The “I Love Drugstore Makeup” Tag

Hey guys! Happy Friday! Got anything fun or exciting planned for the weekend?

For today’s post, I’m going to do the “I Love Drugstore Makeup” Tag!

I Love Drugstore Makeup

As much as I love my high end makeup products, I will never turn my back on drugstore makeup. For the majority of us, drugstore makeup is the first makeup we ever use. And the drugstore brands have seriously been stepping up their game in recent years.

What is your favorite drugstore makeup brand overall?

I actually have a few brands that I really love a lot and can’t pick just one favorite.

NYX is definitely up there. They make some really great products and have such a wide variety too. I’ve been pretty pleased with nearly everything I’ve tried from them.

IMG_4116

Makeup Revolution quickly became a favorite drugstore brand within the last year. They’ve really impressed me and I hope the selection available at Ulta keeps expanding.

IMG_6231

And of course there’s good old Maybelline. So many of their products are classics that have withstood the test of time.

What are your favorite face, cheek and lip products?

For face, the Rimmel Lasting Finish foundation is my holy grail drugstore foundation. I love the coverage and it plays well with my combo skin.

IMG_7155

The Wet N Wild MegaGlo highlighters that came out this spring are really amazing and probably the best drugstore highlighters out there.

IMG_9937

Cheek? A tie between the Jordana blush in Touch of Pink and Makeup Revolution The Matte Blush in Nude. These are pretty much my 2 favorite blush shades EVER.

Jordana Touch of Pink

Jordana Touch of Pink

IMG_7779

Makeup Revolution The Matte Blush in Nude

And for lip… another tie. The Maybelline ColorSensational lipsticks and the Milani Color Statement lipsticks are probably the best drugstore lipsticks around. Lots of great colors to choose from, have good pigmentation,  and are comfortable on the lips (even the matte shades).

Milani Color Statement Lipstick

Milani Color Statement Lipstick

Least favorite product?

The Maybelline SuperStay Better Skin foundation. I liked it at first, but then it just did not work for me after awhile.

IMG_6093

I’m also not a huge fan of CoverGirl. I’ve just had awful luck with them over the years. For some reason, their products just don’t work for me.

What is the best makeup bargain?

Wet N Wild! They have some amazing products at amazing prices. I especially love their new pink & white makeup brushes and the Comfort Zone eyeshadow palette.

IMG_6518

What is your favorite underdog product? (Something you love that often gets overlooked)

The Wet N Wild nail polishes. For the price they are, they’re surprisingly good quality.

The ELF Instant Lift Brow Pencil is surprisingly really good and is only $2!

IMG_9455

A drugstore product that is overpriced?

Some drugstore products are definitely getting on the pricey side. $12+ for a Revlon or L’Oreal foundation? That’s a big much.

Show your best drugstore dupe(s)!

I think the NYX Round Case lipstick in B52 is a pretty decent dupe for Twig by MAC. B52 has a more glossy finish compared to Twig’s satin finish, but the colors themselves are dead on.

Twig by MAC on the left; B52 by NYX on the right

Twig by MAC on the left; B52 by NYX on the right

Several bloggers/YouTubers have said the ELF Illuminating Palette is pretty much a dupe for the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette. I only have one Hourglass highlighter, but the shade in the ELF palette that’s comparable to it is pretty close.

IMG_9514

I’ve also heard the Maybelline Better Skin concealer is a dupe for the Urban Decay Naked Skin concealer. I plan on putting that one to the test once my no-buy is done at the end of the month.

Drugstore product that isn’t worth the hype?

Again, the Maybelline SuperStay Better Skin foundation. For me it was just a dud. But I know it works well for others and that’s good.

 

And that should do it! What are some of your drugstore favorites (and misses)? Tell me about them below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading and your support. You guys are awesome. I hope you all have a wonderful weekend and I’ll see you again on Monday with a new post! 🙂

8 thoughts on “The “I Love Drugstore Makeup” Tag

  1. Great post! I might do this tag as well. I love drugstore makeup. The Maybelline Super Stay Better Skin foundation was one of my favorites for a while and then it stopped working. For me it was the lightest shade, I was having a hard time getting it to blend. I passed it along to my sister and she loves it. It is nice that it has a pump though. I wish the Fit Me had one.

    Like

  2. This is a great tag! I’m going to do this!
    Hm I’ve not paid any attention to the Rimmel foundation – would you say it’s heavier coverage than the Maybelline SuperStay one? Maybe we have opposite skin because I love both Maybelline and CoverGirl! 😛
    One brand I wish I would get my hands on is Jordana. I’ve heard so many good reviews on their products.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

