Review: Murad Oil Control Mattifier SPF 15 PA++

Hey guys! Happy Friday!

For today’s post, I got a quick review for you guys on the Murad Oil Control Mattifier SPF 15 PA++.

murad

Let’s just jump into it, shall we?

I got a sample of this at Sephora after hearing a bit about it. I got enough in the sample to use several times so I could do a full review instead of just a first impression.

Let’s start with some product info:

Which skin type is it good for?
• Oily
• Combination

What it is:
A lightweight SPF moisturizer that diminishes shine for up to eight hours and leaves a matte finish.

Solutions for:
• Oiliness
• Blemishes

If you want to know more…
Oil-Control Mattifier’s unique formula goes to work immediately to help absorb oil for up to eight hours while delivering SPF 15 sun protection. It works well alone or under makeup to maintain a matte finish while providing essential hydration. Oil-Control Complex® helps control oil that can lead to breakouts while willow bark extract and tea tree oil help detoxify for a shine-free complexion. Ideal for use as a morning moisturizer in an acne regimen, or as a mattifying sunblock for oily skin, it reduces oil breakthrough to keep makeup and skin looking fresh.

So this is a white colored lotion that has a kind of runny to medium consistency.

Now I’ve heard some who like using this as a moisturizer and some who like actually using it as a primer under makeup. I’ve tried it both ways.

When I used it all over my face as a moisturizer, it actually dried out the normal parts of my face too much and it made my foundation look patchy. I didn’t like that at all. I hated how it made foundation cling to the dry areas and made me look like a lizard. If you have super oily skin all over your face, this might work great for you.

BUT…

When I used this just on my oily areas (my T-Zone as you know can be a total oil slick) as a primer, it worked MUCH better for me that way. It does a good job mattifying my oiliness and controlling oil production. How does it compare as primer to other mattifying primers? It seemed to work just as well for the most part. So it’s nice to have another option out there.

I like it has SPF as if you want to use it as a primer… well I don’t know of any primers really that have SPF in them. Primers SHOULD have SPF in them, I think.

So overall? I like this as primer in my oily areas, but not enough to purchase a full size tube, which is $39.50 for 1.7 fl. oz. of product. I’ll just use my regular mattifying primers. But like I said, if you have super oily skin all over and are looking for something to help combat it, this might be a product worth checking out. You can purchase Murad products at Sephora, Ulta, and of course the Murad website.

Ok that should do it for today! Have you tried this product before? Did you like it? Tell me your experience below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading! I hope you have a funtastic weekend and I’ll see you again on Monday with a new post! 🙂

One thought on “Review: Murad Oil Control Mattifier SPF 15 PA++

  1. I love the idea of a primer and sunscreen all in one. But I do wonder if you would use enough product to really protect against UV. And especially if you’re only using it on the oily areas, which would leave some skin unprotected. I had a primer from CoverFX that has SPF too but I still used a separate sunscreen.

    Like

Leave a Comment

