The Beauty Questions Tag

Hey guys! How was your weekend?

For today’s post, I’m going to be doing The Beauty Questions Tag! I’ve seen this tag going around and decided to be a lemming and do it too!

Beauty Questions Tag

You ready? Let’s jump right into it!

1) How many times do you wash your face daily?

Twice. Once in the morning and again at night before I go to bed.

2) What skin type do you have? (dry, oily or combination)

I have oily/combo skin, My T-Zone is an oil slick, but the rest of my face is normal for the most part, though sometimes my eye area can get a little ont he dry side.

3) What is your current facial wash?

I just use Dove or Olay bar soap. It does the the job and doesn’t cause my face to break out.

4) Do you exfoliate?

My face? Not really. Unless you count gently going over it with a bath pouf when I wash it in the shower in the morning. My body? Once a week.

5) What brand do you use?

For my body I use the Cocoa Brown Tough Stuff body scrub (which I did a review on and you can read here).

6) What moisturiser do you use?

I have a couple different ones I use. For pretty much everyday, I use the Garnier Moisture Rescue Gel Creme for normal/combo skin. On days when I’m going to be spending a lot of time outside, I’ll use the Estee Lauder Day Wear as it has SPF 15 in it.

7) Do you have freckles?

Yes. And I hate them.

8) Do you use eye cream?

I do. There’s a few different ones I use, depending on my mood and which one I just happen to grab.

9) Do you or did you have acne prone skin?

Not really acne prone, but I’ll get the occasional blemish or two (especially when that time of the month is close)

10) Did you ever use ProActiv?

No. I never had bad acne so never needed anything like that.

11) What foundation do you use?

So. Many. Foundations. I’m a full coverage girl, so all my foundations are full coverage or buildable coverage. Estee Lauder Double Wear is my all time fave, “ride or die”, but I also like Too Faced Born This Way, Marc Jacobs Re(marc)able, Rimmel Lasting Finish, L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Matte, Lancome Teint Idole, Clinique Beyond Perfecting, Maybelline Fit Me Matte & Poreless… I’ll shut up now.

12) How about concealer?

I love the NYX HD concealer, but recently I picked up the Maybelline Better Skin concealer and really like that as well.

13) Do you know your undertone colour?

I’m in the neutral spectrum, leaning more yellow depending on the foundation.

14) What do you think of fake eyelashes?

They’re pretty, but I’ve never used them. I have kind of sensitive eyes since I wear contacts and I’m scared how my eyes would react to the lash glue.

15) Did you know that you are supposed to change your mascara every 3 months?

I know. Actually I’ve read 3-6 months. But I have so many mascaras I rotate through I always tend to keep them longer.

16) What brand of mascara do you use?

So. Many Mascaras. I actually tossed some minis that I’ve used up, making room for new additions (eventually). My most used at the moment though are the Essence Lash Princess False Lash Effect, Jordana Best Last Extreme, Urban Decay Perversion & Rimmel Volume Flash Super Speed.

17) Sephora or Mac?

This question should really be Sephora or Ulta, since MAC is a single brand. So in that case…. Sephora. But if it was a choice between Sephora or Ulta, I’d pick Ulta since they carry drugstore brands as well as high end brands. Lots more variety and options.

18) Do you have a MAC Pro-Card?

No. I’m not a professional makeup artist.

19) What make-up tools do you use in make-up application?

I use a mix of brushes and my trusty Beauty Blender.

20) Do you use make-up base/primer for the eyes?

I do. Depending on my mood, I’ll use either my Milani or Lorac eye primers, or I’ll go for my MAC Paint Pot in Soft Ochre.

21) For the face?

I use different primers on different parts of my face. Since I have an oily T-Zone, I use a mattifying primer in that area – either the one from Make Up For Ever or the one from Becca. Ont he rest of my face, I’ll use any other primer I want, like the Too Faced Hangover, Make Up Forever Smoothing primer or even the Nivea Men post-shave balm (I really does work good as a primer). And then… I have larger pores on my nose, so I use a pore filler on that area. My current favorite is the NYX Pore Filler, but the Smashbox one is good too.

22) What is your favourite eye shadow? (Colour or Shade)

Duochromes, duochromes… DUOCHROMES! I am a MAJOR sucker for duochrome shadows. The ones from Makeup Geek are amazing.

23) Do you use pencil or liquid eye-liner?

I actually use gel liner to line my upper lash line. For the lower lash line, I’ll sometimes use a pencil and sometimes I’ll just use eyeshadow.

24) How often do you poke your eyes with an eye liner pencil?

I used to all the time when I was younger. Now… not often, if ever.

25) What do you think of pigment eye shadows?

They can be pretty, but very messy. You need to know how to use them without making a mess.

26) Do you use mineral make-up?

For about 10 years, I used Bare Minerals pretty much exclusively. I mean just about EVERYTHING I used was from them (foundation, concealer, blush, eyeshadow, bronzer… you get the idea). I still love the brand, but since I started blogging a little over 2 years ago, I’ve really opened my mind when it comes to makeup and trying new brands.

27) What is your favourite lipstick?

Ummmm…..  I can’t pick just one! So here are my top 3: Bite Beauty Luminous Creme in Pepper, Bite Beauty Amuse Bouche in Chai, MAC Retro.

28) How about lip gloss?

GAH! Who is this evil person who wrote these questions? I can’t pick just one, dangit! So again my top 3: Marc Jacobs Enamoured in Rebel Rebel, Anastasia Beverly Hills in Kristen & NYX Butter Gloss in Angel Food Cake.

29) What is your favourite blush?

Makeup Revolution Matte Blush in Nude. It’s the perfect everyday blush.

30) Do you buy make-up on e-bay?

I’ve never thought about it. Probably not because there’s a lot of counterfeit makeup being sold on there.

31) Do you like drug store make-up?

HELL YEAH! The drugstore brands have really upped their game in recent years too.

32) Do you go to CCO’s? (Cosmetic Company Outlets)

I’ve been to a couple. They’re a great way to find discontinued high end makeup at a discount. The new outlet mall in Tampa has a CCO and I found a palette with all 6 of the original MAC Viva Glam lipsticks that was from their 2014 holiday collection. I got the palette for WAY cheaper than purchasing each lipstick shade together.

33) Did you ever consider taking make-up classes?

Kind of, but around here, the cosmetology schools don’t do just degrees/certificates in cosmetics. You have to do the hair stuff too.

34) Are you clumsy in putting on make-up?

I can be a little messy sometimes, but not clumsy.

35) Name a make-up crime.

Not blending your foundation over your jawline/down your neck or into your hairline (the dreaded “foundation line).

36) Do you like colourful shades of make-up (lipstick, eye shadow) or neutral tones?

I love doing dramatic, colorful eye looks. But for the lips I usually go for more neutral, natural shades.

37) Which celebrity always has great make-up?

I really don’t pay attention to celebrities anymore, so I have no idea.

38) If you could leave the house with just ONE Make-up item, what would you use?

Concealer

39) Could you ever leave the house without any make-up on?

I have, but I don’t like to.

40) Do you think you look good even without any make-up on?

Meh. My boyfriend tells me I look pretty even without makeup but… he’d say I look pretty if I was wearing a potato sack. LOL!

Lucy Potato Sack Dress

41) In your opinion, what is the BEST make-up line?

Good question. There are lots of good ones out there these days. I can’t pick just one as I like different ones for different reasons.

42) What do you think of Make-up?

I love makeup. I love how these days there are pretty much no rules when it comes to makeup and you’re free to explore and experiment with it however you see fit. And as a result, the possibilities are endless. I love letting my imagination run wild and seeing what I can create every day.

 

And that’s it! If you’re reading this… you’re tagged! But you don’t have to do this tag if you don’t want to.

As always, thank you all so much for reading. I’ll see you guys again on Wednesday with a new post! 🙂

2 thoughts on “The Beauty Questions Tag

  1. Oh that’s interesting you just use bar soap for your face. Do you use other cleansers for eye makeup removal?
    I have freckles too… I don’t HATE hate them, but I wish my skin was even toned.
    I’m itching to buy a new foundation right now, ugh. So many I want to try!
    I agree, that quesiton Sephora or MAC is lame. I basically said the same thing in my response to that question.
    Any Bare Minerals recs? I’ve been curious about the brand. I tried their powder minderal foundation ages ago.
    I wish we had CCOs here! So jealous.
    I did this a version of this tag a while back:
    https://stashmatters.com/2015/11/22/20-beauty-questions-tag/

    Like

    • At night I use a makeup wipe to take the bulk of everything off, then I go over my face with a cotton square soaked with Micellar water to get what the makeup wipes miss. That’s pretty much it. I hate dealing with cleansers at night when I’m tired and just want to go to bed.

      As for Bare Minerals, their original foundation is good. Can be a little messy but it works. There’s a pressed powder version too but I don’t feel it works as good as the original. The loose pigment eyeshadows are pretty. Grace & Queen Phyllis are great shades for the lid.

      Like

Leave a Comment

