Review: Clinique Beyond Perfecting Foundation + Concealer

Hey guys! Happy Friday! Got anything fun planned this weekend?

For today’s post, I’m going to be doing a review of the Clinique Beyond Perfecting Foundation + Concealer.

IMG_1015

Ready? Got that beverage of choice in hand? Ok let’s get going!

I picked this foundation up in my mega birthday haul earlier this month. I wanted to try some new foundations (new to me at least) and this one had been getting good reviews, so I decided to go for it. You get the usual 1 fl. oz. of product, and it retails for $27, which is actually affordable for a higher end foundation.

Let’s start with some product info and claims:

This lightweight, moisturizing foundation and concealer provides full coverage without clogging pores. This 12-hour wear, breathable formula is ideal for very dry to combination oily skin types, its special polymer formula forms a flexible film that moves with the skin for lasting wear, and it dries slowly for easy blending. Get lasting coverage and give skin a perfected look that stays put, even through sweat and humidity. 

 This product is ophthalmologist tested, allergy tested, and 100% fragrance free.

IMG_1016

So yeah this foundation claims to be a lot of things I look for in a foundation – full coverage, long-wearing, heat/humidity resistant. Sounds very promising. I initially got shade 7 Cream Chamois, but it ended up being just a little too dark, so I exchanged it for shade 6.5 Buttermilk, which is a much better match for me. There are 20 shades of this foundation available.

Anyhow, the packaging of this foundation is nice, but nothing special…. until you open the bottle. There’s no pump. Instead is a giant doe foot applicator wand (Emily over on Beauty Broadcast likes calling these a “buck foot”). So you can use the giant doe foot to dot foundation on your face before blending it out. I’ve used both a brush and a damp Beauty Blender and I like how it applies with both. A little does go a long way, so I’ve learned to dot it sparingly at first and if I need more, then I can add more where it’s needed. It gives pretty much full coverage right off the bat, and I just need a tiny bit more on my more problem areas.

IMG_1017

The foundation dries to a natural matte finish, and you can make it more matte by setting it with powder. I’ve used my Coty Airspun, Dermablend and Laura Mercier translucent powders with this foundation and they all work nicely with it.

Now this foundation claims to be suitable for dry to combo/oily skin, but I think it could be good for all skin types. I’ve seen reviews from oily skinned  girls who like it. So how’s the staying power on someone with combo/oily skin like me? It’s actually really good. It lasts all day. But I do want to note I wear a mattifying primer underneath in my T-Zone, so that probably helps. I’ve gotten the the claimed 12 hours out of it and more. Does it hold up in heat and humidity? It does. I wore this foundation the day my boyfriend and I went to Disney Springs. It was a hot, humid and wet day (a storm blew through not long after we arrived), but the foundation held up really nicely. I have to blot after 3 or 4 hours, but I usually have to blot after 3 or 4 hours regardless because my T-Zone can be such an oil slick. But the foundation hasn’t broken down in even my oiliest areas (my nose and chin), which was nice. Just a little powder touch-up after blotting and I’m good to go.

So yeah I’m really liking this foundation a lot. And it’s one I’ll probably repurchase after I use up my current bottle. So obviously I recommend trying this foundation out.

Ok that should do it for today! Have you tried this foundation? If so, do you like it? Tell me your thoughts below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading and your support. I really means so much to me. I hope you have a fantastic weekend and I’ll see you guys again on Monday with a new post! 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Review: Clinique Beyond Perfecting Foundation + Concealer

  1. I really like the look of this and the idea of all in one. Glad it lasted on your skin too! Historically I find it difficult to get a shade match at Clinique so I’ll have to see this in person.

    Like

Leave a Comment

