Review & Swatches: Too Faced Park Avenue Kisses Holiday Set

Hey guys! Happy Friday! Got anything fun planned this weekend?

Before we get started… did any of you catch Game 7 of the World Series the other night? If you’ve been following my blog for awhile, you’ll know I’m a HUGE baseball fan. I was SO happy the Cubs finally won it all! Took 108 years but the curse has finally been broken! That game was crazy though! I hadn’t been that invested in a World Series since my Rays were in it in 2008 (I actually got to attend Game 1 of that World Series too). I grew up a few hours from Chicago and I remember watching Cubs games on WGN (with the legendary Harry Caray calling the game) when I was a kid.

Oh and one more announcement… I recently reached 2,000 followers on Instagram and to celebrate, I’m going to have a giveaway! If you’re not following me on Instagram, GO DO IT RIGHT NOW so you can keep an eye out for when the giveaway details are announced (I’m putting the finishing touches on, but the announcement should be soon). Go ahead… I’ll wait.

Follow Me On Instagram

You back? Okay let’s get started with today’s post….

In my last post (Ulta Haul), I asked what you guys would like to see a review of first. And the biggest response was the Park Avenue Kisses holiday set from Too Faced. So that’s what we’re going to talk about today!

img_1869

I just happen to spot this set at Ulta and they only had one left in stock, so I grabbed it as it looked cute and the shades of the lipsticks appealed to me. Also I had never tried any of the regular Too Faced tube lipsticks (I have mini sizes of a few of the Melted ones though and I love those), and I like trying “new” products from brands I love.

This set is an Ulta exclusive (but you can also get it on the Too Faced website for those of you not in the US) and it comes with three full size lipsticks – 2 in the La Creme formula and 1 in the new La Matte formula (this formula is an Ulta exclusive as well). It also comes with a really cute makeup bag. I love the graphics on it. So retro and looks like something SHAG (one of my favorite artists) would have done.

img_1868

img_1867

The La Creme formula lipstick shades in this set are:

  • Sugar Daddy  – a nude rose shade
  • Pink Chocolate – a pink berry shade

The shade in the La Matte formula is:

  • Rebel Heart – matte cool red

The packaging of the lipsticks are the same as if you would purchase them individually. The La Creme formula tubes are gold and the La Matte formula tube is black. Very simple, sleek, and elegant. They have some weight to them too. I kind of like that as it makes it feel like a more luxurious product. The only difference in the packaging is the labels on the bottom indicating the shade names also say “Not Labeled For Individual Sale”.

Top to Bottom: Sugar Daddy, Pink Chocolate, Rebel Heart

Top to Bottom: Sugar Daddy, Pink Chocolate, Rebel Heart

In case you’ve never tried the La Creme or La Matte lipsticks, here’s some background info on them.

La Creme:

There’s rich, there’s obscenely rich and then there’s Too Faced’s La Crème Color Drenched Lip Cream. Oozing with lip-conditioning hydrators, including white lotus flower, it treats while it enhances lips. Available in carefully curated, heiress-worthy shades.

La Matte:

Meet the most comfortable matte lipstick you’ll ever wear. Innovative high-pigment formula applies creamy as it warms to the skin, softening into stunningly saturated, non-drying matte color that stays plush and wearable. No-bleed, no-feathering formula is infused with lotus flower extract to soothe and hydrate, leaving lips soft, supple, and beautifully matte. Who says you can’t have it all?

I like that both of these formulas promise to keep lips hydrated and looking good.

Ok so the La Creme formula goes on smoothly and has a creme/slightly glossy finish. I do love me a nice creme or glossy finish. Both shades have good pigmentation. The shade Sugar Daddy is a little too light for me to wear on its own, but looks great when worn over a lip pencil that’s a bit darker to deepen the overall look. Pink Chocolate, on the other hand, it perfect on its own (or with a coordinating liner). Both feel very comfortable on the lips and have relatively decent staying power. I wore Pink Chocolate to work a few days ago and it held up decently even with some light snacking and drinking.

The La Matte formula also goes on smooth and of course it has a matte finish. Again, good pigmentation and it also feels very comfortable on the lips. Normally matte lippies and I don’t get along unless I’m wearing a balm underneath. This one I didn’t really need a balm underneath for. Rebel Heart is a little too bright for me for everyday wear, but good for a fun pop of color on the weekend or a night out. The shade is very similar to my Chanel Rouge Allure lipstick in Enigmatique, but with a matte finish obviously. This is a shade I would wear with a liner regardless since it’s kind of intense and not all that forgiving if you apply it a little sloppy (which I’ve been known to to if I’m in a rush). But it wears well and never feels overly drying on the lips (it starts feeling a little dry after a few hours, but nothing that makes me think, “OMG I need to take this off RIGHT NOW!”).

Oh and all 3 of these lipsticks have basically the same scent as my Bite Beauty lipsticks! It has that light kind of citrusy scent that’s not overpowering. So that was a fun discovery.

Ok so here’s the part you’ve been waiting for… swatches!

img_1874

Left to Right: Sugar Daddy, Pink Chocolate, Rebel Heart

This set retails for $29, which is a REALLY great deal considering these lipsticks retail for $22 each individually. I HIGHLY recommend picking this set up if you come across it as it’s such a great value for the money ($66 worth of lippies for under $30? SOLD!).

Ok that should do it for today! Are you thinking about getting this set?

As always, thank you all so much for reading and your support! I hope you have a fantabulous weekend and I’ll see you guys again in my next post! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Review & Swatches: Too Faced Park Avenue Kisses Holiday Set

  1. We’re probably going to go see Doctor Strange this weekend. Then I’m hoping over to Sally Beauty Supply to restock some nail stuff. And chores…
    Yay for the Cubs! I don’t know anyone who’s not happy for them. Well, maybe except for Cleveland LOL.
    Congrats on the IG milestone! 😀

    This set is SO. DARN. CUTE. But also chic. And I’d actually wear all 3 shades. What a great deal too – wow. I just checked to see if Sephora sells it – of course not. :/

    Like

Leave a Comment

