First Impressions: Smashbox Studio Skin 15 Hour Wear Foundation

Hey guys! How’s your week going?

For today’s post, I’ll be giving my first impressions on the Smashbox Studio Skin 15 Hour Wear Foundation.

2306259

Let’s get started!

Ok so I got a sample of this foundation at Sephora awhile back as I had seen it but not heard too much about it. It retails for $42 and you get the standard 1 fl. oz. of product. The foundation comes in a glass bottle with a pump. Oh and it comes in 22 shades.

So let’s start with some product info:

What it is:
An oil-free, hydrating foundation was created in Smashbox’s L.A. photo studio to look and feel amazing for 15 hours—from the set to the street.

What it does:
Studio Skin 15 Hour Wear Foundation is perfect for days when you don’t have time for foundation touch-ups. Get the same high performance makeup in your own demanding day-to-day life. Light diffusing spheres blur imperfections while makeup stays color true in any light. This lightweight, blendable formula offers medium-to-full buildable coverage that’s exercise-resistant and sweat- and transfer-proof for a flawless finish.

What it is formulated WITHOUT:
– Parabens
– Sulfates
– Phthalates

What else you need to know:
Smashbox is the only beauty brand with Flashbox Lighting Lab, where we test and perfect color consistency across 22 shades in any light. Apply this foundation in the morning for a flawless makeup look outdoors, at work, and after-hours. Because they want every woman to meet her match, Smashbox consulted global makeup artists around the world to ensure that their shade range works for all skintones.

I got a sample of shade 2.15 (light cool beige), which ended up being a good match for me. The foundation has a more watery/runny consistency. It applies and blends out nicely and definitely has buildable coverage. I was able to get full coverage with 2 layers (just one layer gives you a nice medium coverage). It dries to a satin/natural matte finish. It feels lightweight on the skin and doesn’t look cakey.

This foundation claims it was formulated so it looks good in ANY light. Does it live up to that claim? It does for the most part. It looked the same to me under the light in my beauty room, my bathroom, in the car and even at work (where normally EVERY foundation looks awful). So that was impressive.

Does it live up to its long-wearing claims? It does. It’s lasted me all day at work and extra. I’ve gotten at solid 12 hours out of it the few uses I got out of the sample I had. As for being transfer-proof… it more or less is. A little transfers off, but not enough to make it a huge deal. Overall, it stays in place all day, which is what matters. It holds up well on my oily/combination skin.

So yeah I do like this foundation. I might purchase a full size bottle sometime, but not for awhile as I have a ton of other foundations right now and don’t need any more for the time being. But if you’re looking for something lightweight that provides buildable coverage, I recommend checking this one out.

Ok that should do it for today. Have you tried this foundation out? Tell me your thoughts below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading. I’ll see you again on Friday with a new post! 🙂

5 thoughts on “First Impressions: Smashbox Studio Skin 15 Hour Wear Foundation

Leave a Comment

