Review: About Face Skin Protection Vitamin C Serum

Hey guys! Happy Independence Day to my fellow American readers! And to everyone else… Happy Monday! How was your weekend?

Today’s post is going to be a review of the About Face Skin Protection Vitamin C Serum.

About Face

You ready? Let’s get going!

So the founder of About Face Skin Protection, Kathleen LaPoint, reached out to me asking if I’d like to try out and review her Vitamin C serum here on the blog. I’m always looking for new serums to try, so I jumped at the chance. Though this product was sent to me for free, all opinions regarding it are completely my own.

Now this serum is different from others that are around. Kathleen noticed how expensive good Vitamin C serums can be and wanted to find a way to make something more affordable but still retain the quality of luxury brands. She has a background in research and she used that to her advantage, researching ingredients and formulas, testing them out until she found the perfect combination.

IMG_0157

So how is this serum different? Well, you mix it yourself! A kit costs $25 and comes with separate, pre-measured vials of Vitamin C and Hyaluronic Acid powders as well as a glass bottle with a dropper dispenser. You just add the powders into the bottle, then fill the bottle with water up to the top of the label on it, shake it up to mix the contents, then let it sit overnight in a cool, dark place or in the refrigerator to allow the powders to completely dissolve. The next morning… you have a fresh bottle of serum! And you get enough vials of Vitamin C and Hyaluronic Acid powder to mix 4 bottles of serum! So basically 4 bottles of this serum for $25? That’s a really great deal!

IMG_0158

Ok onto my personal experience with this serum. I’ve been using it every day for the last 2 weeks. Mixing the ingredients was easy enough, though the bottle I got didn’t have a label on it, so I used a little too much water (I used tap water, but you can also use purified or distilled water if you wish). But that didn’t affect the mixed product itself. Since you mix it with water, the consistency is definitely watery compared to other serums that are thicker. When applying, I get that same bit of tackiness while patting it into my skin as I do other serums I’ve tried. It absorbs into the skin quickly, which I like, and that tacky feeling goes away once absorbed.

How does it perform? From what I’ve seen, it works pretty good. My skin feels smoother and has a more even texture, which in turn helps the rest of my skincare and makeup apply smoother and more evenly. I see the same results as I have from more expensive serums I’ve used. I haven’t had any adverse reactions or breakouts caused from this serum, so that’s another plus right there.

You can check out the FAQ page on the About Face website for answers to questions you might have about this product:

www.aboutfaceskinprotection.com/faqs.html

Overall, I’m quite pleased with this serum and will continue to use it. I’m looking forward to seeing further results from prolonged use. I like I have more powder to mix more serum in the future as well. If you’re looking for a new Vitamin C serum to try, check out About Face Skin Protection.

Ok that should do it for today!

As always, thank you all so much for reading! I’ll see you guys again on Wednesday with a new post! 🙂

 

FTC: Product was sent to me free of charge in exchange for an honest review.

4 thoughts on “Review: About Face Skin Protection Vitamin C Serum

  1. That’s so neat you mix it yourself! I know that Vit C is not stable for very long so it’s better to have a system like this.
    Currently I use Paula’s Choice Resist C Booster which is $48 USD. I really like the results but I’ve had my bottle for a year, I think… not sure if the efficacy is diminished. It says on the About Face FAQ that if the serum has turned brown, it’s oxidized – the PC serum is orange in colour and has always been, so I can’t really tell. Although, I still see good results when using it – my skin is really clear and has a glow whenever I use it.
    I’m guessing they don’t ship to Canada, right?

    Like

  2. HA and vitamin C are vital elements of skincare whereas the former gives the best moisturising that skin needs and the latter gives the best cleansing and brightening that skin becomes so glowy

    Like

Leave a Comment

