The “Ride or Die” Tag – Drugstore/Affordable Makeup Edition

Hey guys! Happy Friday! Got anything fun planned this weekend?

A couple weeks ago, I did the “Ride or Die” Tag, but with all high end beauty products. Today I’m going to do it again, only this time my picks are all from drugstore/affordable makeup brands.

Ride or Die

You ready? Ok let’s get started!

Now if you missed my first post or don’t know what this tag is all about, it’s picking your end-all, be-all, if you can only use ONE product from each category for the rest of your life-type picks.

So without further ado…

Primer: Rimmel Stay Matte

IMG_0177

I really don’t use many drugstore primers. But I like this one. It helps keep me matte without being overly drying.

Foundation: L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Matte

img_1124

I know, this one is a shocker for those of you who have been around for awhile. I’d been singing the praises of the Rimmel Lasting Finish on here for ages. And I still love it, don’t get me wrong. But the L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Matte has really impressed me and (for now at least) it’s taken the throne.

Powder: Coty Airspun

IMG_5143

This stuff is a classic. My grandma use it. And the scent of it reminds me of her every time I open the jar. It does a great job setting my foundation and never looks cakey on me.

Under Eye Setting Power : Yellow shade in the ELF Contour Palette

IMG_8554

I love the yellow/banana shade in the ELF Contour Palette. I’ve actually hit serious pan in it and will probably have to buy a whole new contour kit soon just to replace that one shade (good thing the palettes are only $6). I’d love it if ELF started selling refill shades for their face palettes (since the shades already pop out so you can mix & match). But this powder does a great job setting my under eye concealer without being too overly brightening (I don’t like using a lighter concealer under my eyes to brighten because it looks ridiculous on me).

Concealer: NYX HD Concealer

NYX HD Concealer

If you’ve been reading my blog for awhile, you’ll know this one was obvious. I love this concealer. It has great coverage and blends out nicely. And although I’ve recently started using the Maybelline Better Skin concealer and like that one a lot too, I’ll pick the NYX one over it in this situation.

Blush: Makeup Revolution The Matte Blush in Nude

IMG_7778

This is probably my favorite blush EVER. It’s such a gorgeous mauve shade that’s just perfect for my skintone and perfect to wear year-round. It’s VERY pigmented too, so I always have to remember to use a light hand with it.

Bronzer – Bronzer shade in the ELF Contour Palette

IMG_8554

Like primers, I don’t use many drugstore bronzers. I find most of them to be too orangey for my preference. I want my bronzers to be brown, you know? But the lighter shade in the ELF Contour Palette is a great bronzer shade for me. It’s somewhat similar to my Smashbox bronzer in Suntan Matte (which was discontinued last year I believe).

Highlighter: Wet N Wild MegaGlo in Precious Petals

IMG_9937

This highlighter was all the rage this past springs and summer and for good reason. This has to be one of the best (if not THE best) drugstore highlighters ever created. Wet N Wild really hit it out of the ballpark with this one. But they were so stupid to make it limited edition. It sold out so fast, I was amazed I was able to get my grubby paws on one. But it’s a stunning champagne highlight shade (I am such a sucker for champagne highlighters).

Mascara: Essence Lash Princess False Lash Effect

IMG_9623

This mascara really blew me away (it takes a LOT for a mascara to do that). This makes my lashes stand out so much, making them look so much longer and fuller. Had to believe this stuff only costs like $5 because it acts like something much more expensive.

Lip Pencil: NYX Slim Lip Pencil in Ever

I love the NYX Slim Lip Pencils so much. I feel they work just as well as the MAC ones do. Ever is a perfect “my lips but better” shade that I’m grabbing for at least a couple times a week.

Lipstick: Milani ColorStatement Lipstick in Naturally Chic

IMG_2182

The Milani ColorStatement lipsticks are some of the best drugstore lipsticks out there. They’re pigmented, comfortable on the lips, have great staying power and for most shades, you don’t need to use a lip liner if you don’t want because they don’t bleed/feather. Naturally Chic is just a “my lips but better” shade, but it’s one I really love.

Liquid Lipstick: NYX Liquid Suede Lipstick in Soft Spoken

IMG_6191

I love the NYX Liquid Suede lippies because they’ve very comfortable on the lips because they don’t completely dry down. And Soft Spoken is a total shade dupe for Kat Von D’s iconic Lolita. I mean it’s a dead on 99.99999% shade match.

Lipgloss: NYX Butter Gloss in Angel Food Cake

butter gloss

I love this pretty mauve shade. It goes with everything, not overly sticky, pigmented enough you can wear it on its own and is super comfortable on the lips. And it smells like cake!

Brows: ELF Instant Lift Brow Pencil in Neutral Brown

IMG_9455

This sucker is pretty much a dupe for the Billion Dollar Brows Universal Brow Pencil that I mentioned in my high end version of this tag. This pencil has good pigment, so you don’t have to press down hard to get good payoff. And Neutral Brown is a perfect match for my brows. It fills in and draws on the inner 1/4 of my brows (which are virtually non-existent) really well and doesn’t make my brows look drawn on. And even though it doesn’t claim to be waterproof, it lasts all day, even in heat/humidity. And it only costs $2!

Eyeliner: Essence Gel Liner

IMG_4213

I’ve gone through a couple of these and I’ll repurchase until they stop making it (which I hope is never). I love this gel liner! It’s nice and black and once it sets, it doesn’t budge until you take it off.

Eye Primer: Milani Eye Primer

This eye primer works just as good as high end ones. There’s days when I actually prefer it over the high end ones.

Lashes: None

I don’t wear false lashes so… no pick here.

Eye Palette: Sedona Lace 35 Color Intensely Warm Palette

IMG_0121

This palette is Sedona Lace’s version of the insanely popular Morphe 35O. I love me some warm tones and this palette is chock full of them. The quality of the shadows are really good too. And with 35 shadows, you can create countless looks and always find new color combos to play with.

Setting Spray: Makeup Revolution Pro Fix Oil Control Makeup Finishing Spray

IMG_9253

I love the setting sprays from NYX and Wet N Wild. And I feel this one from Makeup Revolution works just the same and also works as well as high end brands.

 

And that’s it! What are some of your drugstore/affordable “Ride or Die” products? Tell me about them below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading! I hope you have a fun-filled weekend and I’ll see you guys again on Monday with a new post! 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “The “Ride or Die” Tag – Drugstore/Affordable Makeup Edition

  1. Great choices! I had no idea that NYX Soft Spoken was such a close dupe to Lolita! We don’t have a huge selection of NYX products here, but I need to go track Soft Spoken down!
    The Wet n’ Wild highlighter is stunning! They need to bring it back.

    Like

Leave a Comment

