Review: Jeffree Star Velour Liquid Lipstick & Velour Lip Scrub

Hey guys! How was your weekend? Anyone got today off work for Labor Day? I do! Not doing anything exciting… just catching up on things at home.

Anyhow, today’s post is going to be a review of a couple products from Jeffree Star Cosmetics – the Veloud Liquid Lipstick and Velour Lip Scrub.

IMG_1102

You ready? Ok let’s get going!

So a little backstory… Last year, Jeffree Star teased a new shade of his Velour Liquid Lipstick on Instagram. I was totally hooked and knew I needed it in my life.

That shade was Androgyny.

When it was first launched, it was limited edition and part of the 2015 holiday collection. It sold out almost instantly. The demand for Androgyny was so high, Jeffree decided to make it part of the permanent collection. Every time it was restocked though, it would sell out in mere minutes. And I could never get my hands on it. Finally after 10 months of trying (yes… 10 months), there was finally a restock where I was able to get my grubby paws on it.

Let’s start with some info on the Velour Liquid Lipsticks (retails for $18 US):

Our liquid lipstick goes on opaque, dries completely matte and stays on for hours! This product is 100% vegan & cruelty-free! (tips before use: exfoliate with lip scrub then apply to bare lips! Avoid food with oil… and no making out, kisses are ok!)

Androgyny is described as a “plum mauve”, which is totally accurate. It’s a gorgeous shade for sure.

The packaging is cute. I love the rose gold lettering and graphics on the tube.

IMG_0995

It does go on opaque as it claims to and it dries quickly to a matte finish. The formula is not as drying as other liquid lipsticks can be. It’s on the more comfortable side (and even more comfortable if you layer a balm underneath).

How does it wear? Pretty dang good! I’ve eaten and drunk while wearing Androgyny and it stays put for the most part. I’ve even had a couple slices of pizza and a soda and it’s stayed intact with just a little bit of fading (but nothing major and it fades evenly). Over the weekend I had waffles and ice cream and you could still see it afterwards… until I had some Asian food later (by the end of that meal it was 90% gone but you could still see a tiny hint of plum mauve color). So that’s impressive.

IMG_0997

I will say if you want to reapply though, you have to take whatever is left off and start fresh, otherwise it’ll look flaky and gunky.

My only complaint about Androgyny is the scent. I read Jeffree Star’s liquid lipsticks are supposed to smell like root beer. This does not. It actually has a funky scent I can’t describe. It does go away after application. But if you’re super sensitive to smells, you might have an issue with this.

Ok so let’s talk about the Velour Lip Scrub (retails for $12 US) now.

IMG_1099

Use our delicious sugar based lip scrub to prep your lips before applying any liquid lipstick. Take a scoop out and rub your mouth in circular motions. Lick away excess (yes, it’s edible!) or wipe off with a tissue.

This product is: Vegan. 100% cruelty-free. Paraben & Gluten-Free.

Ingredients: Glycerin, Vegetable, Sucrose, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Oil, Flavor (mint), Sodium Benzoate, Potassium Sorbate, Vitis Vinifera (Grape Seed) Oil, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Yellow 5 (CI 19140), Blue 1 (CI 42090)

I got the spearmint one (they also currently have Strawberry, Mojito & Root Beer). It smells and tastes like spearmint gum (like Wrigley’s Spearmint gum), which I like. The jar is big and you get a lot of product (30 grams). In comparison, you get 25 grams in a jar of Lush lip scrub.

Next to a Lush lip scrub for comparison.

Next to a Lush lip scrub for size comparison.

So how does this lip scrub do exfoliating the lips? Pretty good. It’s just as good as my Lush and Elf lip scrubs. I don’t have a preference as I like them all equally and just grab whichever one I see first, though I try to rotate them to use them all equally.

Overall, I’m impressed with what Jeffree Star has to offer. I’d like to try more from his line sometime. He has a line of traditional bullet lipsticks called Lip Ammunition coming out this fall as well as another eye palette (and I think some more of his Skin Frost highlighters too). I’m excited to see what the Lip Ammunition shades will be as he’s said most will have satin finishes (my preferred lipstick finish) and that some of the shades will be the counterparts of the liquid lipstick line.

Ok that should do it for today! Have you tried anything from Jeffree Star?

As always, thank you all so much for reading! I’ll see you guys again Wednesday with a new post! 🙂

One thought on “Review: Jeffree Star Velour Liquid Lipstick & Velour Lip Scrub

Leave a Comment

