Review: Clinique Superbalanced Silk Makeup

Hey guys! How’s your week going?

Today’s post is going to be a review of the Clinique Superbalanced Silk Makeup.

img_1629

Let’s jump right into it, shall we?

Awhile back I got a coupon in my email from Ulta to redeem for a free full size Clinique foundation with a consultation. How can I pass that up? I already had the Beyond Perfecting foundation (which I really like – you can read my review of that here), so I wanted to give something else a go. I’d heard good things about the Superbalanced, so I went with that.

Let’s start with some product info and claims:

Superbalanced Silk Makeup Broad Spectrum SPF 15 is an ultra-fluid, silky makeup that controls oil, yet hydrates where needed. For dry combination to oily skin types.

Slip on a silk-enriched makeup. Feel naked, yet covered to perfection. Control oil, yet hydrate where needed. Protect with SPF. Oil-free.

Benefits:

  • Sheer to moderate coverage
  • Natural-matte finish
  • Real silk allows this formula to blend gently and evenly into skin
  • Allergy tested
  • 100% fragrance free
  • Non-acnegenic
  • Dermatologist tested
  • Sweat and humidty resistant
  • Water resistant

So this foundation claims to pretty much be suitable for any skin type. Control oil where needed and also hydrate where needed? Sounds like a dream come true to especially those with combination skin (like me). Oh before I forget, I was matched with the shade 04 Bisque.

The packaging is nice but nothing remarkable. It comes in a nice looking frosted glass bottle, but no pump. I found when using a brush, you can get a solid medium coverage out of this foundation. If you want it sheered out more, then a damp Beauty Blender will do the job. It applies beautifully with my Up & Up Complexion Brush (which is probably my favorite foundation brush ever – you can read my review of it here) as well as my Hourglass Vanish foundation brush. It has a consistency that’s not watery/thin but not thick. It’s somewhere in the middle.

This foundation does dry to a matte but not flat finish and it even looks nice if you set with powder (I’ve used my Coty Airspun, Dermablend and Laura Mercier powders with it, all with good results).

So does it live up to it’s claim of controlling oil where needed and being hydrating where needed? From what I can tell, it seems to. It doesn’t break down in my oily areas. I do need to do a minor touchup on the end of my nose and my chin after maybe 6 hours though, but that’s not that big of a deal to me. Outside of that, this foundation lasts all day on me. I can get at least 8-10 hours out of it. It seems to hold up fine in humidity but I haven’t been outside much when wearing this foundation, so I haven’t really been able to put that claim to the test yet. But I do like it has SPF 15 in it so it’ll be nice for those days I do spend outside.

Overall, I like this foundation more than I was expecting to with the lighter coverage (but applying with a brush and the addition of concealer gave me the coverage I desire so that was good). This foundation comes in 18 shades and retails for $25 for 1 fl. oz., which is more on the affordable side for a higher end brand. I definitely recommend checking this out no matter what your skin type is. I think you might be as surprised as I was.

And that should do it! Have you tried this foundation or is it on your wishlist?

As always, thank you all so much for reading! I’ll see you guys again on Friday with a new post! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Review: Clinique Superbalanced Silk Makeup

  1. Hasn’t the Superbalanced foundation been around forever? I think I used this ages ago but the colour match was awful (orange oompa loompa!) but I think they’ve improved the selection now. So awesome you got this free though! Did you buy anything when you were at the Clinique counter? I always feel guilty when I get something free so I buy something…

    Like

    • You mean the Beyond Perfecting? I like both of these foundations for different reasons. I recommend them both. I suggest going to the Clinique counter at a local department store and get samples of both. That way you can try them and decide for yourself which is best for you.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

