Review: Erno Laszlo Skincare

Hey guys! How’s your week going?

For today’s post, I got a review for you guys on a couple skincare products from Erno Laszlo – the Detoxifying Cleansing Oil and the Sea Mud Deep Cleansing Bar. These products were sent to my via Influenster for testing and reviewing purposes, but all opinions are my own.

img_1786

What’s Influenster? It’s a site/community where you can share your reviews of all sorts of products (beauty and more) and sometimes you might get randomly picked to receive VoxBoxes of products to review. And it’s FREE to be a member! You can sign up at the link below:

Join me on Influenster!

Ok so let’s get started with the review!

So who is Erno Laszlo? He was a dermatologist born in Hungary in 1897. He was the first to develop products for acne-prone skin. His clients included celebrities such as Greta Garbo, Marilyn Monroe, Audrey Heburn, Jackie Onassis as well as royalty such as Princess Stephanie of Hungary. In 1927, he opened his first Erno Laszlo Institute of Scientific Cosmetology in Budapest, Hungary. He launched his first commercial line of skincare products at Saks Fifth Avenue in New York in 1952. He died in 1973.

So I guess you could say Dr. Laszlo in some ways in the first father of the modern skincare routine as he was the first to develop such with a cleansing oil and cleansing bar back when women were just using cold cream to remove makeup.

As usual, here’s some product info/claims:

Detoxifying Cleansing Oil
Make yourself clear. Our lightweight oil deeply cleanses—dissolving surface impurities and makeup, even reducing the look of large pores—without leaving skin feeling tight or dry. Eliminates toxins and exfoliates skin’s surface to jump-start cell turnover for a clear, balanced complexion.

Sea Mud Deep Cleansing Bar
Go deep. Our iconic Laszlo-original Cleansing Bar boasts the uniquely therapeutic benefits of Dead Sea mud, a mineral-rich miracle of nature, to deeply detoxify, exfoliate and hydrate skin. Perfect for blemished or stressed out complexions, this circulation-boosting bar leaves skin soft, smooth and radiant.

img_1784

So I’ve used both products a handful of times. Let’s talk about the cleansing oil first.

It has a consistency that’s kind of gel-like. It’s not real watery but not super thick. This stuff does a good job breaking down makeup. I’ve used this with both my drugstore foundations and my more heavy-duty stuff like my Estee Lauder Double Wear and it even helps dissolve basically waterproof makeup quickly and easily. It rinses off nice and doesn’t leave any residue behind. My skin looks and feels clean.

The cleansing bar is interesting because you’re supposed to rub it all over your face instead of creating a lather like you do traditional bar soaps. It again rinses clean.

But…. here’s my problem. I don’t have super sensitive skin. I’ve tested lots of skincare products over the last almost 2 and a half years I’ve been blogging and none of them have caused any adverse reactions. However, these products have left my face feeling sensitive and irritated, and caused some redness where I’ve previously never had any. I’ve even had minor breakouts on my forehead immediately after washing my face with these products and applying any other skincare after using them caused a bit of a stinging sensation, which I did not like AT ALL. They also have a scent that’s not pleasant but also not unpleasant. I mean they don’t smell awful, but they also don’t smell wonderful. It’s an odd scent that I can’t pinpoint. I know good skincare products aren’t supposed to smell good, but this one is just weird.

So unfortunately I won’t continue using these products as the irritation and breakouts were not what I was expecting even though they did do a good job cleansing my skin otherwise. These products might work better for someone else, but not me.

Ok that should do it for today. Have you tried any Erno Laszlo products? If so do you like them? Tell me your thoughts below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading and your support. I’ll see you guys again in my next post! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Review: Erno Laszlo Skincare

  1. Oh dear, these sound way too harsh. I read on another blog too that the ingredients in these need to be reformulated – just because something has a lot of history, it doesn’t mean it should remain the same forever, I mean just look at Clinique Dramatically Different Lotion.

    Like

Leave a Comment

