Super Crazy, Insane, Mega Birthday Haul!

Hey guys! I’m sorry I wasn’t around much last week. I just had a bunch of stuff come up that I had to take care of. I’m sure you can probably relate. But I’m back!

Today’s post is going to be my completely insane mega birthday haul. I don’t think I’ve done a haul like this ever. It’s a collective haul over the course of a couple weeks, so it’s not like I went out and bought everything in one day. LOL! Got lots to talk about, so grab yourself an extra donut and let’s get going!

Before we get started, I wanted to let you know about something fun I’m participating in tomorrow. If you’ve been reading my blog for awhile, you’ll know I also write for the theme park website MiceChat in my spare time. I was invited along with other theme parks sites and media by Busch Gardens Tampa to participate in the Coaster Crusade they’re doing with their sister park, SeaWorld Orlando, for National Coaster Day. We’ll be tackling 13 roller coasters between the 2 parks… all in one day! Be sure to follow along on my Instagram or @MiceChat on Twitter to check on my progress and other shenanigans. My boyfriend is letting me borrow his GoPro, so I’ll have some video from the day as well.

Ok now onto the haul!

I did two trips to Sephora. The first one, I had a couple gift cards to use, so there was no damage to my wallet. Here’s what I got with the gift cards:

IMG_0844

Too Faced Chocolate Bar Palette – This had been on my radar for ages but never got around to getting it for whatever reason. I finally decided to just grab it and be done with it. LOL!

Too Faced Totally Cute Palette – This palette didn’t really intrigue me at first. I’d seen reviews but I still wasn’t feeling it. Then I swatched it in the store. That did me in and I grabbed it.

Bite Beauty Opal Creme Lipstick – I have the opal lipgloss and love it and had heard good things about the lipstick too, so this was actually on my birthday wishlist. It’s really pretty to wear on top of any lip pencil or lipstick. Gives it a pretty opalescent finish.

Sephora Bright Future Gel Serum Concealer – I’d heard good things about this concealer and I’d been looking for something new to try to take a break from my NYX HD concealer, so I grabbed this to try. I like it. There’s a slight learning curve with it though as it seems to apply best if you dot it under your eye area instead of spread it on (it comes off dry and not much coverage if you do it that way). Oh and I got the shade Madeline, which is a good match for me.

Sephora Green Tea Sheet Mask – I love these sheet masks and have gone through several. The green tea ones are for mattifying and anti-blemish. And they work. So I had to grab another.

Marc Jacobs Beauty Insider Birthday Present – And as you probably know, the birthday gift for Beauty Insider/VIB, etc. is your choice of sets from Mar Jacobs or Fresh. I got the Marc Jacobs one, which comes with a mini lipstick in the shade Kiss Kiss Bang Bang and a gel liner pencil in black.

My 2nd Sephora visit, I went to the one that opened in May at Disney Springs. This was a big Sephora and was busy, but lots of employees on hand to help guests. And I came out of there with the following:

IMG_0845

Laura Mercier Soft Focus Pressed Setting Powder Shine Control – Everyone in the beauty world talks about the Laura Mercier Secret Brightening Powder and Translucent Loose Setting Powder. But this one caught my eye. I don’t think I’ve heard anyone talk about it. It looked really nice and felt really soft when I touched it in the store. Excited to give this a try!

Marc Jacobs Enamored Hi-Shine Lip Lacquer – I’ve been eyeing these for ages but couldn’t’ decide what shade I wanted. Looking at the shades this time, one totally caught my eye and drew me in – Rebel Rebel. I admit I mainly got it for the name (Rebel Rebel is one of my favorite David Bowie songs… and I happened to be wearing a David Bowie shirt that day, so it was destiny), but the color of the gloss is really pretty and unique (it’s described as a “blue-raspberry shimmer) !

Bite Beauty Amuse Bouche Lipstick – I got this in the shade Chai (mauve brown), which had been on my radar for months. I love the old Luminous Creme lipsticks from Bite Beauty, and have heard great things about this new line. So I’m excited to try this out.

Sephora Green Tea Sheet Mask – I grabbed another of these. I just love them so much!

Fresh Beauty Insider Birthday Present – I don’t know if it was because I was wearing a birthday button and was at Disney, but when I was checking out, the guy ringing me up asked if I wanted my birthday present. I kind of balked at first, but then said ok (why not, you know?). So since I already had the Marc Jacobs one, I got the other one from Fresh, which has deluxe minis of the Soy Face Cleanser and Rose Face Mask. Super excited to give them a try!

Oh I also got a sample of the new Urban Decay All-Nighter foundation. I’ll try to have a first impressions of that for you guys soon.

Over at Disney Springs, they also have a MAC store that opened in May, so of course I had to pop in. If you’re a member of the MAC Select rewards program, they’ll send you an email to redeem for a free eyeshadow for your birthday! You just need to print out the email and bring it to the store or show the email on your phone (I think this is only valid online and at full MAC stores, not MAC counters at like Dillards or Macys). I picked Creme De Violet for my birthday eyeshadow. I didn’t have anything like this (amazingly) and it should look really pretty on the lid.

IMG_0846

While I was at the MAC store, I also got the iconic blush Melba. I’d swatched it so many times and decided to finally take the plunge and get it. It’s such a pretty shade that’s perfect year-round.

And then there was Ulta. What did I get there?

Conair Infiniti Pro 1875 Watt Hairdryer – I needed a new hairdryer BAD. My old one died months ago and I’d been using my backup in the meantime. And now my backup is on its last legs. I wanted something decent but not super expensive ($100 or even $200 for a hairdryer is crazy to me… unless you work at a salon). This one from Conair fit the bill of what I was looking for. It has 3 heat settings, 2 speed settings, a true cold shot button… and it’s ombre blue! I’ve already used it and so far I’m liking it. It seems to cut my dry time down a bit and my hair doesn’t look as frizzy and looks more shiny and feels softer too.

IMG_0848

IMG_0847

Lorac Unzipped Palette – Yep…. another palette. I’d been eyeing this one for ages and decided to just go for it. I love Lorac shadows and I’m obsessed with rose gold. So… yeah. The shades in this palette are so pretty.

Dermablend Professional Setting Powder – I wanted to try a new high end setting powder and after some research, I decided to try this one from Dermablend. WHY IS NO ONE TALKING ABOUT THIS POWDER?! It is so good! It feels silky soft and does a great job setting foundation. It’s also formulated to help keep you matte for up to 16 hours and it doesn’t do half a bad job doing just that. My T-Zone of course gets oily quicker, but this powder does help that area stay shine-free just a little longer. Oh I got the original translucent shade in this (there’s also a tinted shade).

Makeup Revolution Oil Control Fixing Spray – This was a repurchase as I’m starting to run low on the bottle I’ve been using. I love this setting spray. I think it does a really good job setting my makeup, keeping it in place and helping me stay shine-free. You get more than twice as much as the NYX or Wet N Wild ones (I love those sprays as well) and it’s under $10!

L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Matte Foundation – I finally got my hands on this. I’d been wanting to try it for ages but just never got around to getting it. Well, I decided to finally grab it since it was my birthday haul and I had a coupon for a couple dollars off. I got shade 105 Natural Beige. I’ve worn it already and I like it, but won’t say anymore until I can give you guys a full review.

Clinique Beyond Perfecting 2 in 1 Foundation & Concealer – I’d heard good things about this foundation and it had been ages since I’ve tried anything from Clinique, so I decided to just go for it and get it (I normally NEVER just outright buy a new to me high end foundation without getting a sample to try first). I’ve already worn this a couple times and again, liking it so far.  I got the shade Buttermilk. I’ll have a full review for you guys soon.

Maybelline Eye Studio Gel Liner in Brown – I’d been wanting to get a brown gel liner and decided to try this one from Maybelline. I haven’t used it yet, but will report back what I think of it soon.

Almay Age Essentials Lip Treatment – I got a 2nd of this lip balm so I can keep one at home and one in my purse. I really love this lip balm a lot.

Maybelline SuperStay Better Skin Concealer – I’m not a huge fan of the Better Skin foundation, but I’d head good things about the concealer so I decided to try it. I got the shades Light and Light/Medium. So far I’m liking the concealer way better than the foundation.

Maybelline SuperStay Better Skin Pressed Powder (not pictured) – I’m keeping this one in my purse, so there’s no photo because I forgot to take it out of my bag to include in the photo. This is a pretty new product and I’d heard some good things about it, so I decided to get it to keep in my purse for touchups as I wanted a change from the NYC Smooth Skin translucent powder I’d been keeping in my bag. So far I’m liking it. The powder is very soft and great for touch-ups. I got the shade Nude Beige (which is the shade I wear in both the Better Skin and Fit Me foundations).

Real Techniques Stippling Brush (not pictured) – This is a backup. I love using this brush to blend out my blush/bronzer/contour.

Real Techniques Brush Cleansing Palette  (not pictured) – I’d seen photos of this online but hadn’t seen it in stores until now. I’d been wanting something like this to clean my brushes with (been using an old rubber jar opener thing, but it got icky and I had to toss it). I’ve used it a few times and so far I like how it gets my brushes nice and clean. Let me know if you’d like to see a review on this.

Urban Decay Single Shadow in Midnight Cowboy – If you’re an Ultamate Rewards member, this is the birthday gift you get this year if your birthday is in July, August or September (if you’re Platinum status, you also get a coupon for $10 off anything in the store). It’s a full-size shadow. Midnight Cowboy is a pretty champagne pink with silver glitter.

Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water (blue cap) (not pictured) – I’ve used the one with the pink cap and like it a lot. I’m running low, so I decided to get the one with the blue cap that’s formulated for waterproof makeup to see how it compares to the other.

Skin Food Peach Sake Mattifying Toner (not pictured) – Since I ran out of my orange blossom water toner, I’d been looking for a new toner to try (in the meantime I’ve been using hte Olay Oil Minimizing Toner, but kind of tired of that one). I saw this on the shelf at Ulta and was intrigued. I’ve been wanting to try more Korean skincare lines. I’ve used it a few times and I’m liking it so far.

Orly Nail Polish in Ingenue (not pictured)– I found this in the clearance section (reg $11.99 marked down to $3.99). It’s a really gorgeous sparkly purple/gold/borderline holo… I really can’t descibe it but it’s so freaking pretty. I got a pedicure over the weekend and had them put this polish on my toes. The girls at the nail salon were all ogling over the color and was asking where I got it.

And then I placed an order with Anastasia Beverly Hills and got…

IMG_0707

Moon Child Glow Kit – This thing is so freaking pretty. Do you really need blue, purple or green highlight shades? No, but they’re fun regardless. And I’ve actually found ways to work them into my everyday makeup routine as well. I honestly wasn’t planning on getting this, but I started jonesing for a blue highlighter and there are two in this palette! Look for a review and swatches in the near future.

Summer 2016 Lipgloss Set – This set contains 6 travel size glosses. They’re all really pretty shades. I’ll have a review and swatches for you guys soon.

And I’m just going to include a few others things I got at Disney Springs while I’m at it.

Over at the Wonderground Gallery shop at the Marketplace Co-Op, I got these cute postcards of Dumbo & Stitch. And I found the Mr. Toad Tsum Tsum (I love Mr. Toad).

IMG_0849

Over at Uniqlo, I found this cool Mickey Mouse shirt (I also won some origami paper in the spin the drum/wheel game they have).

IMG_0850

And that’s everything! PHEW! Did you make it to the end? If you did…. congratulations!

What would you like to see me do a review of first? Leave me a comment down below and tell me!

As always, thank you all so much for reading and your support! I don’t know if I’ll have a post up on Wednesday (depends on how exhausted I am after Tuesday’s roller coaster marathon), so if there’s no new post on Wednesday, I’ll see you for sure on Friday with a new post! 🙂

 

13 thoughts on “Super Crazy, Insane, Mega Birthday Haul!

  1. EPIC!!! This is reminding me of my birthday haulage!
    I tested that Sephora serum concealer and while the finish was nice, it didn’t have enough coverage for me. I might try it again with the Becca corrector underneath.
    I’d love to hear your thoughts on the Bite Amuse Bouche lipstick formula, it’s been in my radar since the launch. I’m eyeing the shade Sake.
    WHAT! I did not know they give a free eye shadow for your birthday at MAC! I just joined that program so I probably don’t qualify, but I’ll have to remember for next year.
    Curious about the Maybelline SuperStay pressed powder since I like the foundation a lot.
    Good luck tomorrow with the 13 coasters, I love coasters but 13 in one day is insane! 😋

    Like

  2. Wow amazing haul!!! I would love to hear your opinion on the Laura Mercier powder. I’ve also heard great things about the Secret Brightening and Loose Setting Powders but have yet to try either. I personally prefer pressed powder as they are less messy to use and easier to travel with, and I also have a really oily t-zone. I hope the LM is great!

    Have an awesome time at Coaster Day! Sounds like wicked fun! 😄

    Like

  3. The lorac unzipped palette looks gorgeous!!! I want🙋🏼 one.. Was looking forward to this post, I know you’ve been waiting to shop for awhile now.. Haha
    Happy Birthday!!🎂😍

    Like

  4. Woweee, look at that haul!
    I’ve always wanted to try any of the Lorac palettes (not readily available in Canada), one of the Chocolate Bar palettes, as well as the Anastasia Glow Kits. A girl can never have too many palettes!
    The hairdryer also looks awesome. I’m on a hunt for a good but inexpensive one too – you’ll have to let us know your thoughts on it!
    Have fun playing with all of your new makeup!

    Like

Leave a Comment

