Review & Swatches: Anastasia Beverly Hills Moonchild Glow Kit

Hey guys! How’s your week going?

Before we get started, I wanted to share with you a little video of my day last week celebrating National Rollercoaster Day by doing the Coaster Crusade at Busch Gardens Tampa and SeaWorld Orlando. This is what happens when you let me loose with a GoPro on a bunch of rollercoasters:

Ok… Today’s post should be a fun one as I’m going to be doing a review and swatches of the Anastasia Beverly Hills Moonchild Glow Kit.

IMG_0702

Let’s get started!

Let’s just start off by saying… this is NOT your conventional highlighter palette.

So this Glow Kit. It retails for $40 and is exclusive to the ABH website. The initial release sold out quickly, but they restocked in early August and I quickly placed an order just in case it sold out fast again (good news, it’s still in stock as of this writing).

IMG_0705

The palette comes with the following 6 shades:

Blue Ice – Diamond white with an icy blue reflect
Star – A moonstone fusion of mint, platinum and silver reflect
Purple Horseshoe – A glittering lavender with an arctic blue reflect
Pink Heart – Pearl white with a pink opal reflect
Lucky Clover – A shamrock-infused gold with canary yellow diamond reflect
Blue Moon – Frozen blue with a silver reflect

IMG_0706

Yep, definitely NOT your typical highlighter shades. As soon as I saw Blue Moon I was drooling and had to have this puppy.

Now, you may be saying to yourself, “Who the eff needs blue, purple and green highlighters?” Honestly? No one. But they’re fun! They may seem a little over the top, but I’ve found ways to make them work with my everyday makeup.  I’ll use them to highlight the inner corners of my eyes, brow highlight, even as an eyeshadow. Though going to work rocking a blue or purple highlight on your cheekbones is fun too. And yes, I’ve done just that (albeit using a light hand when applying so it doesn’t look to out there)… and it works!

And I love the names. I like calling this the Lucky Charms highlighter palette because the names of the shades are clearly inspired by the cereal.

lucky-charms-6

Every shade in this Glow Kit is stunning. But don’t just take my word for it…

L-R: Blue Ice, Star, Purple Horseshoe, Pink Heart, Lucky Clover, Blue Moon

L-R: Blue Ice, Star, Purple Horseshoe, Pink Heart, Lucky Clover, Blue Moon

If you’re on the lookout for some fun/funky highlighter shades, I definitely recommend checking this Glow Kit out.

And that should do it! Do you have this Glow Kit or are you thinking about getting it? Tell me your thoughts about these crazy highlight shades below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading and your support. I’ll see you guys again on Friday with a new post! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Review & Swatches: Anastasia Beverly Hills Moonchild Glow Kit

  1. Love the unique shades in this one! Most of the choices in this palette would be much too stark on my super-warm skin tone, but it’s awesome that makeup brands are slowly coming out with more choices for girls with fair and cool-toned skin.
    Heh, never realized the similarities between the names of the shades and Lucky Charms until now!

    Like

Leave a Comment

