Review: Soap & Glory One Heck of a Blot Foundation

Hey guys! How’s your week going?

Today’s post is going to be a review of the Soap & Glory One Heck of a Blot All Day Liquid to Powder Foundation (whew that’s a mouthful!).

IMG_0262

You ready? Got that coffee and muffin? Ok let’s get going!

I picked this foundation up a couple weeks ago at Ulta as I’d heard good thing about it on YouTube from Casey Holmes & Nicole from Young Wild & Polished – both who are oily-skinned girls. So I was curious.

So let’s start with some product info:

Fabulous. Flawless. Full coverage. Soap & Glory’s One Heck of a Blot Foundation is an all-day liquid-to-powder foundation with Shine Bloc 12-hour long wear technology and Super-Blur powders. Offers ultimate shine control designed to give skin a flawless, ‘non-cakey’, soft focus finish. Perfection in a bottle!

The packaging isn’t anything too special. The bottle is plastic, which is nice in case you happen to drop it. It does have a pump, which I like. Shade selection….. well…. it sucks. There are only 4 shades available. Basically if you’re super pale or darker than tan, you’re SOL, which I think stinks. You get the standard 1 fl. oz. of product and it retails for $19. However, I discovered Soap & Glory is not excluded from the Ulta $3.50 off $15 coupons (yeah it used to be $3.50 off $10 but they changed it recently), so you can use that to save a few bucks. By the way, not every Ulta physical store carries the Soap & Glory makeup line. Most carry the bath/body line, but only select stores also carry the makeup, so you might want to call your local Ulta in advance to see if they carry the makeup line too. The Ulta that’s 2 miles from me does not carry the makeup line, but the one about 15 miles north of me does, so I made a special trip up there to check it out as I had not visited that Ulta yet (it opened last year).

IMG_0405

Ok onto the product itself. This foundation has a consistency that’s on the thicker side, but it’s not overly thick. It applies and blends out pretty decently and just one layer gives a solid medium coverage, but adding more where you need more coverage isn’t an issue as it’s buildable. Nicole from Young Wild & Polished has described this foundation as somewhat similar to the Too Faced Born This Way, but more matte. And I think that’s pretty accurate as I feel the same way.

I got the shade Cool Sand, but it ended up being a little too light. The next shade up, Happy Medium, would’ve been too dark (again… need more shades in this line!). But I did find a workaround. I decided to try mixing it with a little of the old formula of the Rimmel Lasting Finish foundation (the old one that came in a squeezy tube – I have a couple left from before they reformulated it & repackaged it in a glass bottle). I wear 201 Classic Beige in that foundation, but the old version is for some reason a little darker than the reformulated version, so I put it away when I wasn’t so tan anymore and just held onto it. It works and it doesn’t seem to mess with the finish of the Soap & Glory foundation as they’re both long-wearing foundations (that’s the trick when mixing foundations – to avoid messing up with the finish/formulation, mix similar types together). It applies/blends out nicely with both a damp Beauty Blender (my preferred foundation application method) and with a brush, however it does dry on the quick side when applying, so it’s best to do your face in sections.

Ok so I’ve worn this foundation by itself and mixed with another to adjust the shade. How does it wear? Really well. It lasts all day and doesn’t cake up or separate. It does seem to do a decent job helping control oil as when I blot when wearing this foundation, oil comes off, but not as much as I’d expect, which is good. And it hasn’t caused any breakouts or bad reactions, which is also good.

So despite the lack of shade selection (really that’s my only complaint here), I like this foundation quite a bit and will continue to use it. If you have light to medium skin and are oily or combo skinned like me, I definitely recommend checking this foundation out.

Ok that should do it for today! have you tried this foundation or is it on your list of things to check out?

As always, thank you all so much for reading and your support. I’ll see you guys again on Friday with a new post! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Review: Soap & Glory One Heck of a Blot Foundation

  1. I find foundation and concealer colours jump SO much between shade levels and I’m always in between. I end up having to mix my shades often. We don’t have S&G makeup here except for the lip glosses. I’d love to try stuff from them!

    Like

Leave a Comment

