cheesiness of it)

Do They Know It’s Christmas? by Band Aid (the original one from the 80s)

I Want An Alien for Christmas by Fountains of Wayne (because it’s ridiculously funny)

Do you open any presents on Christmas Eve?

When I was a kid, I was allowed to open one present before I went to bed on Christmas Eve to tide me over until the morning. It was always the present from the dog. LOL!

Can you name all of Santa’s reindeer?

Sure can! Dasher, Dancer, Prancer, Vixen, Comet, Cupid, Donner (or Donder, depending on how you’ve heard it), Blitzen, and of course Rudolph!

What holiday traditions are you looking forward to most this year?

Ummmm… we really don’t have any holiday traditions. Christmas is usually just me, my boyfriend and my dad. A couple years ago, we went to Disney to have lunch at Downtown Disney (now Disney Springs) and see the decorations at some of the resorts. It was crazy busy though (and Downtown Disney was a MESS because they were doing all the construction to convert it into Disney Springs and the parking garages that replaced most of the former surface parking). My boyfriend and I are actually going to do this same thing next weekend though. Since all the construction is done it’s much less a pain in the butt.

Is your Christmas tree real or fake?

img_2420

Fake. We always had a fake tree. It’s just easier and well… cheaper. Buy a tree once or buy a tree every year? That’s a no-brainer for me. My tree is small though. It’s about 5 feet tall. It’s really cute I think. Perfect for an apartment.

What is your all time favorite holiday food or sweet treat?

My aunt’s homemade Christmas cookies. She sends a box of them to my dad every year. She makes all different kinds. So. Freaking. Good.

Be honest, do you prefer giving or receiving gifts? 

Honestly? Both. I love giving presents and watching the other person’s reaction when they open it. But… who doesn’t like getting presents too?

What’s the best Christmas present you have received? 

Back in the early 80s, I really wanted Barbie’s Dream House. That Christmas morning, after we opened all the presents, I was disappointed I didn’t get Barbie’s Dream House. My parents told me to go look in the playroom for one last present. And there it was…

barbie-dream-house

In my excitement of Christmas morning wanting to open presents, I ran right by the playroom with the door wide open and completely did not see it! LOL! My parents were up all night putting it together. That sucker was HUGE!

What would your dream place be visit during the holiday season? 

I’ve seen photos of how they do Christmas at Tokyo Disneyland and it looks absolutely amazing. I’ve done Walt Disney World during the holiday season and it’s awesome (albeit insanely crowded). I just love Christmas lights and all that. And they have the CUTEST merchandise during the Christmas season too!

And that does it! If you’re reading this and want to do this tag… consider yourself tagged!

As always, thank you all so much for reading and your support. I’ll see you guys again in my next post! 🙂

One thought on “The Christmas Tag – 2016 Edition

  1. I’ve never heard of The Fixx! And I just listened to what you linked – it sound vaguely familiar… well, I’m glad you got to see them live!
    A Christmas Story is my favourite! 😀
    I like quiet Christmases myself – much less of a hassle and stress!
    Oh you had the Barbie dream house? Lucky you. We never did but we did have the camper. I can only imagine how massive that house would have been!

    Like

Leave a Comment

