Review: Hourglass Vanish Seamless Finish Foundation Stick

Hey guys! How’s your week going?

Today’s post is going to be a review of the brand new Vanish Seamless Finish Foundation Stick from Hourglass.

IMG_0505

You ready? Let’s get it started!

Ok well before we get started, I was sent this product for free from Influenster for testing purposes, but all opinions are my own.

What’s Influenster? It’s a program where you can be randomly chosen to receive all sorts of products to try out and review. And it’s FREE to sign up!

Click here to sign up for Influenster

Ok… so this foundation is brand new from Hourglass. How new is it? It went live on Sephora’s site just yesterday, July 19… that’s how new! It retails for $46 and you get 0.25 oz of product. It comes in 26 shades.

So let’s start with some product info like we always do:

What it is:
A long-wearing foundation stick with the coverage of a concealer, fluidity of a liquid, and weightlessness of a powder for invisible full coverage.

What it does:
A foundation and concealer in one, Vanish Foundation’s concentrated formula is infused with double the amount of pigment versus traditional foundations for instant full coverage in one application. The long-wearing, waterproof formula provides 12 hour coverage, and the innovative formula adjusts to your body temperature to effortlessly blend into the skin. Encased in a unique triangular bullet for precise application along the contours of the face, it can be used to contour and highlight. It features an array of shades and it’s designed specifically to be used with the Vanish Foundation Brush for the most seamless finish.

It’s been at least 25 years since I last used a stick foundation, so I honestly had no idea what to expect with this. But I was super excited when I found out I would be getting it from Influenster as it would FINALLY be my first Voxbox from them that’s beauty related (in the past I’ve gotten stuff like cat food, sleep aids and… pantyliners… yeah).

First off, the packaging is gorgeous. It’s sleek and has a little bit of weight to it. The stick is in a triangle shape, which I’d never seen before with a stick foundation (most are usually round shaped). I was sent the shade Nude, which is just a hair too dark for me, but I’ve been making it work by pairing it with a lighter concealer to balance things out.

IMG_0507

The consistency of this foundation stick is very creamy. A little goes a long way, so you need just 2 or 3 streaks/lines on either side of your face to get pretty much almost full coverage right off the bat. I was also sent the Vanish Foundation Brush to use with the foundation (the brush also retails for $46). The brush is basically an angled kabuki brush. The synthetic taklon bristles are densely packed, but are very soft. The brush does a really nice job blending out the foundation and also does a great job blending out concealer as well. The foundation is buildable as I’ve been able to add a bit more over my most problem areas and it builds up fine without looking cakey. It sets to a matte finish that’s like a liquid to powder finish. If you don’t like that, you can always spray a couple spritzes of your favorite spray primer or setting spray to get rid of any powdery look.

IMG_0508

IMG_0509

So it claims to be long wearing and deliver 12 hours of wear time. Does it deliver on that claim? It does! I’ve gotten 12+ hours of wear each time I’ve worn this foundation. As you know, I have combo skin (oily t-zone and normal around the rest of my face). This foundation holds up well in my oily areas with no fading or separation, which impressed me. I’m not sure how valid the waterproof claim is, but I’ve worn this foundation out on a humid night and it help up fine.

IMG_0510

Overall, this foundation has impressed me more than I thought it would. But here’s the big question… would I purchase this with my own money once the one I was sent for free is used up? Maybe. As you know, it takes a LOT for a high end foundation to wow me enough to get me to pony up and plunk down my hard-earned money. This isn’t as mind-blowing as my holy grail Estee Lauder Double Wear, but I don’t think ANY foundation will meet that “gold standard” that DW set. This one does come close though.

Ok that should do it for today! Were you lucky enough to get this foundation from Influenster or is it on your wishlist to try? Let me know below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading! I’ll see you guys again on Friday with a new post! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Review: Hourglass Vanish Seamless Finish Foundation Stick

  1. I’ve always like the IDEA of a stick foundation but haven’t found one I love. I got a Becca one but it was too heavy. I’ve read good things about the Bobbi Brown one. I might have to check the Hourglass one out. I like the triangle shape – very thoughtful of them. And I cound a whopping 26 shade selection in this foundation – amazing! I find Hourglass’s brush to be super soft but I’ve not felt compelled to shell out the money for one… yet. 😛 Thanks for introducing me to this new foundation – on the Canadian Sephora it still says “coming soon”.

    Like

Leave a Comment

