First Impressions: Tarte Rainforest of the Sea Water Foundation

Hey guys! Happy Friday! Can you believe it’s July already? Where is this year going??

Today’s post is going to be my first impressions of the Tarte Rainforest of the Sea Water Foundation.

Rainforest of the Sea

You ready? Let’s just jump right into it!

I had been hearing a lot about this foundation, mainly on social media, and decided to get a sample of it when I was at Sephora recently to see what the big deal was.

As always, here’s some product info:

What it is:
A lightweight, full-coverage hydrating foundation infused with tarte’s Rainforest of the Sea™ complex and non-chemical SPF 15 sunscreen.

What it is formulated to do:
Deliver the ultimate in hydration-boosting coverage with tarte’s 12-hour water foundation. The concentrated, full-coverage fluid formula features 20 percent water to quench dry skin as it covers and masks any redness, dark spots, and uneven skintone while softening the look of pores and fine lines. The custom dropper applicator delivers the perfect level of moisture-rich coverage in an array of shades to match any skintone. Powered by tarte’s antioxidant-packed Rainforest of the Sea™ complex and non-chemical SPF 15 sunscreen, the hypoallergenic formula helps restore, brighten, and defend skin from free radical damage and early signs of aging for a smooth, soft, radiant complexion.

20% water? Full coverage? SPF 15? Claims to last up to 12 hours? Ok this intrigued me. I don’t have dry skin, but oil-free/water based foundations are definitely my bag since I have a very oily T-Zone. And if you’ve been reading my blog, you’ll know I am totally a full coverage girl when it comes to foundation. No BB or CC creams for this chickie!

Even thought I only got a sample of this foundation, I will say the packaging for it beautiful! I love the purple and gold ombre cap on the bottle.

The consistency of this foundation is definitely on the liquidy/watery side, but that’s to be expected considering the name of it. I picked the shade Light-Medium-Neutral, which was a really good match for me. I applied it using a damp Beauty Blender (my preferred foundation application method) and it worked just fine this way. It blended out really nice. One layer actually gave me more of a medium coverage, but adding a little more where I need more coverage built it up to the level I like fine and did not look cakey at all. It dries to a natural finish, but setting with powder will make it more matte if that’s your preference (like me).

So how does it wear? I was not expecting much out of this foundation, to be honest. But after seeing how nicely it applied was a good start. This lasted me all day at work with no fading or breaking down in my oily areas. I actually got 12+ hours out of it, so it lives up to its long-wearing claim, which impressed me.

Unfortunately I was only able to get just one use out of the sample I got as the tester at Sephora was pretty much empty and the employee who was helping me did what she could to scrape enough out to make a sample for me. But I want to get another sample so I can try it out on a day off from work to see how it holds up outside in the hot, humid Florida weather.

But as it stands right now, this foundation pleasantly surprised me and part of me is tempted to maybe purchase a full size bottle in the future if it performs well in heat/humidity. You get the standard 1 fl. oz. and it retails for $39, so it’s a little spendy. And as you know, a foundation REALLY has to wow me to get me to pony up that kind of coin. But we’ll see. And I do recommend checking this foundation out regardless of your skin type. Oily, dry, normal, combo… this foundation seems like it truly is a rare “one size fits all”.

Ok that should do it for today! Have you tried this foundation? Is it on your wishlist?

As always, thank you all so much for reading and your support. I hope you have a wonderful weekend and I’ll see you guys again on Monday with a new post! 🙂

6 thoughts on “First Impressions: Tarte Rainforest of the Sea Water Foundation

  1. I was worried to try this since I as well have a VERY oily T-zone. But I’ll try a sample as well. It’s funny, I never usually ask for samples for things. I just take the plunge and buy it. But the “water” comment on the bottle makes me very weary. Xx lovely post

    Like

Leave a Comment

