May 2016 Favorites

Hey guys! How’s your week going? Can you believe it’s already June? Where is this year going?

Today’s post is going to be all about my favorites during the month of May. Are you ready? Got that large iced beverage? Ok, let’s get going!

I’ve been on a major highlighter kick lately and got a ton of new ones during the last month. Buy my favorites of the bunch are…

Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector in Opal

IMG_9934

I picked up the limited edition Becca Glow To Go set at Sephora, which contains travel sizes of their Shimmering Skin Perfector in Opal in both pressed and liquid form. Now I already had the liquid form of Opal, but I love this version with the wand/doe foot applicator so much. It makes applying so much easier. The liquid version gives a beautiful glow that’s not too crazy, but if you really want to ramp it up, you can top it off with the pressed version, which is also stunning on its own.

Wet N Wild MegaGlo Highlighting Powder in Precious Petals

IMG_9937

This highlighter from Wet N Wild ended up being a hot commodity this spring. It sold out pretty much everywhere pretty fast. I was lucky to get my paws on the last one at my local Walgreens. There was another, darker shade available too called Crown of my Canopy (which I didn’t get as I didn’t think it would suit my skintone). But I am all about champange highlighters, and Precious Petals falls right into that category. This is probably one of the best drugstore highlighters ever made. If you happen to stumble upon it, GRAB IT.

Hourglass Ambient Strobe Lighting Powder in Incandescent

IMG_9154

I picked this up during the Sephora VIB sale in April. This highlighter is so different from others I’ve used. It’s subtle and gives a more “lit from within” glow. You can build it up for a little more intensity though if you want. I like this on days I want to wear highlighter but don’t want to look like a walking disco ball. It’s a bit spendy at $38, so if you want a similar look that won’t break the bank, there’s a very similar shade (if not outright dupe) in the ELF Illuminating Palette, which is just $6.

 

Moving on… I have a few lip products that made it into my favorites this month.

Anastasia Beverly Hills Lipgloss in Kristen

IMG_9946

I finally got my hands on this after eyeing it for months. The Macy’s by me has an Impulse Beauty section now and they carry a bigger range of ABH than Sephora and Ulta in-store do. Kristen is described on the ABH site as a “cool desert sand”. I see it as a medium pinky-brown nude shade. This gloss is so pigmented and pretty. It’s not overly sticky and it smells so yummy (smells like butterscotch or toffee or something like that). It also has decent staying power for a gloss too.

Palladio Precision Lip Liner in Gingerbread

IMG_9942

I have a couple of other Palladio lip pencils I like a lot, but wanted to try this other formula they make that’s silicone-based instead of wax like most lip pencils. Gingerbread is a pretty nude shade that goes with a LOT of lipstick and lipgloss shades. It goes on really smooth and lasts a long time. Sometimes I like wearing this just by itself.

LUSH Bubblegum Lip Scrub

IMG_9439

Being a fan of the ELF Lip Exfoliator, I didn’t think I’d find a lip scrub I liked more than that one. I was wrong. This lip scrub from LUSH is awesome. It does a great job exfoliating my lips and it also smells and tastes just like bubblegum! I just slather this onto my lips (a little actually goes a long way) and once I’m done scrubbing it around my lips, I just lick it off! Yum!

Essence Lash Princess False Lash Effect Mascara

IMG_9623

If you caught my review of this mascara last week (you can read it here if you missed it), you’ll know this probably the best drugstore mascara I have ever tried. This makes my lashes look so much longer. I don’t know how they do it… voodoo, unicorn tears? I haven’t had a mascara wow me this much since I tried the Urban Decay Perversion about a year ago. Even the Jordana Best Lash Extreme didn’t impress me this much (and that one definitely impressed me)… and it’s only $4.99!

YSL Black Opium

IMG_9945

I finally got my hands on a travel size of this (found it at Macy’s as it’s always sold out at Sephora when I look). I love this perfume. It just smells so good to me. Every time I wear it, my boyfriend comments on how good I smell.

Makeup Revolution The Matte Blush in Nude

IMG_7779

 

IMG_7780

I’ve been obsessed with this blush this month. It’s probably one of my all-time favorites. It’s so soft and pigmented, but if you go a little overboard, it blends out easily. The shade is so perfect for my skintone. I just love it.

Makeup Geek Eyeshadows in Pillow Talk & Rebel

These are 2 of the new shades Makeup Geek came out with not too long ago. They’re both so pretty. Pillow Talk is described as a “soft lilac with a silver shift & shimmer finish”. This shadow is so buttery soft and pigmented. It looks almost like a cream shadow when swatched or applied. I love using this on my lid as part of a purple smoky eye or even when using a dark brown or black shadow on the outer V.

Pillow Talk

Pillow Talk

Rebel is described as a “deep dusty purple with a gold overlay & a shimmery finish”. This shadow to me is a borderline duochrome due to the gold overlay. What’s so crazy is when you swipe your finger or a brush across it, it comes off as a dusty purple shade and you don’t see any gold. But when you swatch or apply it… BAM that gold suddenly shows up and steals the show. This is another shade I love using on my lid when doing a smoky eye look. It’s such a unique shade that changes things up.

Rebel

Rebel

MAC Eyeshadows in Dazzlelight and Knight Divine

After MAC lowered the price of their eyeshadow refill pans from $10 to $6, I knew I had to add some to my collection.

Dazzlelight is described as a “neutral with shimmer”. This is a great shade for highlighting your brow bone or inner corner. I’m glad the girl at the MAC store suggested this shade as a suitable substitute for Nylon, which they were sold out of.

IMG_9940

Dazzlelight

Knight Divine is described as a “black with silver pearl”. It actually looks more blue to me, but it’s such a gorgeous shade. I love using this in a smoky eye look.

IMG_9941

Knight Divine

I also have one non-beauty favorite this month…

Crisscross Ring

IMG_9557

Back in April, I bought a pretty crisscross ring at Charming Charlie, which I liked, but it was just cheap silver-plated brass so I had to coat the inside with clear nail polish so it wouldn’t turn my finger green. After about a month, the silver plating started wearing off and I knew it was time for an upgrade. So I found this really pretty sterling silver version on Kohl’s website. it’s so pretty and sparkly!

And that’s it for my May favorites! What were some of your favorites this past month? Tell me about them below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading. I’ll see you again on Friday with a new post! 🙂

11 thoughts on “May 2016 Favorites

  1. Where did you get the “pillow talk’ eye shadow? I love that color! And that blush? I’d love to look into buying them both 🙂

    Also, I love your nails in that last pic. Are those a gel mani or just regular? I’m so back and forth on gel.. lol.

    Like

  2. Girl, you are speaking my language. I LOVE Becca’s highlighters, my favorite is Moonstone in the liquid. Shimmering pressed I had Jaclyn Hill’s Champagne pop, but sadly there was a death in the family and it shattered! 😦 Also, I have the YSL perfume and its AMAZING! The lush lip scrub is the best stuff ever. I tried once making my own, (it didn’t work) so I caved and bought the mint one and I’m addicted I love the way it feels! great post!

    Like

Leave a Comment

