Review & Swatches: Too Faced Chocolate Bar Palette

Hey guys! How’s your week going?

Today’s post is going to be a review and swatches of the Too Faced Chocolate Bar palette.

img_0666

Got that beverage in hand? Oh you want a snack too? Ok I’ll wait…

Ready? Let’s get going!

Ok so this palette obviously isn’t new… so why do a review of it since there are a bazillion reviews already out there? Well, the majority of those reviews came out when the palette did, which was like 3 years ago (the palette came out in 2013). So I figured a fresh look at this palette would be a good idea.

I picked this palette up back in August during my mega birthday haul. I’d had my eye on it for ages but never got around to getting it. I finally bit the bullet and grabbed it on a whim at Sephora. And now that I have it, I wonder why the heck I took so long to get it in the first place?

This palette contains 16 shadows in a mix of matte, shimmer and even a couple more glittery shades. It comes packaged in a metal tin that looks like a chocolate bar. And yes… it really does smell like chocolate as the shadows themselves are made from pure, antioxidant-rich cocoa powder.

img_1551

The shadows are on the neutral side, with the shades ranging from pinks to browns and even a couple purple shades. Most of the shadows feel soft and buttery, however, the ones with more glitter in them (Gilded Ganache, Candied Violet & Black Forest Truffle) feel a little dry and gritty. Don’t let that fool you, though. Every shadow in this palette has good pigmentation!

The shadows apply and blend beautifully and of course when wearing a primer/base underneath, they look vibrant and last all day. You can create looks that are great for daytime and night, a bare bones minimal look or something dramatic and smokey… this palette can do it for you. There is some fallout with some of these shadows, but that doesn’t bother me since I do my eye makeup first. For me… fallout happens.

My favorite shades in this palette are probably Salted Caramel (love this as a transition shade), Armaretto, Marzipan, Semi-Sweet (great crease shade), and Champagne Truffle (I like using this sometimes as a highlight on my cheekbones as well as a brow bone highlight).

So onto the good part… the swatches!

TOP ROW, Left to Right: Gilded Ganache, White Chocolate, Milk Chocolate, Black Forest Truffle, Triple Fudge

TOP ROW, Left to Right: Gilded Ganache, White Chocolate, Milk Chocolate, Black Forest Truffle, Triple Fudge

MIDDLE ROW, Left to Right: Salted Caramel, Marzipan, Semi-Sweet, Strawberry Bon Bon, Candied Violet, Armaretto

MIDDLE ROW, Left to Right: Salted Caramel, Marzipan, Semi-Sweet, Strawberry Bon Bon, Candied Violet, Armaretto

BOTTOM ROW, Left to Right: Hazelnut, Creme Brulee, Haute Chocolate, Cherry Cordial, Champagne Truffle

BOTTOM ROW, Left to Right: Hazelnut, Creme Brulee, Haute Chocolate, Cherry Cordial, Champagne Truffle

This palette retails for $49 and you can get it at Sephora, Ulta, the Too Faced website and Macy’s Impulse stores. If you don’t already have this palette and have been looking for a good neutral one to start your collection or to add to your existing collection… I HIGHLY recommend getting it.

Ok that should do it for today! Do you have this palette? Do you want it? Tell me your thoughts below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading! I’ll see you guys again on Friday with a new post! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Review & Swatches: Too Faced Chocolate Bar Palette

Leave a Comment

