Review: Hask Kalahari Melon Oil Color Protection Hair System

Hey guys! How’s it going?

Today’s post is going to be a review of the Kalahari Melon Oil Color Protection hair system by Hask. These products were sent to me by Hask via BrandBacker in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.

IMG_9631

And with that out of the way…

I’ve been coloring my hair for almost 25 years, so I’m always on the lookout for new products to try that are formulated for color treated hair. I had never tried any products by Hask before, so I was excited to be accepted to this campaign.

I was sent 5 products: the Kalahari Melon Oil Color Protection Shampoo, Conditioner, Deep Conditioner, Shine Oil and a cute little purple hairbrush.

So…. What is Kalahari melon oil?

Found in the African desert, Kalahari melon oil is known to thrive and retain moisture in the driest conditions. This natural color-locking, damage-blocking powerhouse ingredient counteracts dry-out and fading, leaving hair nourished and shiny.

These products are sulfate-free, which is great. If you have color treated hair, shampoos/conditioners containing sulfates are your worst enemy as though they help cleanse your hair, sulfates will strip/fade your hair color like nobody’s business.

Ok so onto the nitty-gritty!

These products smell AMAZING! They have a light melon scent that’s not overpowering at all. I just love how they smell.

The shampoo and conditioner work really well together. The shampoo has a good consistency, lathers and distributes through my hair well and rinses clean. The conditioner also has a nice consistency, distributes through my hair well and also rinses clean. My baby-fine hair doesn’t feel weighed down with any product residue and feels soft and shiny. I’ve also used the shampoo & conditioner to wash 2 sets of my clip-in hair extensions since they’re custom colored and needed a washing as the ends were getting  dry and a bit too much product buildup. It did a great job on them and helped bring the dry ends of both sets of extensions back to life.

IMG_9633

The deep conditioner can be used 1-2 times a week in place of regular conditioner. I’ve gotten a couple uses out of the packet and still can get a couple more uses out of it before it’s empty. It has a good consistency that’s a little thicker than the regular conditioner. To use, you just apply it to your wet hair (avoiding the roots) and then let it sit for about  10 minutes while it does its deep conditioning thing. Like the shampoo and regular conditioner, it rinses clean and doesn’t feel like it weighs my hair down. My hair feels nice and soft after using it.

IMG_9632

The shine oil can be used on wet hair to give it a little extra nourishment or on dry hair to give it some extra shine. A little goes a long way (about the size between a penny and a nickle does it for me). I’ve only used it on dry hair, but it definitely makes my hair shiny and extra soft while also taming frizzies/fly-aways, but doesn’t weight my hair down or feel greasy. I’ve used it on my clip-in hair extensions as well after installing and curling them and it works great on them too.

IMG_9635

Oh and the scent from these products lasts for quite awhile. I can still smell that awesome melon scent on my hair even several hours after washing and styling my hair, which was surprising.

This cute little purple hairbrush was sent by Hask as a bonus. It has a silicone/rubber feel to it and it has a mix of bristles, so it’s good to use on both wet or dry hair. I like it’s small, so it would be good for travel.

IMG_0004

Overall, I’m very impressed with these products and will continue to use them. Hask is also a very affordable brand, with their products retailing for $5.99 each for the shampoo & conditioner, $2.99 for the shine oil and $2.99 for the deep conditioner packet (a full size is $5.99). If you have color treated hair, I definitely recommend checking these products out if you run across them.

Ok that should do it for today! Have you tried any of these products from Hask? Did you like them? Tell me your thoughts below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading! I’ll see you again on Friday with a new post! 🙂

 

FTC: Products were sent to me by Hask via BrandBacker in exchange for an honest review.

One thought on “Review: Hask Kalahari Melon Oil Color Protection Hair System

Leave a Comment

