August 2016 Favorites!

Hey guys! How’s it going?

August Faves

Today’s post is going to be my August favorites! So hold on tight and keep your arms and legs inside the ride vehicle at all times!

Anastasia Beverly Hills Moonchild Glow Kit

IMG_0704

This is NOT your mamma’s highlighter palette. It’s totally unconventional and I love that it is. And shades are surprisingly versatile and can be incorporated into everyday makeup looks as you can use them to highlight your browbone or inner corner of the eye or even as an eyeshadow. But it’s fun to wear a subtle blue highlight on your cheekbones at work too.

Dermablend Loose Setting Powder

IMG_1044

Seriously…. Why is no one talking about this powder? It does such a fabulous job setting my foundation and it can be used for baking as well (I really don’t bake unless it’s cleaning up my contour a little). It’s very finely milled and feels silky soft to the touch. It even absorbs excess oil and helps control oil production as well. And you get a lot for the price compared to other high end setting powders (you get 28 grams for $27, compared to say 9 grams for $33 for the Tarte Smooth Operator loose setting powder or almost 19 grams for $30 for the Kat Von D Lock-It loose setting powder… or even the Laura Mercier loose powder where you get the same amount as the Dermablend but it costs $38).

Bite Beauty Amuse Bouche Lipstick in Chai

IMG_1046

This shade is described as a “mauve brown”, which is pretty accurate. I love the old Luminous Creme lipstick formula from Bite Beauty and the new Amuse Bouche line is just as good. These lipsticks are even more pigmented (the Limunous Creme formula can be a bit more on the sheer side and have a tendency to bleed if you don’t use a lip liner), are comfortable on the lips and they have really great staying power. Chai is a great color for fall/winter (though I’m the type that wears what I want when I want, “season appropriate” be damned).

Marc Jacobs Enamored Hi-Shine Lipgloss in Rebel Rebel

IMG_1041

IMG_1043

I mainly bought this lipgloss for the name (it’s the title of one of my favorite David Bowie songs), but the shade itself is gorgeous. It’s described as a “blue-raspberry shimmer” and it totally is. It’s a really pretty raspberry with blue shimmer! The gloss is pigmented enough it can be worn on its own or on top of a lip pencil or lipstick. I’ve paired this with Chai a few times and really love the result.

Orly Nail Polish in Ingenue

IMG_0974

I grabbed this in the clearance section at Ulta. I’d actually seen it there before but always put it back. This time I decided to finally get it and I’m glad I did. It’s described by Orly as a “purple/gold duochrome shimmer”. Now if you’ve been reading my blog for awhile, you’ll know I am a total, absolute sucker for just about anything duochrome. This polish is so freaking gorgeous I can barely stand it.

My one non-beauty favorite for August is the Coaster Crusade event I got to participate in at Busch Gardens Tampa and SeaWorld Orlando to celebrate National Roller Coaster Day. Spending the day riding roller coasters is always a fun day for me! And this is what happens when you give me a GoPro and let me loose on said roller coasters:

And that does it for my August favorites!

What were some of your favorites from this month? Tell me about them below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading! I’ll see you guys again on Friday with a new post! 🙂

 

7 thoughts on “August 2016 Favorites!

  1. Do you like the Dermablend powder better than the Coty Airspun?
    That MJ gloss looks beautiful! Not sticky?
    And you know I oogled over that Orly Ingenue… thank goodness I realized that I have the Zoya version of it! Can’t wait to pull that out to try!

    Like

Leave a Comment

