Review: Urban Decay All Nighter Foundation

Hey guys! How’s your week going?

Sorry there was no post on Monday. I was so worn out from the weekend, I just didn’t have the energy to write anything for Monday’s post.

But I got something for you guys today… a review of the Urban Decay All Nighter Foundation!

ud-all-nighter

You ready? Let’s get going!

Let’s start with some product info (via the Urban Decay site):

All Nighter Liquid Foundation provides full coverage with a modern matte finish that never looks overdone. Get serious long-lasting wear and a blown-out effect you never thought was possible. Perfect for all-night affairs and other scandalous activities, our revolutionary formula is also comfortable enough to wear every day.

While Naked Skin complexion products are demi-matte, All Nighter Liquid Foundation is completely matte—but never flat (and it’s oil-free!). We loaded this formula with an insane amount of pigment (about three times as much as Naked Skin Liquid Makeup), so a little goes a long way. There’s no need to build coverage or apply multiple layers. This waterproof, paraben-free formula diffuses light to blur flaws for beautifully perfected skin as it mattifies and absorbs oil to reduce the appearance of shine.

With a wide range of meticulously calibrated shades that align with our existing Naked Skin Liquid Makeup shades, it’s easy to find your perfect match.

I remember trying the Naked Skin foundation awhile back and liking it well enough (you can read my first impressions of it here). When I saw they were coming out with a full coverage, matte finish foundation, I was excited. And the YouTubers were giving it rave reviews (especially the oily skin girls as I tend to trust them a little more regarding products like this).

This foundation comes in 24 shades and it retails for $40. You get the standard 1 fl. oz. of product.

First off, the packaging of this foundation is gorgeous. I love how the bottle looks. I also like it comes with a pump. Guessing all the makeup brands are learning we like pumps on our foundations!

The consistency of this foundation isn’t watery but also not super thick. It’s kind of in the middle, leaning toward the thicker side, if that makes sense.

Ok so here is my experience with this foundation. I first got a sample of it at Sephora and got Shade 4.0. It looked like a perfect match when applied. Be warned… THIS FOUNDATION OXIDIZES! Once it dried, shade 4.0 was too dark for me. EEK! I was able to balance it out a little with lighter concealer & powder, but I still did not like the final look as it was still too dark. But I went on with my makeup routine and my day (considering my coworkers probably wouldn’t blink twice if I came to work dressed in a potato sack and rainbow afro wig, I knew they wouldn’t even notice if my foundation was too dark).

I eventually got a couple more samples of this foundation,  shades 3.5 and 3.25. Though I have overall neutral undertone, leaning more on the yellow side, shade 3.5 was actually a little too yellow. Shade 3.25 had the better undertone for me, but the overall shade is too light. GAH! Mixing 3.5 and 3.25 did help fix that for the most part though. I’ve noticed most of the shades run very yellow or very orange, which is strange.

Well, anyhow, let me tell you how this foundation wears (on me at least). It does have full coverage as it claims. It goes on great with a damp Beauty Blender or a brush. When freshly applied, it looks nice, Very flawless. But after it dries, on me at least, it just looks a bit cakey and even a little patchy. Really. I was honestly surprised. This is a high end foundation, campers. High end foundations usually don’t do that… right? As the day goes on, it actually breaks down on my nose. This is a matte foundation, I use a mattifying primer on my T-Zone and I always set with powder. That shouldn’t happen. But it did. On the rest of my face… it’s just kind of all over the place. In some areas it holds up well and others it just looks patchy and fades.

I… I want to like this foundation. And in a way I do. But every time I use it, I seem to find another reason to not like it. Am I doing something wrong? Am I not using the right primer(s) or powder(s) with it? Anyone have any suggestions? If so, leave them below in the comments.

For now though, I would NOT purchase a full size of this foundation. If you have this and it works well for you, then that’s great! Not every product works the same on every person. Even those of us with oily/combo skin experience products made for our particular skin type differently. It’s frustrating, but that’s just how the ball bounces sometimes, you know?

If you do want to try this foundation, I highly recommend getting a sample (or 2 or 3) first. Swatch a couple shades in-store then walk around for 10-15 minutes while it dries… THEN try to determine which shade might be the better match for you.

Ok that should do it for today! I really hate writing non-positive reviews, but sometimes that happens.

As always, thank you all so much for reading and your support. I just want to let you know I am ALWAYS honest with you guys with my opinions and experience with any product I review here, whether I get a sample of it or purchase it myself or if it’s sent to me as PR. I will NEVER lead you guys astray… that’s a promise.

I’ll see you guys again on Friday with a new post! 🙂

13 thoughts on “Review: Urban Decay All Nighter Foundation

  1. I had the same experience with this foundation, and I was also very disappointed because I was really excited to try it! But this thing oxidises like no other and it looked so cake and unnatural. I’m glad I got to try it before actually buying it too. I believe I will stay with my beloved Estee Lauder’s Double Wear.

    Like

Leave a Comment

