Review & Swatches: Tarte Grav3yardgirl Swamp Queen Palette

Hey guys! How was your weekend? Do anything fun?

I spent the weekend cleaning out/reorganizing my closet, playing with my new kitten, Bowie, and hanging out with my boyfriend.

Anyhow, today’s post is going to be a review and swatches of the Tarte Grav3yardgirl Swamp Queen palette. You ready? Let’s get going!

IMG_0478

If you’re part of the beauty community but don’t know who Bunny/Grav3yardgirl is, you’ve been living under a rock. She’s one of the most popular YouTubers out there with over 7 million subscribers (and growing) to her channel. She makes videos on all sorts of things, from beauty to thrift store hauls to testing “As See On TV” products in her very popular “Does This Thing Really Work?” series.

This is one of my favorite videos of hers as it shows her crazy, quirky side and shows she’s not afraid to make a fool of herself in front of the camera:

Her fans clamored for a collaboration with Tarte and it finally happened, creating the Swamp Queen palette.

Ok so let’s talk about the packaging. It looks like a wooden box (though it’s not), which is quite clever. Bunny is big on old-timey, late 1800’s era stuff, so she wanted the palette to look something like that and I think it works quite well.

IMG_0254

Inside, there are 9 eyeshadows, a bronzer, blush and a highlighter, housed in pretty gold colored casing, and inside the lid is a good size mirror that has stamped on the top, “Believe In Yourself. Love Yourself. Embrace Your Individuality”.

IMG_0480

IMG_0482

The shadows, bronzer, blush and highlighter are Tarte’s Amazonian Clay formula, so it’s the same formula as their other palettes that are available. The names of the shadows in the palette are all symbolic to Bunny and named after significant things in her life.

IMG_0481

Top Row:

Sweet Tea (bronzer)
#SFS (rose gold)
Natural Peaches (peachy nude)
Dogman (burnt sienna)

L-R: Sweet Tea, #SFS, Natural Peaches, Dogman

L-R: Sweet Tea, #SFS, Natural Peaches, Dogman

Middle Row:

Does This Thing Really Work? (blush)
Big Baby (cream)
Sassy Bun (copper peach)
Sippy Sippy (glittery brown)

L-R: Does This Thing Really Work?, Big Baby, Sassy Bun, Sippy Sippy

L-R: Does This Thing Really Work?, Big Baby, Sassy Bun, Sippy Sippy

Bottom Row:

Gator Wings (highlighter)
Haunting (lavender)
Uncommon (purple slate)
Mancat (deep plum)

L-R: Gator Wings, Haunting, Uncommon, Mancat

L-R: Gator Wings, Haunting, Uncommon, Mancat

The shadows, blush, bronzer and highlighter all have good pigmentation. The apply and blend nicely, however there is fallout, especially with the glittery shades. Also, the blush and bronzer both have glitter in them, so if you don’t like that in a blush or bronzer, you won’t like these. I personally prefer matte blushes and bronzers for the most part, but you can always use those shades as eyeshadows. I like that the shades in this palette are overall unique. I don’t have anything like most of them in any other palettes or single shadows in my collection. I especially like Sassy Bun, Haunting and Uncommon.

I do have one complaint about this palette. There are only 3 matte shades (Natural Peaches, Big Baby & Mancat), so while you can create a whole look from this palette, you do need to incorporate matte shades from other palettes/single shadows for more versatility. If you don’t like shimmer or glittery shadows, this palette would not be for you.

Overall, I do like this palette and have created some fun looks with it. Do I think this palette is a must-have? I’ll be honest… no it’s not. At least I don’t think so. But if you’re a fan of Bunny and want this palette in your collection, it would be a nice addition.

This palette retails for $45 and it is limited edition. It’s been available at Sephora and Ulta (and sometimes their websites), but it has sold out fast. There have been restocks, but I’m not sure how many more they’re going to do before they’re gone forever.

And that should do it! Do you have this palette or is it on your wishlist? Tell me below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading. I’ll see you guys again on Wednesday with a new post! šŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “Review & Swatches: Tarte Grav3yardgirl Swamp Queen Palette

  1. I too, prefer matte bronzers and blushes. I figured if I want highlight / shine, I’ll add highlighter just to the specific areas I want them.
    That Sassy Bun shade is kapow! with the shine, wow.
    I feel like this palette is more geared toward fans of hers – it’s not really a basics type of palette, more for fun and to complement core colours you’d already have in your collection.

    Like

  2. I just picked up this palette and am very excited to use it! It took a little big longer to be released at Sephora here in Canada, but you can now find it (sadly, the lip colours were all gone by the time I got there). It is also a bit more expensive here in Canada – I believe it was around $56-$59 CDN, but I am happy to support such a wonderful and inspiring person such as Bunny!

    Like

Leave a Comment

