Empties, Empties and More Empties!

Hey guys! Happy Friday!

Today’s post is going to be… you guessed it… an empties post! The empties basket is overflowing here at HQ and it’s time to finally clean it out. Got a little of everything this month (skincare, makeup, haircare) and a lot of it.

IMG_0066

You ready? Ok let’s get started!

A lot of these products will be repeats if you’ve seen any of my previous empties posts. But there’s a few new things this time around too.

Let’s start with the hair care…

IMG_0067

Garnier Fructis Full Control Anti-Humidity Hairspray – I love this hairpsray so much. I go through so many cans of it. But it works. I live where it’s humid pretty much year-round and this hairspray helps fight it and helps keep my hair from going *POOF!* when the humidity starts getting to be too much.

Batiste Dry Shampoo in Wild – This is my favorite dry shampoo. The Wild scent is my favorite (though I recently got a can of the original scent to try out). This dry shampoo does a good job absorbing oil at my roots and refreshing my style on the days I don’t wash my hair. As long as you do a good job working it into your hair, it doesn’t leave a white cast.

Not Your Mother’s Way To Grow Long Shampoo & Conditioner – I really like this shampoo and conditioner. I don’t know if it’s because of these products or if my hair is in a growth cycle, but I’ve seen noticeable growth in my hair since I started using them. They smell nice, do a good job cleansing and conditioning my hair, don’t weigh my hair down, and are sulfate-free so they don’t strip my hair color.

Garnier Fructis Anti-Humidity Smoothing Milk – I use this on my hair both wet and dry. It does a great job taming fly-aways/frizzies.

Garnier Fructic Sleek & Smooth Flat Iron Spray – This is just a heat protecting spray no matter how you use it. And it works good. Besides using on my own hair, I use this on my clip-in hair extensions when styling them.

Moving on to skincare…

IMG_0068

Epielle Green Tea Makeup Wipes – These are my favorite makeup wipes. If you didn’t know, Epielle is a drugstore Korean brand that you can find at Big Lots. You can get a pack of 30 makeup wipes for just $1 (or a pack of 60 wipes for $2) and they come lots of varieties besides green tea (there’s Vitamin C, Aloe Vera, Vitamin E & Collagen, Citrus and one or two others I think). The wipes have a good amount of wetness to them and they do a good job removing my makeup (even waterproof mascara and eyeliner).

CVS Oil Absorbing Sheets – These work just the same as the Clean & Clear ones and cost at least a dollar cheaper. I like stocking up on these when CVS has them on sale buy one, get one 50% off.

Garnier Moisture Rescue Gel-Creme Moisturizer for Normal/Combo Skin – This is my holy grail moisturizer. It smells really nice, absorbs really quick into the skin (which is a must if you have oily skin as it won’t make you look/feel like a greaseball) and is lightweight. You can read my initial review I did of this moisturizer here.

OZ Naturals Vitamin C Serum – I love this serum. It’s lightweight and absorbs into the skin fast. You can read more about it in the review I did of it here.

CSCS Hyaluronic Acid Serum – This was a good serum too. I’ll admit I liked the version from OZ Naturals a little better, but overall they worked pretty much the same.

And finally, onto the makeup…

IMG_0069

Coty Airpun Loose Powder – This stuff has been around since 1935, and for good reason. This is my current holy grail powder for setting my foundation. I use the shade Translucent Extra Coverage. What does the”extra coverage” do? It basically helps blur out the appearance of pores. I remember my grandma using this powder and so every time I open the jar, the scent reminds me of her. Oh and the jar is HUGE! It took me about a year to use it all up.

MAC Fix+ Spray – I love using this spray in a few different ways. I like just spraying it all over my face as a primer before foundation, spraying a little on a damp Beauty Blender or foundation brush to help my foundation blend out more evenly/naturally, and I also like using it as a makeup refresher later on in the day.

ibd Brush On Nail Glue – I’ve tried various brands of brush-on nail glue and this one is probably my favorite. It’s salon quality (you can get it at Sally Beauty), bonds my fake nails to my natural ones quickly (like 5-10 seconds) and has good holding power.

NYX HD Concealer – I love this concealer a lot. I use different shades of it for different purposes. I use the shade 02 Fair for highlighting the center of my forehead & bridge of my nose, and I use the shades 03 Light or 06 Glow under my eyes. It has good coverage, blends out good and doesn’t crease on me.

Wet N Wild PhotoFocus Setting Spray – I love this setting spray. It think it does a great job setting my makeup and helps keep me matte. You can read my review of it here.

Estee Lauder Double Wear Foundation – If you’ve been reading my blog, you’ll know this is my current holy grail foundation. No foundation has honestly wowed meas much as this one has. It’s full coverage, but has a very liquidy consistency, so it doesn’t feel heavy on the face at all. It has a gorgeous natural matte finish and it also helps control oil too.

NYC Big Bold Curl Mascara – When I first got this mascara, I liked it. But as time went on, I started not liking it. It got to the point where I felt the brush was just too big and it would make a mess. Eventually it all dried up so I’m finally tossing it.

Revlon ColorStay 24 Hr Foundation for Oily/Combo Skin – This foundation has really good coverage, but it has a kind of thick consistency, so if you use too much, it can look heavy and cakey on the skin. But it does have good staying power. I heard Revlon recently reformulated this foundation (and added a pump to it), but that the new formulation isn’t as good as the original. I might have to get a bottle of the new version to try and compare sometime. Would you guys like to see a post on that? Leave me a comment down below if you do.

ELF Shadow Lock Eye Primer – This is a pretty decent eye primer for $2. It gives a nice base for shadows and pigments to latch onto and last all day. My only complaint is you get so little in the tube, but it is only $2 so… yeah.

And that’s it! If you made it to the end of this post… congratulations! LOL!

As always, thank you all so much for reading. I hope you have an awesome weekend and I’ll see you again on Monday with a new post! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Empties, Empties and More Empties!

  1. Revlon Colorstay foundation is my holy grail foundation. I love the old formula but the new one is also good. Since they added a pump, they made the formula more liquidy (is that a word? Lol!). Great post! 😊

    Like

Leave a Comment

