Review & Swatches: ELF Illuminating Palette

Hey guys! How was your weekend? Do anything fun?

Today’s post is going to be a review and swatches of the ELF Illuminating Palette. You ready? Let’s go!

IMG_9514

I got this palette awhile back (my boyfriend actually bought it for me) as I’d heard some things about it and was curious to check it out. Plus I’ve been on a highlighter kick lately so…

IMG_9510

This palette costs just $6 and comes with 4 highlight shades. The compact is like others from ELF – nice and sturdy. Inside there’s a good size mirror. The individual pans pop out, so you can do some mixing and matching to create your own custom palette if you own any other ELF quad palettes like their contour or blush palettes.

IMG_9511

The highlight shades in this palette range from gold to pink to peach. All the colors are very pretty and would suit a variety of skin tones. These are all powder highlights and the formula of the powders are soft and smooth. They feel like more high end powders do.

IMG_9513

I’ve heard some consider this palette a dupe for the Hourglass Ambient Lighting palette. I don’t have that, so I can’t compare, but I can say the highlights in this palette from ELF are subtle. They’re not super pigmented “BAM! I’m a walking discoball!” but give a more “lit from within” glow. But they can be built up a little and they would be great as a topper over a cream or liquid highlight as well.

So how about some swatches? There are all concentrated so you can see the colors better, but they all blend out nicely and like I said, give a nice, subtle glow.

IMG_9515

You can find this palette at most stores ELF is sold at (CVS, Walmart, Target). I definitely recommend checking it out if you’re looking for highlighters that are more on the softer side.

Ok that should do it for today!

As always thank you all so much for reading and your support. I’ll see you again on Wednesday with a new post! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Review & Swatches: ELF Illuminating Palette

  1. I prefer subtle highlights! I’m contemplating an elf haul to buy this and those blush palettes. I love how they’re interchangeable pans. I was hoping for a sale… but I bet by the time there’s a sale, everything good will be out of stock!

    Like

Leave a Comment

