The “Ride or Die” Tag – High End Edition

Hey guys! Happy weekend! Those of you along the Atlantic coast, I hope you’re staying dry as Hermine (I can’t be the only one who keeps wanting to say “Hermione”) make her way after being so nice and dropping by Florida for a visit (that… bitch). Anyone doing anything fun for the long Labor Day weekend?

For today’s post, I’m going to do the “Ride or Die” Tag, but with all high end beauty products. I’ll do this one again in the near future but use all drugstore/affordable products. You ready?

Ride or Die

Ok so this tag was apparently created by Jaclyn Hill. I’ve seen her video doing this tag. The basic idea is you pick just one product from each category that it your absolute best of the best. Like if you could only use one product from each category for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Well, here are my high end picks…

Primer: Make Up For Ever Step 1 Mattifying Primer

MUFE Step 1

This primer does the best job instantly mattifying my oil slick T-Zone and helps in preventing my foundation from breaking down in those areas. But it doesn’t make my skin feel overly dry.

Foundation: Estee Lauder Double Wear

IMG_8603

 

Oh come on you knew it was going to be this one! Absolutely NO foundation has wowed me as much as Double Wear has. For me it covers all my problem areas, doesn’t feel heavy or look cakey, has the perfect matte but not flat finish and… this ish does not budge until you take it off. It’s help up for me consistently in heat, humidity, sweat, rain… you name it.

Concealer: Urban Decay Naked Skin

UD Concealer

I honestly don’t really use many high end concealers. I just can’t justify spending nearly $30 for a little tube of… nothing. But I did get a travel size of the Urban Decay Naked Skin concealer to try out earlier this year and I ended up liking it and understanding why so many in the beauty community like it, so that would be my pick for this tag. It has good coverage and blends out really nicely without looking or feeling heavy or cakey.

Powder: Dermablend Loose Setting Powder

IMG_1044

This powder has totally impressed me. Before I got this, the only high end powder I’ve used was the Bare Minerals Mineral Veil. And while I like it… I love this powder from Dermablend. It does such a fantastic job setting my foundation and helps keep me matte.

Blush: MAC Melba

IMG_1071

Like concealers, I don’t use many high end blushes. I’ve found some amazing ones from the drugstore. But Melba is such a gorgeous peachy-pink shade that can be used year round and looks great with so many different makeup looks.

Bronzer: Benefit Hoola

IMG_5144

yeah you knew this one was coming too. This is the bronzer I grab for at least 85% of the time. It’s such a great bronzer that you can even use for light contouring because it’s so neutral.

Highlighter: Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector in Opal

IMG_9934

I’m a sucker for champagne colored highlight shades. I thought nothing could beat my beloved Benefit Watt’s Up. I was wrong. Opal from Becca is just so stunning. I love both the liquid and pressed versions of this highlighter. Sometimes I’ll be a total animal and apply the liquid version first, then top it off with the powder version to really be a human disco ball.

Contour Palette: Lorac Pro Contour

IMG_5246

Ok this is the only contour palette I’ve used, but I love it. The light contour shade is perfect for my skin tone and the powders apply and blend out really nicely. I also love using both the yellow and beige highlight shades to set my concealer (sometimes mixing them for a custom shade).

Mascara – Urban Decay Perversion

IMG_1070

I got hooked on this mascara last year. I’ve gone through at least a couple travel size tubes of it and finally broke down and bought a full size tube this year. Now some have loved the travel size version but didn’t like the full size. I find the full size to be the exact same as the travel size for me. I love how it makes my mashes look fuller, doesn’t make my lashes feel crunchy and doesn’t flake or smudge on me.

Lip Pencil: MAC Whirl

IMG_1069

Whirl has become so iconic, but that’s not why I picked this one (I personally can’t stand that particular family… no offense to those who do like them). I chose Whirl because it’s the perfect “my lips but better” shade of mauve. I can wear it alone or I can top it off with a lipstick or lipgloss.

Lipstick: MAC Twig

Twig

This was my very first MAC lipstick and it’s still my favorite. It’s another great “my lips but better” shade that goes with any makeup look.

Liquid Lipstick: Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Lolita

IMG_1068

Another iconic shade. I’m not the biggest fan of liquid lipsticks, but this one is my favorite. I love the mauvey-brown shade and the formula isn’t overly drying.

Lipgloss: Anastasia Beverly Hills Lipgloss in Kristen

IMG_9946

This lipgloss. I just love it. The shade is gorgeous. It’s pigmented, not overly sticky (you want a little sticky to keep it on your lips) and for a gloss, it has good staying power.

Lashes: None

I don’t wear false lashes so I don’t have a “ride or die” favorite.

Eye Primer: Lorac Behind the Scenes

BehindTheScenes_EyePrimer-medium

I’ve gone through a few travel size tubes of this eye primer and really like it a lot. It does a good job keeping my eyeshadow from creasing and lasting all day.

Eye Palette: Lorac Mega Pro 2

IMG_6483

This palette is all you could ever need to create pretty much any look you wanted. It has a great mix of neutrals and bold pops of color. Plus the formula of Lorac shadows are pretty much second to none.

Brows: Billion Dollar Brows Universal Brow Pencil

Universal brow pencil

This was sent to me last year as PR and I ended up really loving it. The shade was perfect for my brows, did a great job filling them in and making them look natural and lasts all day.

Eyeliner: Make Up for Ever Aqua Eyes

s988899-main-Lhero

This is the first high end liner I ever used and it’s still my favorite. They glide on easy and won’t budge until you take it off.

Setting Spray: Urban Decay All-Nighter

UD All NighterI’ve found drugstore setting sprays that work just as well as this one, but since we’re only doing high end products this time around, I gotta go with the OG here. It does a really good job setting my makeup and helping it last all day. It also works good as a makeup refresher.

 

And those are all my “ride or die” high end picks! Are any of these your “ride or die” must haves?

As always, thank you so much for reading! I hope you have a fantabulous weekend and I’ll see you again Monday with a new post!

7 thoughts on “The “Ride or Die” Tag – High End Edition

  1. I think I might have to go back to the Lorac eye primer. All of the ones I’m using now are NOT cutting it! The Lorac one is fabulous and a tube lasts so long.
    And yes, that MUFE Aqua liner is my HG liner for the lower lash line. They now have the XL version which I picked up and will be testing soon. I hope it’s at least the same as the other formula (althought the creamy light taupe shade I love is discontinued)

    Like

  2. I just bought the same MUFE primer and am really liking it. I’m like you with the Hoola bronzer, I reach for it most of the time too. I need to get my hands on a Lorac palette, the one you have looks like a great one with so many colors to choose from.

    Like

    • I have so many Lorac palettes. The original Pro is s great one. I also have the Pro 2, Pro Metal & Unzipped palettes. Sadly was not impressed with the Pro 3 when I swatched it in both Ulta & Kohl’s. Excited to see what the Mega Pro 3 will be like.

      Like

  3. The Hoola, MAC blush in Melba and UD Setting Spray are all great choices. I’d say to try a Burberry blush when you can. I think you’d love it as it blends so easily and looks very natural, with a tiny bit of a healthy glow. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Comment

