Review & Swatch: YSL Rouge Pur Couture Lip Color

Hey guys! How’s your week going?

For today’s post, I got quick review and swatch for you guys of one of the YSL Rouge Pur Couture Lip Colors!

img_2052

You ready? Ok let’s get going!

A little backstory… A couple weeks ago I went to the Nordstrom in my area with the intention to check out some Charlotte Tilbury stuff in person. Well to my surprise – my Nordstrom doesn’t have a Charlotte Tilbury section in their beauty department! WHAT?! I was bummed but not totally deterred. I decided I was going to console myself with purchasing a nice luxury lipstick.

So, while perusing the aisles in the jam-packed beauty department (it was a Saturday and it was crazy busy), I happened upon the YSL area and those gorgeous lipstick cases totally drew me in. A sales person/MUA saw me looking at the lipsticks and offered to apply any any lipsticks I was interested in and offered some info on the different lines available. After swatching several shades, I decided I wanted to try out the Rouge Pur Couture in shade 53, Beige Promenade. I thought it was something different from most everything else I have but not too “out there” that I wouldn’t wear it much. The MUA helping me thought it would be a good color for me, so we tried it out and I loved how it looked, so I purchased it.

img_2053

Here’s a little product info:

Adorn your lips in Yves Saint Laurent. Introducing new Rouge Pur Couture, a new generation of emblematic colors – red, fuchsia and orange – in a collection of 18 vivacious lipsticks. This luminous satin texture is presented in a modern golden case, designed by Yves Saint Laurent Couture Creative Director Stefano Pilati, for the ultimate in luxury and style. Hydrospheres and natural extracts provide all-day comfort and hydration.

The packaging of this lipstick is nothing short of gorgeous and luxurious. The gold case with the YSL logo… *dreamy sigh*. It has a nice bit of weight to it as well, which adds to the luxurious look and feel of it.

Shade 53, Beige Promenade, is described as a “brown red”. It’s not too brown and not too red. I feel it actually has a tiny hint of pink in it as well. It’s a gorgeous shade that I feel is great for day or night. It’s that perfect 90’s inspired brown type lip that’s not over the top.

img_2054

This lipstick has really good pigmentation and it applies smoothly without any tugging. It has a satin finish (my preferred lipstick finish) and feels very comfortable on the lips. Staying power is pretty average. It won’t last through a full meal, but minimal wear-off when doing some light snacking/drinking (especially when drinking through a straw). If not doing any eating or drinking, you can get a solid minimum 5-6 hours of wear before needing to touch-up.

And now…. the swatch!

*cues fanfare*

img_2055

TA-DA!

So… these lipsticks are NOT cheap. They retail for $37. Yikes. But sometimes you just need to treat ‘yo self sometimes, you know?

treat-yo-self

If you’re looking for a shade like this for your collection, I definitely recommend checking it out!

Ok that should do it for today! Do you own any YSL lipsticks? What shades are your favorite? Tell me about them below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading! I’ll see you again soon in my next post! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Review & Swatch: YSL Rouge Pur Couture Lip Color

  1. I don’t have any YSL Rouge Pur Couture’s but I do own 3 Rouge Volupte Shine’s because I prefer a sheerer formula. I really enjoy all 3 shades (43 Rose Rive Gauche, 4 Rouge in Danger, 49 Rose St Germain)! The YSL lipsticks are so emollient and comfortable to wear. The Volupte Tint-in-Oil gloss is really nice too. I have the shade 6 Peach Me Love.

    Like

Leave a Comment

